We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Vecchio Asilo to your Saves list
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€85 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ulignano
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Top place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful stay in the Hotel Vecchio Asilo. I can't praise our hosts Elio and Stefania enough, they went out of their way to help make our week in Tuscany a most enjoyable one and gave us invaluable information to help us explore what truly is a most beautiful part of Italy. Not only did we have great breakfasts with fantastic homemade cakes and pastries daily, but the room was also extremely spacious, comfortable and clean. During our stay, my husband and I celebrated a special wedding anniversary and on our return to the hotel that evening we found lovely homemade individual desserts in our room, not just for ourselves, but also for the two friends we were with. They really are the most exceptional hosts and I would recommend a stay there anytime. A big thank you to Elio and Stefania.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    38
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
344
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Four of us have just spent 8 days at Hotel Vecchio Asilo and had a truly wonderful time - thanks to the outstanding hospitality from Elio & Stefania. Gave us plenty of beautiful places to visit and also supplied delicious breakfasts - Stefania's chocolate cake is a wonder to behold and eat!! We have just returned and the weather has been great. They recommended good restaurants too. Look forward to returning to Tuscany which has breathtaking scenery and superb places to visit. My friend found this delightful place to stay on Tripadvisor. It is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Use Tripadvisor for all your holiday requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in November and would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to visit San Gimignano, Siena, or the Chianti wine area. We found the location perfect. Free parking and a room overlooking the vineyards. San Gimignano is only 6 km away and it is a pretty drive. Although there is no restaurants in Ulignano, 3 km away there is a small town (Vic D'elsa) with a nice restaurant/pizzeria (Vico Furbo, free parking in the town just ask Elio) if you can't be bothered driving into San Gimignano. There are also several close by (within 3 km) agrotourismos which offer beautiful traditional Tuscan treats at a good price.
We arrived 2 hours before check in but were greeted warmly and our room was quickly made available after a 10 minute stroll through the town. We were really happy with our room, it was large, clean and comfortable with a hot and high pressured shower.
The owners were extremely helpful and kind. Elio helped us with everything from directions and parking to restaurant and winery recommendations.
Finally, the breakfast was amazing, Fresh delicious home made cakes, coffee to order, a fruit platter, pizza, meat and cheese, cereal, toast, yoghurt....no need for lunch!
Can't wait to visit again, thanks for everything!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The owner was very kind in giving us several suggestion and tips on what to do while we were staying at Vecchio Asilo. They suggested great restaurants and sightseeings.
He and his family were very sweet by preparing a lovely and delicate breakfast.
Our room was simple, but in the past it was an old clock tower and was very exciting to stay there.
I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Stay at the old tower clock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Elio & Stefania go above & beyond to ensure their guests comfort. The rooms are pleasant & are in an historic building with spectacular views. The breakfast is special with freshly baked cakes, beautifully arranged fruit plates, Elio's own olive oil & red sauce.
Excellent suggestions for dining, winery visits & touring.
Elio even chauffered us to dinner & the train.
There is a lovely garden area to enjoy the sunsets.
It all comes back to the innkeepers care & kindness which was exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were very happy with this Hotel. It is like a small B&B and felt like being at home. Service was amazing and they really go out of their way to look after you and give you lots of information about the local area. Parking is on the street but this was never a problem. Extra pillows were given on request as well as maps for San Gimignano and recommondations of restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Some of the nicest people you will ever meet run this beautiful little hotel. Elio and Stefania were willing to help in any way they could to ensure our stay was excellent. The communication prior to the trip was very helpful and they also recommended a cooking class at an Agriturismo close to the hotel. The class was fantastic. Each morning, Elio recommended towns to visit and activities, which made our time in Tuscany both relaxing and fun. One thing I must talk about is the breakfasts. As I am sure you will read over and over again, the breakfast each morning was amazing. Course after course of pastries, yogurt, bread/cheese/meat, coffee of your choice, and the amazing works of art fruit plates. Elio and Stefania live with their family on the second floor. You wouldn’t even know they are there. As soon as you ring the service bell you would here Elio or Stefania rushing downstairs to assist you in any way.

Pros
Breakfast is something we looked forward to everyday
Room lots of space and clean
Location close enough to the sights of Tuscany but not in a tourist area

Con
We were in room #1, which is the corner of the building beside the road. I am not sure if the street noise was better in other rooms but it could be a little loud at times.

I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a beautiful experience away from the hustle of the cities. The food was amazing and it is only a short drive from Firenze, about 1 hour. San Gimignano was also just a short distance away where you can stroll through an old historic town with beautiful shops and restaurants. You need a car while here… I am sure the buses could get your around however, to enjoy your time here… rent a car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vecchio Asilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Address: Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Ulignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ulignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vecchio Asilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Asilo Hotel
Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano
Hotel Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano, Italy - Ulignano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vecchio Asilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.