We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boat Harbour Resort

Save Saved
You added Boat Harbour Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boat Harbour Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   651-652 Charlton Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Urangan
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Caring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at the boat harbour resort room 10 on monday 28 and Tuesday 29/01/2013 as we were caught out in the floods which stopped my family getting back to Brisbane.
I must say that we were made very welcome by the managment team who were very sympathetic with our situation. We were given a reduced rate and was kept informed about the present situation and the outlook on roads that were going to reopen.
I cannot thank them enough, and would highly recommend this resort to anyone who loves a very clean and modern room in a great location.
I will be back soon for a holiday.
Thank you so much for everything you did for myself and family.
Gary and Rachel Ditchfield

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auzkiwi, General Manager at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
All we can say is thank you for the great review and we were pleased that everyone was safe & dry and we also enjoyed your company & having you all stay with us even though it was not planned. We look foward to you staying with us again soon.
Robin & Rosalind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mudgee, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed 3 nights here & loved it. Very peaceful, quite surrounds with beach across the road. Stayed in 2 bedroom villa which was roomy & had everything you need (kitchen + utensils, laundry + dryer, deck etc.) The villa was very clean & well maintained. Price wise this is probably one of the (if not the) best places we have stayed. Located at Urangan you are close enough to walk to the boat harbour but a short drive from the main areas which we liked as you can return to peace & quite out of the noise/crowds. Can't recommend highly enough - we will certainly return again if back in Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auzkiwi, Manager at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for the great review and we are pleased your enjoyed your stay with us. The weather has been great in the main here in Hervey Bay for your stay and we look forward to your return to stay with us should you return to our region in the future. Robin & Rosalind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Turramurra, NSW Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I took a leisurely trip north from Sydney stopping at spots both mainstream and a little different. We'd had enough of the smart high rise self contained apartments and decided on Boat Harbour Resort. How wonderfully refreshing. We booked a two bedroom bungalow and were very impressed by the quality of the appointments particularly at the price we were paying. The bathroom/ensuite did not have the appointments (marble, granite etc) of top end accommodation but the garden setting, tropical deck to sit and have breakfast, walk across to the beach for a swim (at hight tide) and friendly/helpful owners put it at the top of our return destinations - well Heron Island was good but more to do at Hervey Bay. We will go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed at Boat Harbour Resort in August. Owners were very welcoming and helpful. Rooms are small but tidy and all we needed for a two night stay.

Only complaint is that we could hear every noise made by the people above us - so I would recommend an upstairs room.

Great value for money and would stay again in future.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My partner, 2 kids (3 and 4 yrs) stayed in a groundfloor studio apartment this long weekend.

Apartment was well equipped with fridge, microwave etc. and very clean. The bathroom could be considered a little dated (not tired though) I guess if you wanted to be REALLY fussy in terms of decor - but as said - very clean and we had plenty of room and I would not say it was tired looking.

Robin the manager had been good enough to follow up a VERY last minute request for any availability for the long weekend and he was pleasant to deal with over the phone.

The apartments are right across the road from a nice stretch of beach - handy with the kids. The pool was also tried and tested - but very cold as the weather wasn't great. Pool area was clean and well equipped with chairs, sun loungers, BBQ etc. I didn't see a shower at the pool though?

We arrived late on Friday night - we didn't call the manager (who was due to be away) as he had suggested as I had spoken earlier to his relief Manager Jon - who again was pleasant to deal with over the phone and provided the code etc. we needed to retrieve keys for late arrival.
Again the next morning Jon was pleasant to deal with, but could not confirm if we could have a slightly later checkout at the end of our stay - which wasn't all that big an issue.

On our last day my partner went over to settle our bill and to ask for a little extra checkout time. The lady in reception didn't seem very keen unfortunately - but the manager was very nice and he said it would be fine - which we were grateful for.

Would definitely stay here again, the manager seemed very nice and going that extra mile where he could in letting us stay on a little longer. Its the little things that people remember and bring guests back. When I went over to return the key, I smiled and said thanks very much to the lady for allowing us the extra time - but didn't get much of a response. :( This would not stop us returning though. We had a car and so it didn't matter that it wasn't right in the thick of happenings on the Esplanade and am sure the town gets noisy at night - so was very happy with our stay!!

Room Tip: if you don't like sound of footsteps choose non-ground floor... if you like loads of room, then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for just 1 night and were pleasantly surprised. The room we was a studio and it had plenty of space, plus a nice veranda overlooking the pool and beach. The resort is located near the marina and boat club so lots of choice for restaurants etc. The book in was quick and efficient and we certainly would recommend this resort to all of our friends. Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Our room was Unit 10 **excellent**
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikanae, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedrom villa which was excellent for 10 days. It was well equipped with full kitchen and laundry facilities. The villa was very clean and had a great decked outdoor area. Away from the noise and hustle of the main Esplanade area, it was a short stroll to Boat Harbour Marina where all the whale boats and trips to Fraser Island leave from and where there are also excellent economical dining places, the Boat Club is one fine example. Local buses leave close by and the drivers are pleasant and very helpful to visitors who are not familiar with the area and it's attractions. We enjoyed the walks and the harbour itself is beautiful. Local seafood is plentiful and inexpensive. Resort Managers Robin and Rosalind were extremely welcoming and helpful, they had all the local information to hand and gave excellent advice on choices of tours etc. They really made an effort to make us feel at home. We highly recommend Boat Harbour Resort.

Room Tip: We found the rear villa excellent but it probably wouldn't matter which one really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auzkiwi, General Manager at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you Richard & Sandra for the great review we are pleased you both enjoyed your stay and the weather we arranged for you. Probably not as good back in wellington though but some of us to suffer the cold climates. Look forward to you & your friends staying with us in future. Best regards Robin & Roz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boat Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boat Harbour Resort

Address: 651-652 Charlton Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Urangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boat Harbour Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hervey Bay's Boat Harbour Resort is the ideal accommodation choice when staying on the Fraser Coast. Hervey Bay is the Whale Watching Capital of the world and the Gateway to Fraser Island. Book your accommodation with Boat Harbour Resort and enjoy all the activities and aspect of Hervey Bay, Fraser Island and the Fraser Coast. Our unique beach front resort is nestled amongst lush tropical gardens and a crystal clear pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Boat Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Harbour Hotel
Boat Harbour Resort Hervey Bay, Australia - Urangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boat Harbour Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.