We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Serendipitous Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelly Beach Motel

Save Saved
You added Shelly Beach Motel to your Saves list
Shelly Beach Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shelly Beach Motel
510 Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Urangan
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Serendipitous Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Okay, let me tell you right away that if you're used to staying at the Hyatt, you probably aren't going to be happy here. This little gem of a motel is a funky tiny motel run by two sisters (who live on the premises) who are an absolute hoot! While it ain't the Hyatt, our room was larger than most in this price range, and all rooms face the ocean. The beds were GOOD (important for those of us with back problems!) and everything is very, very clean. But the best thing about this place is the sisters! Most of our contact was with Deb when we stayed, and she is a fun-loving hostess. You feel like you're staying in her home. One of the sisters is available any time of day or night (there's a cow bell you ring if they're not in the office or their apartment!). They were cheerful and helpful with all questions and requests. If Deb didn't know the answer she researched it or called someone. She directed us to a family-owned whale watching boat that gave us an incredible price and ride (yes, we saw dozens of humpbacks playing in the bay). Enough said. We'd come back here next time no matter what kind of budget we had, just for the friendliness of the gals!

The only drawback is that the motel is not located near the town center, and you need to take a taxi. On the other hand, we had an extremely uncrowned beach combing experience precisely because we weren't close to the crowds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We needed a one night stay in Hervey Bay, so based on tripadvisor we booked one night at this Motel. The owners are super friendly and all the rooms are clean and tidy. They have also personalised each room. They are of course a bit dated, but the bed was reasonably firm and we enjoyed our stay. The price of $90 was pretty good value for a great place..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Thanks to the wonderful sisters who run this delightful motel, your friendliness and kind hospitality will ensure we will be back again . I am on crutches at the moment, so a careful look reassured me all would be well, although care needed to be taken with the front and entry step and the shower entry.
The position was great for our needs, all rooms have a view of the bay, and the gardens and grounds are fabulous, beautifully maintained ! Good work . Our room was homely, clean and spacious, with some very lovely touches to make you feel at home. The linen was crisp and fresh.
We did not avail ourselves of the very reasonably priced breakfast, however we went to dinner at the boat club which was just a short distance away.
no need to pay big prices on accommodation, this was as lovely as we have stayed at and about a third of the price. Our room was ample for an overnight or a month with all you need on hand.

Room Tip: We stayed ground floor for convenience, and heard no traffic noise, although I guess level one would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night in a queen room, cost $87. We arrived in the evening and left early the next morning so didn't spend a lot of time here. However, we found this motel served it's purpose for this short stopover well. The room was large, with a good kitchenette. Furnishing were dated. The bathroom windown couldn't be closed so it was cold. The two ladies that run the motel were very friendly. The motel is located a short drive from the town centre. The price was reasonable for what you get.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscote, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Hi we stayed at this motel in July last year and had a fantastic stay. The sisters are the best hosts. The location, the rooms, the BBQ area were perfect for our stay. Just by chance i revisited trip advisor and saw the review from from around the same time we visited, that family couldn't have been at the same Motel as us. We have just booked to come again in July 2012 and are staying longer. Great Motel, Great Hosts, Great Location

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stay two nights at the Shelly beach motel and it was a good surprise.
The staff (i think she is the owner) was very friendly and helpfull.
The room is big, clean and well decorated.
In the room there is a big kitchen with lot of tools at disposal, in the garden there a BBQ for the guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I have stayed at this motel a few times over the years mainly for a complete rest and recharge. The owners, two lovely vivacious sisters, are always so helpful.......nothing is ever too much trouble.
The beds are very comfortable and the rooms well self contained......a full sized fridge, frypan etc. It is an older motel but the rooms are spacious and have new televisions with user friendly remote controls. The rooms are air conditioned and also have fans which for me is a must.
The back area has a huge well kept lawn and garden with lots of space for boats and extra vehicles. There is also a well self contained gazebo with barbecue.The motel is opposite the beach, perfect for a swim or stroll.
I can't recommend this beautiful, quirky little motel highly enough for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shelly Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelly Beach Motel

Address: 510 Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Urangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Shelly Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelly Beach Motel Hervey Bay, Australia - Urangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelly Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.