We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clame 15 seven years in a row wonderfull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelly Beach Motel

Save Saved
You added Shelly Beach Motel to your Saves list
Shelly Beach Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shelly Beach Motel
510 Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Urangan
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clame 15 seven years in a row wonderfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We just love going to the Shelly Beach motel seven years in a row ,Deb and Teena are so great.
very friendly ladies low cost treat us like family. great location beach across the road .
We love having breakfast at back of motel Garawongera Lake garden BBQ..
The area here is not to be missed.anyone needing healthy and value with a great walking track
just inside the beach. "just love this place"
Clem Tracey Les

Room Tip: I allways stay in lower rooms at 80 yrs old just to avoid stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North East
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have stayed here for so many years that Deb and Teena recognize our names when we book. We live in the States but my husband grew up in Maryborough and Hervey Bay so we come back to visit every year. Nothing changes at Shelley Beach Motel which is wonderful. It is an old fashioned Aussie motel so don't expect the latest trendy decor of a soulless contemporary hotel. It is personalized and a bit quirky. Lots of times we get the cat room but this time had the fruit and veggie room.
The rooms are well equipped with dishes and utensils so we can make some meals in the room. It can be challenging to find good places to eat in the area and it is no hardship to sit outside on the patio looking at the ocean while you have a meal. We have even taken our coffee or tea over to the beach to sit and watch the sunrise. There is a big barbeque area that guests can use and a laundry with lots of magazines and books to read if there is ever a rainy day.
While we don't have a pet to take along, I like to see the dogs that come there to stay. The resident cat came to visit us a few times on our recent stay and even typed a message to a friend of mine when it jumped up on my laptop.
It all makes for the friendliest place we have ever stayed.

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the ocean but there are stairs up to the second floor rooms which could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed at Shelly Beach Motel on our way to Lady Elliot Island and again on our return. Your hosts Teela and Debbie are warm and welcoming and offer helpful suggestions for your stay. The rooms are themed, we stayed in the "sports room"...tennis racket and cane fishing rod on the wall and a comfy worn nutmeg leather lounge to sit on. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable.
Our room had a queen and a single bed. There are tea facilities, a fridge and microwave and TV. Each room has it's own split system air conditioner but we did not find it necessary to turn it on. A small table and chairs are on the balcony. A cabana with BBQ facilities is available in the large rear garden and the grounds can accomodate the largest of vehicles including boat trailers.
The motel is a level walk to most places...1.5km south to the Hervey Bay pier and 1-1.5km north to good restaurants and cafes at Torquay. The beach is opposite. We walked far more than we would normally due to the level terrain and good walkways along the foreshore park that runs right past the motel.
I would definitely stay here again if in Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We chose Shelly beach because it was dog friendly and for it's location, but we didn't expect such homely, friendly accommodation suitable for overnight or longer stays. We are a family with young kids and usually stay in a caravan park but our 3 night stay at Shelly Beach was both comfortable and memorable. The 2 sisters who run the place are so relaxed and friendly and make you feel part of the family. The rooms tick all the boxes for the essentials: cleanliness, comfortable beds, air conditioning, working appliances and the best showers I've had in a long time. The rooms also come with kitchenettes making self catering an option but they also offer a large outdoor "camp kitchen" with gas BBQ, fridge and power. We had our breakfasts out there every day and cooked pancakes on the electric frypans supplied, bacon and eggs on the Barbie and sat relaxing on the chaise lounge in the sunshine.Our dog was also very happy being permitted to sleep in our unit with us and run around the expansive grounds. I believe they only allow 2 dogs at a time, so it is not over run by dogs either and you would never even know they accept them as the place is all so immaculately clean. The quirky touches, flowers and personal knick knacks around the place only add to the appeal. This is not 5 star, but the best Motel I've Ever been to!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a lovely break at the motel, owners were great & were really friendly & helpful with everything, our room had a sea view & very clean, very well equiped with a lovely BBQ area, plent of rooms for a boat.
As it is pet friendly even our little dog had a lovely time & had some playmates to play with, with beach & good walking paths across the road, will definately stay again

Room Tip: Good location but if you don't like walking you may have to use your car to shops & restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have stayed at this motel twice now and would stay again. The rooms arent brand new but its right across from the water and the footpath down to all the shops etc. it is a bit of a walk though so if you dont like to walk then would recomend driving! The rooms offer some cooking facilities plus there is a nice bbq area to use. Service is always excellent and helpful. look forward to going back again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Motel is on Esplanade close to a range of restaurants so a good location. It is an old motel that has a partial make over. Don't stay here if you can't cope with mosquitoes or flying insects - only some screened windows. None on bathroom louvres that cannot be closed. Also, noise from adjacent rooms through thin walls.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shelly Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelly Beach Motel

Address: 510 Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Urangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Shelly Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelly Beach Motel Hervey Bay, Australia - Urangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelly Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.