We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay overnight..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelly Beach Motel

Save Saved
You added Shelly Beach Motel to your Saves list
Shelly Beach Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shelly Beach Motel
510 Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Urangan
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay overnight..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We needed a one night stay in Hervey Bay, so based on tripadvisor we booked one night at this Motel. The owners are super friendly and all the rooms are clean and tidy. They have also personalised each room. They are of course a bit dated, but the bed was reasonably firm and we enjoyed our stay. The price of $90 was pretty good value for a great place..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Thanks to the wonderful sisters who run this delightful motel, your friendliness and kind hospitality will ensure we will be back again . I am on crutches at the moment, so a careful look reassured me all would be well, although care needed to be taken with the front and entry step and the shower entry.
The position was great for our needs, all rooms have a view of the bay, and the gardens and grounds are fabulous, beautifully maintained ! Good work . Our room was homely, clean and spacious, with some very lovely touches to make you feel at home. The linen was crisp and fresh.
We did not avail ourselves of the very reasonably priced breakfast, however we went to dinner at the boat club which was just a short distance away.
no need to pay big prices on accommodation, this was as lovely as we have stayed at and about a third of the price. Our room was ample for an overnight or a month with all you need on hand.

Room Tip: We stayed ground floor for convenience, and heard no traffic noise, although I guess level one would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night in a queen room, cost $87. We arrived in the evening and left early the next morning so didn't spend a lot of time here. However, we found this motel served it's purpose for this short stopover well. The room was large, with a good kitchenette. Furnishing were dated. The bathroom windown couldn't be closed so it was cold. The two ladies that run the motel were very friendly. The motel is located a short drive from the town centre. The price was reasonable for what you get.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscote, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Hi we stayed at this motel in July last year and had a fantastic stay. The sisters are the best hosts. The location, the rooms, the BBQ area were perfect for our stay. Just by chance i revisited trip advisor and saw the review from from around the same time we visited, that family couldn't have been at the same Motel as us. We have just booked to come again in July 2012 and are staying longer. Great Motel, Great Hosts, Great Location

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stay two nights at the Shelly beach motel and it was a good surprise.
The staff (i think she is the owner) was very friendly and helpfull.
The room is big, clean and well decorated.
In the room there is a big kitchen with lot of tools at disposal, in the garden there a BBQ for the guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I have stayed at this motel a few times over the years mainly for a complete rest and recharge. The owners, two lovely vivacious sisters, are always so helpful.......nothing is ever too much trouble.
The beds are very comfortable and the rooms well self contained......a full sized fridge, frypan etc. It is an older motel but the rooms are spacious and have new televisions with user friendly remote controls. The rooms are air conditioned and also have fans which for me is a must.
The back area has a huge well kept lawn and garden with lots of space for boats and extra vehicles. There is also a well self contained gazebo with barbecue.The motel is opposite the beach, perfect for a swim or stroll.
I can't recommend this beautiful, quirky little motel highly enough for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

My family and friends hired out this motel for my wedding recently and could not have been happier. The rooms were clean and tidy and had a real homely feel. Yes this is an older Motel but it is value for money on the beach! I have stayed all over Australia and no where can you get a room for around $100 on the beach front? We had a fantastic time there taking advantage of the amazing rotunda with fully equipped bbq and fridge they have on grounds, that we could use to cook the fish we caught whilst on our fishing charter.
I am disapointed someone could write such bad reveiw on such a great motel, they are not a 5 Star motel and that is what is so great about it, take the advice of the 4 other people that enjoyed it like myself and stay at the Shelly Beach Motel

Room Tip: All rooms with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelly Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelly Beach Motel

Address: 510 Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Urangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Shelly Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelly Beach Motel Hervey Bay, Australia - Urangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelly Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.