We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oceans Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Oceans Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceans Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   569-571 Charlton Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Peppers Pier Resort, Hervey Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Urangan
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely Location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at Ocean's Resort and Spa for one night. We stayed in a bottom floor 1 bedroom apartment with direct access to the pool. The apartment was very large and spacious. There was a large living area with good amenities including a dishwasher and washer and dryer. There was a nice coffee machine with pods for use. The bedroom was large, with a king size bed. Unfortunately the bed was not the most comfortable. The bathroom was large and had a very nice spa bath. The water pressure in the shower was a little bit low. There was direct access to the pool however the gate was very dusty and could do with a tidy. I think a higher level would have a more scenic view. One of our lights was not working. The surrounds did look a bit dated and I think a touch-up would be great (I saw signs saying this was planned for later this year). H

Sitting outside near the pool was very relaxing, and there was enough deck chairs to go around at present.

The service was good, and we found the free of charge gated parking very useful. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Higher level would likely give a better view over the pool and perhaps even an ocean view (ask!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear ihearteurope10,
Thankyou for your extensive review of our hotel.
We thankyou for your honest feedback and will use it to improve our rooms. Bed quality is important to all our guests and we are currently reviewing all of our beds in every room. Your feedback will help us encourage our owners to invest in new ones, as required.
Pease next time you book, request a higher floor, and we will do everything we can to accommodate this. You can also purchase a superior room type to guarantee a high floor and a view.
We hope to see you back again one day soon.
Regards,
Chris Taylor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
8
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night, as we wanted to go Whale Watching. The hotel was amazing, we walked in and all said Wow. We had a three bedroom apartment (only needed two of them), with views over the pool and beach. The beds were comfortable and the kids loved the spa in the bathroom. We had free in-house movies for the night so after going out for dinner we settled in and watching a movie together.

We had trouble getting a table at the Bayswater Restaurant, so had to go elsewhere. It was a bit of a rabbit warren trying to find the restaurant too, had to go down lots of corridors to get there. Breakfast the next morning at Salt was yummy. This time we walked through the pool area as again you had to go down corridors to get to it. We really enjoyed our stay and will come back again one day.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the pool. The bottom floors have access directly on to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Beckmay71,
Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive comment on our hotel.
We are working tirelessly in making our hotel the best in Hervey Bay for all types of travellers, and especially for families, so we are glad that you enjoy our rooms, views, services and location.
Will take your comments on directions to the restaurants on site. As we are getting the building completely re-painted currently, now is the perfect time to review all signage, and your feedback assists us in this.
We hope to welcome you back again soon to enjoy an even better experience.
Regards,
Chris Taylor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After 14 hrs on the road with business, we stayed in the ground floor one bedroom suite backing onto the pool area. Both my husband and I loved the suite. It was spacious, clean, well appointed with everything you need plus more. Yes it does have the "WOW" factor as my husband calls it. The staff was friendly and helpful. However the bed was a little too firm for us. It would also be nice if they had a multifunction shower head in the shower. I would like to see a couple of bottles of water in the fridge. We arrived quite late, room service was finished. I do not drink tea or coffee so there was nothing for me to drink. We are planing to return soon but this time for pleasure and not business so we can enjoy more of the fabulous amenities with our family.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear ooipurr,
Thankyou very much for taking the time to write such positive comments about Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay. Your feedback on our hotel means a lot to us as we are constantly trying to improve and make our hotel the best in Hervey Bay.
Will take your comments on-board in regard to the water in the rooms and will seriously look into getting this started, and I will talk to our Maintenance team on the shower heads.
Thanks for your comments on our ground-floor units, they are really great for many of our guests especially those with families, due to the ease of access to the pool and our facilities, and are also very spacious.
We can't wait to see you welcome you back next time you need a break, or travelling through Hervey Bay.

Best wishes,
Chris Taylor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

staed here last week for 4 nites in a sub penthouse on the fourth floor - room was quite large & had a great patio area that had shutters in case of wind & rain . Will definitely stay here again but next time in summner

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear BrisbaneSnorkellover,

Thankyou very much for taking the time to score us and write your comment on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and your spacious room.

The team and I are working very hard to ensure Oceans Resort & Spa is the best place to stay in Hervey Bay, and we all can't wait to welcome you back again one day soon. Our building is going through many upgrades over the next few months and we hope that when you return you will experience and even better place to stay.

Yours thankfully,
Chris Taylor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a weekend away, walked in the room and went "wow." We had a two bedroom, which had three tvs, a spa, large balcony and laundry. Plus complimentary movies. Im not sure if the movies will always be free but we tried to watch as many as possible- the best idea and hope it continues!!! Had a meal in the Bayswater restaurant downstairs. Very popular place, live music, good food and good service. But back to the room! I would recommend sitting on the balcony, soaking in the serenity and watching the boats floating along the horizon. I saw some other reviews mentioning salamanders in the room and I was a little disappointed that we didnt have any in our room. They are so adorable, but must be frolicking somewhere else during our stay. I usually stay at Mantra when in Hervey Bay (and I love the view) but I think this is my new favourite hotel (sorry Mantra). My most memorable moment was walking along the esplanade towards the marina at night and seeing possums jumping through the trees and running along beside us. Also walking along the jetty, right outside the hotel btw. I would recommend this hotel for people needing some chilax time. It's reasonably priced, has everything you need and the check-in staff were lovely! Was given information about the local scene, bands on that night as well as the hotel amenities. Above and beyond. Loved this place and will return...highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Get a high room so you can see the ocean. Our room was on the first floor but could still see the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear 666_Lolly_666

Thank-you very much for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel, Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay, and for the very kind words and score.

