We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceans Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oceans Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Oceans Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   569 Charlton Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Peppers Pier Resort, Hervey Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Coral Cove
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My wife and I had our 24th wedding anniversary and decided to stay at Oceans Resort Urangan - one bed apartment. We have stayed here quite a number of times and absolutely love it.
I mentioned in the online booking that it was our anniversary and we arrived to see a bottle of wine and hand written card of congratulations.
The room was fantastic. Very spacious, clean and a view of the ocean.
The weather was terrible but we didn't mind. We stayed in the room and watched the free new release movies.
All rooms are quite large and nicely furnished. The bathroom was huge and had large spa bath and a separate shower.
The TV in the main room was very big and another in the bedroom.
The room also had a sizeable balcony looking over the ocean.
I highly recommend this resort and I look forward to the next time we stay. Maybe the weather will be more favourable?
I also recommend 'Salt' cafe which is on the esplanade directly in front of the resort, a short walk from the room (love the pancakes).
Thanks to Oceans and the staff for always making it such an enjoyable stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    31
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
39
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Biloela, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly if you are looking for this hotel, it used to be called Peppers. So if you see signs saying Peppers, follow them.

CHECK IN – Check in was nice and easy. The girls showed us where to park and how to get to the rooms. On check-out I told them something that was wrong with the room and they noted it so it would get fixed.

THE ROOM – We booked a one bedroom but we ended up with a 2 bedroom. The bathroom was locked off in the second bedroom though. But we still had a full kitchen, lounge, main bedroom, walk in wardrobe, ensuite bathroom, laundry and spare hallway toilet. The TV had free movies by demand, and the bathroom had a spa. This was great in winter when we stayed as we couldn’t go in the pool or the ocean.
The ground floor level apartments have a gate that opens straight on to the pool area. So if you have kids and are planning to use the pool often, this would be great for you.

KEYS – This place had them annoying keys that you have to swipe to enter everywhere. You need it to access the pool area, enter the grounds from the car park, and use the lift.

FACILITIES – There was a large pool which wasn’t heated so we couldn’t use it in winter.

LOCATION – The location was great, we were straight across from the beach. If you want to be near the main pier this is the hotel to book. There is also many places in walk-able distance to eat.

PARKING – There is a large car park under the building. The parks are numbered but you can park where ever you want.

WIFI – There was no WIFI as far as I know in June 2014

Room Tip: The bottom level with the gates that open to the pool if planing on spending a lot of time there. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

4 mates were driving to 1770 for a fishing holiday. We stayed here overnight for a break in the trip.

A really huge room accommodated us all.

We had a few drinks in the bar then went to a local restaurant then back for some more drinks.

One of our group only drank a type of white rum which the hotel had just run out of. The owner heard this and arranged a staff member to go & purchase several bottles. This type of attention to service followed us throughout the resort. The staff couldn't have done any more for us & truly pampered us.

The rooms were very clean, spacious with fantastic views of the water. The price was exceptional & great value for money.

I highly recommend this resort.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really good rooms - excellent wheelchair accessible rooms and not just the one bedroom least-liked location either. There's a great 2 bdrm wc apartment and a 3 bdrm wc apartment as well. The whole resort is really well thought out for walking people and wheelies.The staff are all really nice and helpful.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After having to change rooms due to bad odour and door lock not working in first room, we were relocated to a ground floor poolside room. The air conditioner control didn't work at all and it was really difficult to have a good hot shower due to poor water pressure control. For a fairly newish motel, the level of finish and cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired. I give it 3.5 stars as 4.5 should be luxury.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Frank M,

Thanks for your response on Trip Advisor.

Apologies we didn't meet your expectations.

As soon as you complained about the room smell we room moved you, offering you alternatives.

As soon as you told us about the remote control we attended to your room and because we couldn't fix it until the next morning, we offered you alternatives which you declined and said you fine with the situation until the following morning. Our maintenance staff fixed the remote control first thing in the morning.

Just letting you know that the smell in the first room was checked again later that day and it had passed, and we re-sold the room without complaint.

Our valuable team are here to help at all times of the day, and I apologise that we couldn't resolve the air-conditioning immediately, after hours. Almost all other resorts in the area do not have the same levels of staff and service and I am proud of what we manage to achieve and what we provide to our guests in service, facilities and room amenities. We believe we have the best hotel in Hervey Bay, and we are always striving to get better, so thanks for your comments.

Best wishes for your future travels.
Chris T - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely rooms, staff and those views were amazing! Rooms were clean, light and airy. Loved the jacuzzi bathroom and the idea you could shut the muster bedroom away with the sliding doors. Only thing was the dishwasher could have come with some instructions as we couldn't get it to work. We asked reception on check out (as we only stayed two nights) and they said they would look into it. Hopefully they do. Overall though lovely apartments and we hope to go back and have some sun with us this time!

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After reading a few mixed reviews I thought my wife and I would still give this place a go for our anniversary over Easter.

Firstly the checkin was very quick and friendly. The staff members were very welcoming and friendly regardless where u met them on the hotel grounds

We got a free upgrade and a lovely welcome note with a bath salt pack which was lovely. The room was clean and an amazing view to accompany it aswell.
I was really impressed with the great selection of blockbuster movies and cable TV. Room felt homely. We were on the 2nd floor over looking the pool but heard absolutely nothing once the doors were closed and I appreciated that when I wanted silence and wanted to sleep in.
It was very close to everything. Most places a short 5 min drive away if u wanted Woolworths or the more popular beaches.

The ONLY con I have was when I made an amendment to change the apartment from non serviced to serviced but this wasn't actioned and I had to chase up. HOWEVER the staff were very prompt to try rectify this. Tracey was really apologetic about it when checking me out and offered reimbursement to show appreciation. But I must say the staff I spoke to over the course of this tried their best to fix this and not once where rude and to me that shows a true level of great hospitality and service. Keep it up!!!!!

We will be back!!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceans Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans Resort & Spa

Address: 569 Charlton Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Peppers Pier Resort, Hervey Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oceans Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Oceans Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Pier Resort, Hervey Bay Hotel Hervey Bay
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay, Australia - Urangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceans Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.