We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Hervey Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceans Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Oceans Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Oceans Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   569 Charlton Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Peppers Pier Resort, Hervey Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$10pp Toward Any Tour
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Clayton, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luxury in Hervey Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We recently stayed one night at Oceans in Hervey Bay and wish we could have stayed longer. The reception staff could not have been friendlier when we checked in. Although we didn't need all the kitchen amenities for our short stay, we enjoyed the spaciousness of the living area and our deck had a fabulous view of the bay and hotel pools. The espresso coffee maker with complimentary pods was much appreciated. After our morning walk along the pier, I enjoyed doing laps in one of the pools which was just the right temperature and was crystal clean. Afterwards we enjoyed a light breakfast at Salt, which is conveniently located at the hotel. Unfortunately, they are only open for breakfast and lunch as we would have liked some "nibbles" when we first arrived at the hotel. We are looking forward to returning to Hervey Bay and staying at Oceans Resort.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
12
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We selected the 'Whale Watch Package' 2 nights including 10pc discount on whale watching,and a "spa pack" valued at $89.95. Ok, got the whale watching discount, but the spa pack was a small packet containing sample products, not the 'spa treatment' we were expecting, which we had to ask for.
The room was not clean. The cupboards had greasy fingermarks on them , the armchair and lounge were stained, and the bedspread had a large yellow stain on the underside. The mirrors were smeared. The shower made a terrible noise no matter where the tap was positioned.
The only fresh air was thru the front sliding glass doors, but no flyscreens.
The secure parking gate was held up permanently with rope.
All in all , the place didn't have a good vibe.We won't be returning.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Matt P,

Thanks for your review. I am sorry our whale watch package didn't live up to your expectations. Many others have commented how great it has been, and good value, but we take your comments on board as we plan for 2015's package.

As for the boom gate, I apologise but as I am sure you can appreciate Hervey Bay isn't the easiest place to get spare parts at the last minute being 4 hours from Brisbane. But we got it fixed as soon as we possibly could and I hope that you enjoyed the complimentary parking as do all of our guests all of the time, and we have 24 hour monitoring and security on our parking also.

On the cleanliness of the room, I am sorry to hear about some of your issues during the stay. Just to let you know that we move to a brand new cleaning arrangement on November 1 when all cleaning staff become part of our company as opposed to contractors. Something we are very proud to be doing. We understand how important cleaning is and will not settle for second best in this area.

Matt P, we really do hope to see you back again at our beautiful resort, Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay, and our spectacular region that also features Fraser & Lady Elliot Islands.

Kind Regards,
Chris Taylor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we had a wonderful family holiday great pools & location. Nice spacious rooms and great amenities with in the resort as well as close by. I agree with Chino8 that the should hire a new cleaner as we had a some issues with cleanliness and found reception staff dismissive at first, But after speaking with the manager, it was all sorted instantly. Cant say enough about the service we received from Noel the manager, he bent over backwards to accommodate us and followed up with us to make sure we were satisfied. Our holiday was looking like going down hill fast at first & but after we spoke with the manager he personally ensured that our holiday turned out to be one of the best holidays we have taken as a family, I cant say enough about the way our complaints where dealt with by management.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thanks for your review Ben,
We appreciate you taking the time to write.
As you stayed in March this year, it was under previous management, but I am in-touch with Nole and I will pass on your feedback.
On the cleanliness of the rooms, as new management we also agree that there was a problem, and I am pleased to announce that the Housekeeping contractors that are being used are currently winding down their operation here and we are brining the department back in-house, to ensure the highest quality standards possible.
Our new team look forward to welcoming you back to Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey bay one day very soon!
Kind Regards,
Chris Taylor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed here for 2 nights for my wedding, the apartment is spacious and has everything you require for a couple of nights stay. There is free WIFI and the staff were friendly, however, I would highly recommend Oceans Resort & Spa invest in a new cleaner. There was dirty dishes in the cupboards and old food on the cutlery. There was a huge stain on the rug in the lounge room and the air conditioner did not work until the maintenance man came up (on the third phone call) to fix it. The floors had not been vacuumed and you could clearly see the bits of rubbish on the floors. This was really disappointing considering the amount of money I had paid to stay in a highly regarded resort. Unless your standards improve, I would not stay again.

Room Tip: The views of the ocean are very pretty, however the "penthouses" are not furnished very we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor chin087.

Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay took over from Peppers in May this year, and during this time we have been assessing all processes and procedures to ensure that our wonderful hotel delivers everything that is expected by our valuable customers.

Housekeeping/cleaning is one of if not the most important issue that has been reviewed by us as it is so important to get right. I am pleased to announce that the Housekeeping contractors that are being used currently are winding down their operation here and transitioning the department back in-house, to ensure the highest quality standards possible. I am sure you agree that with such a beautiful building, an icon in the area that has so many great facilities and features, with this 100% right, there will be no better place to stay in Hervey Bay than Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay. We really do hope to see you back again one day soon.

Kind Regards,
Chris Taylor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A truly amazing hotel in a wonderful place. We stayed in a 3 bed apartment with 5 of our 6 kids. The accommodation could not have been better - clean, spacious, luxurious, amazing ocean views and wonderfully friendly and helpful staff.
Plenty to do in the area for all the kids - boys and girls. Fraser Island is an absolute must. I have been fortunate enough to have been whale watching in South Africa and Scandinavia before - but Hervey Bay must be the best in the world!
More than enough local restaurants to cater for all tastes, but to be honest the apartment was so great it was difficult to coax our kids out in the evenings!
Hiring bikes and cycling all the way along the bay to Gatakers for cocktails at sunset is a great experience, although the ride back may prove more tricky!
Great hotel, great pools, great place……can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We did look at other rooms while we there - and all were great! But if you can get an ocean view, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Robert L,
Thanks very much for taking the time to review our hotel and Hervey Bay on Trip Advisor.
And thank-you also for such a great score and your comments. We will not stop at ensuring that Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay remains the stand-out choice for family holidays.
We hope to see you all again in Hervey Bay soon, as do all of the local businesses I will speak on behalf of. Hervey Bay is definitely a must-see part of Australia and so great that you are spreading the word!!
Best Wishes,
Chris Taylor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed one night while on business and wish we could have stayed longer. Check in and check out was smooth plus the gift pack of toiletries was a pleasant surprise. The units are extremely large and very clean with views out over Harvey Bay. There is a Nespresso coffee machine for those who do not like instant coffee which is the norm in most other hotels. It would be an ideal hotel for families as there are 2 pools plus a wading pool for children. We enjoyed dinner that evening at the adjoining bistro which could be noisy when busy if there are are children. Breakfast at Sea Salt the next morning was also enjoyable. Will return again and stay longer

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear bmw216,

Thanks very much for such a detailed review. It sums up our resort very well. We are doing all that we possibly can to improve it so next time that you stay I hope it is even better.

We look forward to welcoming you back for longer as you mentioned, as Hervey Bay is one of the best places to come in Australia to either relax or do activities or world-class tours, whatever YOU want to do.

Hope to see you again soon.
Chris Taylor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our second stay here and it keeps getting better and better. The staff were incredibly helpful and even though they are doing some refurbishing of the exterior of the building it didn't impact our stay at all. We got upgraded to a 3 bedroom suite and it was huge and gorgeous. We were right at the end and the views from the room were beautiful - uninterrupted ocean. The room was stylish and modern and there were spas in 2 of the 3 bathrooms. It was a fantastic way to spend our wedding anniversary.
We took a long stroll out along the pier at sunset and then had dinner at Bayswater which was great. Movies on demand was a great bonus after a week long road trip it was great o just put the feet up and relax.
We racked our brains to work out a way to stay longer but unfortunately we both had to get back to work which was heartbreaking. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Sandra G,

Thanks very much for your return visit! Thanks also for such a great review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad to hear that you love our hotel and Hervey Bay.

Hervey Bay is a perfect place to getaway, and our location next to the Pier, and not far from the boat harbour makes it an even better place to come and do whatever you like.

Yes there are some minor building works in place at the moment, that we are trying to ensure have absolute minimal impact on our guest stays, and I can assure you that once these are complete Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay will be an even more impressive place to stay.

See you again soon - let me know when you are here and I will come and say g'day!

Best wishes,
Chris Taylor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceans Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans Resort & Spa

Address: 569 Charlton Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Peppers Pier Resort, Hervey Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oceans Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oceans Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Pier Resort, Hervey Bay Hotel Hervey Bay
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay, Australia - Urangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceans Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.