We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boat Harbour Resort

Save Saved
You added Boat Harbour Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boat Harbour Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   651-652 Charlton Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Urangan
Gympie, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Chose this resort as it seemed value for money. Manager Robin was extremely helpful when I was trying to arrange things for my husband's 60th birthday. Upon arrival we were very happy with our studio room overlooking the pool. Facilities are everything you need. Room was lovely and clean and well appointed. Pool was pristine and we enjoyed an early morning swim. The area is nice and quiet, not too much traffic and just across from the water if you wish to go for a swim. Handy to the Boat Club and other restaurants. Will definitely recommend to others who are wanting to go to Hervey Bay for a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Seeking only one night prior to travelling to Fraser Island we chose the Boat Harbour Resort from the web. We found prices for accommodation in Hervey Bay to be on the high side, given the supply. The Resort is more like a motel and located at Urangan in a quiet area. Our room was on the lower floor in a two storey timber block and had a timber rustic look. Our balcony overlooked vacant land towards Moonlyn Street. It was quiet though with timber floors you could hear those above moving about. Our standard studio unit ($120) was well equipped, kitchenette with plenty of timber cupboards and including hotplates. Fridge was a typical bar fridge. Bed was comfortable, with reasonable linen. Table was out on the balcony. The bathroom had shower over a small bath which made the shower somewhat awkward to enter. The front door providing access to the balcony, was a big glass slider with security insect mesh outer that provided the only means we could find of locking the room. We had a kookaburra to breakfast on the balcony. The car was under cover, just outside the room, with pool across carpark. It’s a fair walk to local sights and the main Esplanade, but easy 10 minute walk to the wharf and Boat Club where we dined. The manager was friendly on greeting and departure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auzkiwi, Manager at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and we trust you will visit us again. We acknowledge the fact that our building is getting older (it was built in 1996 out of Fraser Island hardwood with carpeted timber flooring) so is it is very hard to totally eliminate hearing someone above if they move around a lot at night. Maybe next time you try our deluxe units upstairs. All our return guests are give a discount off the rate of the day on all future stays. Great to have you stay with us and trust your trip home was without incident. Robin & Rosalind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was our second stay at Boat Harbour Resort, having previously stayed in 2011 - we liked both the resort and Hervey Bay so much that this was the first place we booked for our 2013 trip to Australia. The manager Robin is very friendly and helpful (including finding my daughter's lost cellphone after we had left and getting it back to us), and the units, while not looking very fancy from the outside, are very clean, comfortable and very well equipped. Ours had a dishwasher, washing machine and dryer, good cooker, microwave, toaster, etc - all the things that you really need for self-catering holidays, especially when touring around - and a garage. The resort is in a quiet spot, away from the main beaches (about a 5-minute drive to Urangan Pier, maybe 10 minutes to Torquay beaches and 15 minutes to Scarness). There's a small but nice beach just across the road, and it's a short walk to the harbour where you can go on the whale-watching tours for which Hervey Bay is famous. The nearest shopping centre is about a 5-minute drive away as well. There is a small pool, but with lots of lovely calm sea nearby we didn't use it much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our room was clean and spacious with kitchen, TV and bathroom, next to the room there was a swimming pool though the season didn´t invite to have a bath. Very kind owner. We chose it because its proximity to Fraser Magic 4WD where we hired a 4WD to visit Fraser Island and have no complains about them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auzkiwi, General Manager at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for thegreat review. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Australia and had great experiences where ever you stayed. Robin & Rosalind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We found Boat Harbour Resort when stranded in Hervey Bay during the floods (Jan 2013) the Managers were extremely helpful & caring, they couldn't do enough for you. The pool was clean & very inviting once the rain cleared. Rooms are a little dated but good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auzkiwi, Owner at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We were more than happy to look after these guests along with others who were also trapped in Hervey Bay because of the weather conditions. We are here to please and want guests to go away having had a good experience and maybe want to return to our place whenever in the Fraser Coast region in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at the boat harbour resort room 10 on monday 28 and Tuesday 29/01/2013 as we were caught out in the floods which stopped my family getting back to Brisbane.
I must say that we were made very welcome by the managment team who were very sympathetic with our situation. We were given a reduced rate and was kept informed about the present situation and the outlook on roads that were going to reopen.
I cannot thank them enough, and would highly recommend this resort to anyone who loves a very clean and modern room in a great location.
I will be back soon for a holiday.
Thank you so much for everything you did for myself and family.
Gary and Rachel Ditchfield

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auzkiwi, General Manager at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
All we can say is thank you for the great review and we were pleased that everyone was safe & dry and we also enjoyed your company & having you all stay with us even though it was not planned. We look foward to you staying with us again soon.
Robin & Rosalind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed 3 nights here & loved it. Very peaceful, quite surrounds with beach across the road. Stayed in 2 bedroom villa which was roomy & had everything you need (kitchen + utensils, laundry + dryer, deck etc.) The villa was very clean & well maintained. Price wise this is probably one of the (if not the) best places we have stayed. Located at Urangan you are close enough to walk to the boat harbour but a short drive from the main areas which we liked as you can return to peace & quite out of the noise/crowds. Can't recommend highly enough - we will certainly return again if back in Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auzkiwi, Manager at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for the great review and we are pleased your enjoyed your stay with us. The weather has been great in the main here in Hervey Bay for your stay and we look forward to your return to stay with us should you return to our region in the future. Robin & Rosalind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boat Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boat Harbour Resort

Address: 651-652 Charlton Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Urangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boat Harbour Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hervey Bay's Boat Harbour Resort is the ideal accommodation choice when staying on the Fraser Coast. Hervey Bay is the Whale Watching Capital of the world and the Gateway to Fraser Island. Book your accommodation with Boat Harbour Resort and enjoy all the activities and aspect of Hervey Bay, Fraser Island and the Fraser Coast. Our unique beach front resort is nestled amongst lush tropical gardens and a crystal clear pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Boat Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Harbour Hotel
Boat Harbour Resort Hervey Bay, Australia - Urangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boat Harbour Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.