We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, not value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shelly Beach Motel

Shelly Beach Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Shelly Beach Motel to your Saves list
Shelly Beach Motel
510 Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location, not value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Motel is on Esplanade close to a range of restaurants so a good location. It is an old motel that has a partial make over. Don't stay here if you can't cope with mosquitoes or flying insects - only some screened windows. None on bathroom louvres that cannot be closed. Also, noise from adjacent rooms through thin walls.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

here again - the street noise was the most annoying thing. especially sad given that all the rooms overlook the road - so we cant recommend rooms that could be more quite than others.
Not that close to most restaurants - a bit more than 1,5 km (close enough if you decide to drive, though)
On the contrary - the beach is right across the street, but the was noone in the water, so we didnt dare neither.
so if you sleep very well and came here for the beach or a trip to Fraser - a decent choice

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was a great place to stay. Rooms are average, but clean and with a kitchenette. The hosts were friendly, helpful, and overall fantastic. Get that great small town comfort. Laundry is available. Across the street is beach access for a nice stoll along the water. Sunsets are amazing here. It's centrally located, short drive to plenty of restaurants to the west, short drive to the marina to the east. Otherwise very quiet and comfortable. They even stayed up late for our late arrival (just contact ahead). They respond to emails quite quickly compared to many other places we stayed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gove, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our family of 6 booked 2 rooms in January this year on our trip from Sydney to Darwin. The motel is a lil dated in its decor and if you are looking for luxury you will probably be disapointed. We were looking for a cheap place for one night and it had everything we needed, there was even a bbq outside for us to cook our breakfast before we left in the morning. Id recommend Shelly beach to anyone looking for a cheap, no fuss motel to stay on there way through, if i was staying for a few days i might look elsewhere

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Shelly Beach motel the night before & after our Fraser Island trip and it ticked all the boxes. The rooms were all individually furnished to a lovely cosy standard, it is clear that the owners take real pride in their appearance. Everything was clean and nothing was too much trouble - we were even allowed to leave our car under the canopy for the night we were at Fraser Island. There's not a lot of restaurants or bars though within walking distance, except for the Raging Bull approx. 400yds away where we had the most amazing steak ever so what else could we possibly want?!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I only stayed here one night but we really enjoyed it and we wished we could have had longer. We had a top (3rd) floor 1 bedroom unit which had a very private balcony overlooking the esplanade and beach. The weather was unfortunately quite Rainey but we enjoyed a wine on the balcony and watching the world go by! For dinner we went to the restaurant right next door and loved it! The unit was spacious, clean and the bed was comfy - everything we could want! We would definitely recommend this place for great location and comfort and will go back next time we are visiting Hervey Bay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this motel for 4 nights in January 2013. Motel has a nice friendly atmosphere. Rooms are basic but clean and spacious. Tours from Fraser Island pick up from this motel. Nice restaurants within walking distance and best of all the beach at a stones throw away!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelly Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelly Beach Motel

Address: 510 Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Shelly Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelly Beach Motel Hervey Bay, Australia - Urangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelly Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.