We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay & a wonderful welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vecchio Asilo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ulignano
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay & a wonderful welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We just stayed at Hotel Vecchio Asilo for one night this November, but it was so lovely that I wanted to make sure I wrote a review (my first one ever!)

We were the only people there (it being the off-season and cold!), and we received such a lovely welcome. Elio gave us a top recommendation for where to go and where to eat in San Gimignano (best meal in ages) and we had a great night.

The accommodation is lovely; really clean, all the things you'd need for a comfy stay and it feels like you're staying in the real Tuscany. Fantastic.

Breakfast was just wonderful. We chose what time would be best for us and when we sat in the breakfast room we were offered not only the usual things you'd expect, but also the most delicious Tuscan specialities, amazing salamis and cheeses, beautifully prepared fruit, home-made cakes from Stefania and another very warm welcome.

When we left I was really sad not to be staying longer, but I'd definitely book it again in a heartbeat. The views from the hotel are beautiful, the area yields the most delicious food and drink, and the people are so friendly you literally feel at home. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    435
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
317
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful stay in the Hotel Vecchio Asilo. I can't praise our hosts Elio and Stefania enough, they went out of their way to help make our week in Tuscany a most enjoyable one and gave us invaluable information to help us explore what truly is a most beautiful part of Italy. Not only did we have great breakfasts with fantastic homemade cakes and pastries daily, but the room was also extremely spacious, comfortable and clean. During our stay, my husband and I celebrated a special wedding anniversary and on our return to the hotel that evening we found lovely homemade individual desserts in our room, not just for ourselves, but also for the two friends we were with. They really are the most exceptional hosts and I would recommend a stay there anytime. A big thank you to Elio and Stefania.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Four of us have just spent 8 days at Hotel Vecchio Asilo and had a truly wonderful time - thanks to the outstanding hospitality from Elio & Stefania. Gave us plenty of beautiful places to visit and also supplied delicious breakfasts - Stefania's chocolate cake is a wonder to behold and eat!! We have just returned and the weather has been great. They recommended good restaurants too. Look forward to returning to Tuscany which has breathtaking scenery and superb places to visit. My friend found this delightful place to stay on Tripadvisor. It is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Use Tripadvisor for all your holiday requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in November and would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to visit San Gimignano, Siena, or the Chianti wine area. We found the location perfect. Free parking and a room overlooking the vineyards. San Gimignano is only 6 km away and it is a pretty drive. Although there is no restaurants in Ulignano, 3 km away there is a small town (Vic D'elsa) with a nice restaurant/pizzeria (Vico Furbo, free parking in the town just ask Elio) if you can't be bothered driving into San Gimignano. There are also several close by (within 3 km) agrotourismos which offer beautiful traditional Tuscan treats at a good price.
We arrived 2 hours before check in but were greeted warmly and our room was quickly made available after a 10 minute stroll through the town. We were really happy with our room, it was large, clean and comfortable with a hot and high pressured shower.
The owners were extremely helpful and kind. Elio helped us with everything from directions and parking to restaurant and winery recommendations.
Finally, the breakfast was amazing, Fresh delicious home made cakes, coffee to order, a fruit platter, pizza, meat and cheese, cereal, toast, yoghurt....no need for lunch!
Can't wait to visit again, thanks for everything!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The owner was very kind in giving us several suggestion and tips on what to do while we were staying at Vecchio Asilo. They suggested great restaurants and sightseeings.
He and his family were very sweet by preparing a lovely and delicate breakfast.
Our room was simple, but in the past it was an old clock tower and was very exciting to stay there.
I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Stay at the old tower clock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Elio & Stefania go above & beyond to ensure their guests comfort. The rooms are pleasant & are in an historic building with spectacular views. The breakfast is special with freshly baked cakes, beautifully arranged fruit plates, Elio's own olive oil & red sauce.
Excellent suggestions for dining, winery visits & touring.
Elio even chauffered us to dinner & the train.
There is a lovely garden area to enjoy the sunsets.
It all comes back to the innkeepers care & kindness which was exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were very happy with this Hotel. It is like a small B&B and felt like being at home. Service was amazing and they really go out of their way to look after you and give you lots of information about the local area. Parking is on the street but this was never a problem. Extra pillows were given on request as well as maps for San Gimignano and recommondations of restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vecchio Asilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Address: Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Ulignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ulignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vecchio Asilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Asilo Hotel
Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano
Hotel Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano, Italy - Ulignano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vecchio Asilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.