We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow I'm impressed in Hervey Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceans Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Oceans Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Oceans Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   569 Charlton Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Peppers Pier Resort, Hervey Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$10pp Toward Any Tour
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Ormeau, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wow I'm impressed in Hervey Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An amazing apartment in Hervey Bay. A few positives. Well equipt for a family, twin single room on entry, away from the parents room and living room. The fully equipt kitchen if cooking is to your liking. A TV that rotates from the parents bedroom to the spa with Japanese shutters, a well thought out apartment for a family with some romantic time for the adults...Kids room have their Own TV as does the living room..BUT the negatives. You have a balcony, but due to the roof line above you may have full sun or rain, not the usual shelter due to the shape of the building. The Kids room doesn't seem to get the A/C due to the design of it, but crank it up and I'm sure It's OK. Limited room service only offers pizza's or alcohol, but there is plenty of food around the area. All in All I come to Hervey Bay heaps and I will come back again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
20
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in a one bedroom apartment. Clean , comfortable, and great view over the water from the second floor. Good pool and surrounds. We stayed for our 45th wedding anniversary and it was almost perfect for a relaxing rest if you do not want to do much. We were there for the Melb Cup and directly above the restaurant that was very noisy but not too problematic as it was the middle of the day. Would be most annoying if it was late at night. Walking distance to nice cafes and reasonable restaurants. The only downside was the reception staff. When we arrived the receptionist was friendly but was obviously new and found it difficult to answer any of our questions. For the remainder of our stay that included many trips past the reception desk there was no acknowledgement as we passed through not even any eye contact let alone a friendly word.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the ocean but definitely not above the restaurant/bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Cynphi,

Thankyou very much for such a constructive review.

Your comments on our staff have been noted and were acted upon immediately. We have regular training sessions for our front office staff and customer service is at the forefront.

We really hope to see you back for your 46th wedding anniversary next November!

Best wishes,
Chris Taylor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment that was very clean and very well furnished. Looks like it had been recently redecorated. The apartment has everything you need if you plan to be self sufficient during your stay. Staff at the front desk were excellent. I always find that great staff make up for other minor problems.

This is a great location for families, but if you are looking for some peace and quiet you may need to consider options, as the design of the complex is somewhat like an amphitheatre that amplifies any noise, including young males having a noisy party in one apartment. However, reception staff responded promptly to my complaint of the level of profanity issuing from this apartment.

Overall, a very nice apartment and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Bring food and alcohol as the shops are some distance. The hotel attached to this complex refused to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ParaBIll,

Thanks very much for such a constructive review of resort. Trip Advisor is such a great tool for constructive feedback and we always welcome honest and constructive comments to ensure that we can focus and improve any areas of concern.

I am glad you love the current décor of the rooms. We are currently looking at some options with our room owners to ensure that the rooms continue to get better, so watch this space.

As you have mentioned, we do our absolute best to patrol and control all noise in this building at all times. We have no party policies in place and any loud parties are shut down as fast as possible.

We really do hope to see you back here again one day very soon, on your next trip to magnificent Hervey Bay.

All the very best,
Chris Taylor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This resorts promises lots by falls short.. Rooms a bit outdated but this is being looked at with work going on. Restaurants don't quite hit the mark either.. Wifi in rooms is very intermittent and annoying especially when there on business.. Great for a family I suppose but make sure you bargain for a good deal as it's not 5star.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited in July, not too busy. Gorgeous spot, great for kids. Nice view and close to amenities and cafes etc. Loved it! Lovely hotel, great location, fantastic swimming pools

Good for families and couples

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It was simply paradise! We thoroughly enjoyed a week long stay at Oceans Resort! Lovely hotel, great location, fantastic swimming pools and long bike rides on the beachside bike path/esplanade. Fish and chips every other day too.

The hotel is built in a curved shape so the rooms take in Hervey Bay. It is also right next to the iconic Harvey Bay/Urangan Pier.

The hotel has 2 swimming pools with a great kids pool including a beach with sand. It wasn't necessary for us to leave the hotel at all. The kids played in the pool all day.

Another pleasant surprise was the free wifi, movie channel and foxtel.

We also went to the local markets near the pier on Saturday - (1st and 3rd Sat of each month)

We hired bikes from the Blue Tandem Cafe (just around the corner from the hotel) instead of hiring a car.

The Ocean staff were attentive and thoughtful. They gave us great local insights - i can highly recommend a trip to Lady Elliot island.

We look forward to coming back again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed with the children this time - so the ground floor rooms that opened on to the pools were p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Just rang to make a reservation by phone as i had received a quote by email and plus seen many available online. The receptionist answered saying, there is no available accommodation? so i said but i just received a quote and there is availability's online. Ohh she said ill just put you through to reservations? Someone needs to lose their job over this, i mean sending clients away is not a good thing. Think we will give this place a miss.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear World traveler G,

Thanks for your review.

With so many booking channels around the world coming into our hotel, it is quite possible that we did have 1-room left when you phoned, and then it was sold. As we get close to sell-out, we have to be very fast to react to our system to ensure that we do not over-sell.

Apologies that this happened to you. I will take your comments on board and let my very talented and valuable staff know that this occurred, so that they can refine processes even further to ensure it never happens to you or anyone else again.

Kind regards,
Chris Taylor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceans Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans Resort & Spa

Address: 569 Charlton Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Peppers Pier Resort, Hervey Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oceans Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oceans Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Pier Resort, Hervey Bay Hotel Hervey Bay
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay, Australia - Urangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceans Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.