It is so great to hear that we are your number 1 in Hervey Bay! We have been working tirelessly since we took over from Peppers and it is great to see you comments that some of this is paying off. We will not stop at trying to make every guest that stays with us leave with similar opinions as yours - that this is best hotel in Hervey Bay.

Our complimentary High Definition Video-On-Demand service, which features over a 100 or so movies on demand, is here to stay so don't worry about that. Movies also update every month. The Wi-Fi will also remain complimentary for all guests.

We hope to welcome you back soon, and into a room on a high floor! Please feel free to contact my team to help secure this, but as you know most rooms have a great view, and then of course there are some ground floor apartments that have easy access to our massive heated pool, that are great for families.

Yours Thankfully,
Chris Taylor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked in here while it was still Peppers, now Oceans Resort. Rooms are very well presented, cleaned daily and generously furnished. Kitchen was very well equipped allowing us to mix up eating in and eating out through the week. Staff were very friendly too.
Definitely recommend hiring a bike/scooter though if you don't have a car as the nearest shops (chemist, butcher, supermarket etc), restaurants, pubs, cafes etc are at least 30min walk away. Bike hire is abundant however and the combined bike/pedestrian path along the esplanade is excellent and flat making for an easy ride. The hotel and café attached to the resort are both good but there are only a couple of other options nearby for eating out (Pavilion and the Pier) and a fairly ordinary fish and chip/hamburger place. So if you're staying any longer than 3 nights you will want access to some other options.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to face the ocean overlooking the pool, except those on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear MTM007,

Thank-you very much for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel and for your very kind words.

We are been working tirelessly since we took over from Peppers to ensure our transition from them to us was as seamless as possible, and to enhance the guest experience even further where possible. We will not stop at making Oceans Resort & Spa the number one hotel in Hervey Bay to come and stay for all markets, business, leisure and families.

Thanks for your advice to future guests in terms of perhaps needing some transport to get to conveniences and sights around town, and our team is always here to assist when and where required.

We hope to welcome you back to Oceans Resort & Spa one day, and please pass on the good word around Melbourne, especially how warm it is up here in winter!

Yours Thankfully,
Chris Taylor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed at this hotel with my mother for four nights while visiting the Hervey Bay area. We rented a 2 bedroom unit which was on the 1st floor (above ground). The unit was fine in the layout and was well appointed with modern tile, good size kitchen and nice living space with flat screen TV. The patio was a nice size and had a good peek-a-boo view of the ocean and the pool below. We booked 2 king beds and got 1 king and 2 singles, which was fine.

On the negative side, the room was tidy but not very clean. There were dust bunnies in the corners and hallway and the windows were very dirty. We bought some Jif cloths and cleaned all the surfaces to ensure they were clean. The area rug in the living area was stained and the sofa and chairs were old and in need of a steam clean. My bed cover was also stained with water stains on the underside so I just took it off. The sheets and pillows were fine and the bed was fairly comfortable. Also, the master bedroom has japanese style paper thin rolling walls so if the other occupants want to stay up or get up early, you can hear them easily. Also, the refrigerator is quite noisy through the evening so it would be a better design to just have walls and a door.

There were two bathrooms but only one had a hairdryer so we called the front desk and they quickly brought another one, they also brought up a bucket of ice when asked, no charge. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly.

The location of this hotel is not that close to restaurants and shopping so next time I would stay somewhere near Scarness or Torquay, It was a peaceful spot near the pier but it was fairly noisy as the people above us were banging around and the sound of kids in the pool really carried.

Overall, the hotel could be really nice but the Bayswater restaurant downstairs was not good and the back street entrance and signage to get to the hotel are very strange. Go through the pool area to get to the street and restaurants but don't forget your room key!

Free wifi and parking a plus

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor for the view and top floor to reduce noise above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi Lou,

Thank-you very much for your detailed and very thorough response of our hotel. Your feedback is invaluable to making Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay the best hotel in Hervey Bay.

It is always great to welcome international guests to our hotel and the region, and I hope that you enjoyed your visit to Australia.

Thanks for your notes concerning some of the cleanliness in the room. We believe that our housekeeping services must be close to perfection, and we will not stop at improving this function of our beautiful hotel. We are currently re-working the structure of our Housekeeping team and all of their functions to ensure that the best possible standard is achieved and guest expectations are exceeded in every stay.

We are very pleased with your very honest and fair feedback of our hotel, and I hope that readers of your comments can see that we have acted on the negatives when they stay, and that they really enjoy the positives in your comments also. We will not stop at aiming to be the best hotel in Hervey Bay, and your feedback will help us achieve this.

Lou we hope to welcome your Mother and yourself back one day, and as many visitors from Vancouver and Canada as possible.

Yours Thankfully,
Chris Taylor - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceans Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans Resort & Spa

Address: 569-571 Charlton Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Peppers Pier Resort, Hervey Bay)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Urangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oceans Resort & Spa 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Oceans Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Pier Resort, Hervey Bay Hotel Hervey Bay
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay, Australia - Urangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceans Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.