We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highest level of hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vecchio Asilo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€85 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ulignano
Hermosa Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“highest level of hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Elio & Stefania go above & beyond to ensure their guests comfort. The rooms are pleasant & are in an historic building with spectacular views. The breakfast is special with freshly baked cakes, beautifully arranged fruit plates, Elio's own olive oil & red sauce.
Excellent suggestions for dining, winery visits & touring.
Elio even chauffered us to dinner & the train.
There is a lovely garden area to enjoy the sunsets.
It all comes back to the innkeepers care & kindness which was exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    435
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
317
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were very happy with this Hotel. It is like a small B&B and felt like being at home. Service was amazing and they really go out of their way to look after you and give you lots of information about the local area. Parking is on the street but this was never a problem. Extra pillows were given on request as well as maps for San Gimignano and recommondations of restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Some of the nicest people you will ever meet run this beautiful little hotel. Elio and Stefania were willing to help in any way they could to ensure our stay was excellent. The communication prior to the trip was very helpful and they also recommended a cooking class at an Agriturismo close to the hotel. The class was fantastic. Each morning, Elio recommended towns to visit and activities, which made our time in Tuscany both relaxing and fun. One thing I must talk about is the breakfasts. As I am sure you will read over and over again, the breakfast each morning was amazing. Course after course of pastries, yogurt, bread/cheese/meat, coffee of your choice, and the amazing works of art fruit plates. Elio and Stefania live with their family on the second floor. You wouldn’t even know they are there. As soon as you ring the service bell you would here Elio or Stefania rushing downstairs to assist you in any way.

Pros
Breakfast is something we looked forward to everyday
Room lots of space and clean
Location close enough to the sights of Tuscany but not in a tourist area

Con
We were in room #1, which is the corner of the building beside the road. I am not sure if the street noise was better in other rooms but it could be a little loud at times.

I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a beautiful experience away from the hustle of the cities. The food was amazing and it is only a short drive from Firenze, about 1 hour. San Gimignano was also just a short distance away where you can stroll through an old historic town with beautiful shops and restaurants. You need a car while here… I am sure the buses could get your around however, to enjoy your time here… rent a car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in October. We could not have been more pleased with our hosts and our stay. The property is charming -- our room was quite large, and we loved sitting out in the garden with a bottle of wine, some cheese and meats we'd purchased for a light evening meal. The room was SO quiet, and the bed was really comfortable -- and the price was great!!

Elio could not have been a more gracious host. His restaurant recommendations in San Gimignano and Volterra were outstanding. He had great recommendations for touring the countryside, and we were so grateful when he suggested we alter one of our day's plans so that we would end up taking the autostrada in the evening as opposed to winding roads in the dark.

We also loved how relaxed Elio is. Breakfast, as he puts it, is from "8 until whenever...I hate being on a schedule on holiday, so I don't want my guests to be rushed either." And it was true -- he was available whenever for whatever we needed. He even went so far as to run around after we left figuring out how to ship wine and olive oil for us. Completely above and beyond what was needed!

We loved our homemade breakfasts -- a different cake made by Stefania each day, and she even gave us the recipes. So delicious! And a different treat from Elio each breakfast -- homemade pizzas, bruschetta and other treats. We felt spoiled and relaxed.

Thank you for the wonderful stay -- we can't wait to come back!

--Kimberly and Brent

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Near San Gimignano, this small, clean, no-frills hotel is reasonably comfortable. Their pillows could be better, I woke up with a stiff neck.
We were given a room on the ground floor and our window opened to the nice - even though rather small - garden.
In short: nothing special, but convenient enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa,ca
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This ia an outstanding place to stay while in Tuscany, near San Gimignano. It's also within easy driving distance to the Chianti region. More importantly, the hosts work tirelessly to insure you feel welcome and enjoy your stay. Our room on the second floor was large and had a nice bath. More importantly, it was meticulously clean. Breakfasts were a treat with assorted cold meats, cheese, fresh fruit, bread, home baked cakes and pastries, yogurt, bruschetta, coffee, juice, etc, all Served graciously by the host. We stayed three nights and wished we could have stayed another. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel and I wish it was available for more. This is a very nice hotel. The interior is country style designed that makes you feel like at home.The room was very spacious and clean. The shower has a very strong water flow.
Elio - owner of this hotel was SUPER friendly and helpful willing to make your stay unforgettable. We enjoyed the various and tasty breakfasts he prepared everyday.
We would defiantly stay there again if we go this area again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vecchio Asilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Address: Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Ulignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ulignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vecchio Asilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Asilo Hotel
Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano
Hotel Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano, Italy - Ulignano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vecchio Asilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.