We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceans Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Oceans Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceans Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   569-571 Charlton Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Peppers Pier Resort, Hervey Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Urangan
Mooloolaba, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Peppers Hervey Bay is comfortable and clean, but not the luxury experience I have encountered as other Peppers resorts. The front desk is the gateway to any hotel and it is absolutely reasonable that the front desk staff would offer to have bags taken to your room. If you are paying $200+ per night then this is basic customer service.

The room was very clean and comfortable, and was well maintained. The airconditioning isn't ducted and the flow through to the bedroom isn't great. It wasn't too hot when I was there but I think it could be unpleasant in summer. In a ground floor unit you wouldnt leave the doors open overnight but this could be the option in one of the upstairs rooms.

I was there overnight on a business trip but probably wouldn't stay for a prolongued time. The place just lacks a heartbeat. For a functional stay it's very good though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nole B, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear seaview088,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, firstly I am glad that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and well maintained. However I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay, mainly no portering service offered to you on check in. We offer luggage assistance at all times through our reception team or the use of trolleys if guests wish to take their own luggage. On this occasion however it seems you were not offered this service to assist with luggage and I will address this issue with the respective department manager to ensure additional training is provided for the team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Pier Resort Hervey Bay soon.

Regards,

NoleB
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    90
    36
    20
    4
See reviews for
75
94
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Budgewoi, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We are in a privately owned apartment and everything is above our expectations...the 1 bedroom unit is huge...clean and tidy and has the most fantastic views...the pool area is just great for the kids (not that we have any) and we have a computer in our unit that is free to use.. rss

Room Tip: get yourself a privately owned unit.We were in room 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

More than comfortable, accommodation facilities leave you wanting for nothing more. Gorgeous resort with great position, pools and outlook. Room was two bedroom with its own laundry, decent size balcony. Close to restaurants and across from the beach. Pools are perfect temperature . Very enjoyable week.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nole B, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear CarmenP,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Nole B

General Manager
Peppers Pier Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Peppers Resort was well situated opposite the beach and the Urangun Pier. Restaurants at the Hotel are very good although huge servings for lunch! Share a lunch and it would be plenty. We stayed for 8 nights and although top of the range of Hotels and quite expensive we were a little disappointed with the cleanliness of the two bedroom Unit. We understand it was to be serviced every third day but even on entry there was old seeds and paper beside the lounge suite which was in need of a dry clean!
Floors were not clean and the cupboards needed to be wiped down still had handprints!
The Staff on the Front Desk, Maintenance and Wait Staff were very hospitable and helpful!

Room Tip: We enjoy a ground floor overlooking the pool as we like the ease of using the pool at our door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nole B, General Manager at Oceans Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear LrrieM,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Please accept my apologies that the service provided to you from our housekeeping team was inconsistent. The issues have been raised with our Housekeeping Manager and additional training will be implemented accordingly. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Pier Resort again soon.

Kind regards,

NoleB

General Manager
Peppers Pier Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is our third stay at Peppers. We stayed in room 323 3 bedrooms with the most amazing balcony!! Beautiful view of Fraser Island. Well equipped and very clean. Really enjoyed the spa on the verandah under the stars ..... Perfect!!,

Room Tip: If you are staying in a 3 bedroom request room 323
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Arrived after long drive up from the Gold Coast, so very tired. Very welcoming and helpful staff. The room was exceptionally clean and well equipped with everything you need including laundry, kitchenette and spacious balcony with great view of ocean and frazer Island. The pool area was lovely with easy access to the restaurant. I would definitely recommend this apartment hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Of all the places we have stayed, this is our favourite. Nothing, nothing at all has topped this one. Thanks to Peter and Nicole at the Pier Resort, we were offered this beautiful 4th floor sub penthouse. We stayed 3 nights and that wasn't long enough. The apartment was immaculate, everything was clean and perfectly in it's place. The balcony faced north east, the view was amazing and was mostly shaded the whole day. The bed was so comfortable, I slept like a baby. The only fault I have with this is that we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Room 402, loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceans Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans Resort & Spa

Address: 569-571 Charlton Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Peppers Pier Resort, Hervey Bay)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Urangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oceans Resort & Spa 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Oceans Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Pier Resort, Hervey Bay Hotel Hervey Bay
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay, Australia - Urangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceans Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.