We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Balaena

Cafe Balaena
7 Buccaneer Drive Hervey Bay, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
07 4125 4799
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Urangan
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Have been here a number of times and the food is always outstanding - only thing that lets it down is the service!! Perhaps they could have more staff on so the wait for meals and drinks isn't so long. I tend to agree with some of the below reviews - 30mins wait for a drink and over an hour for a meal isn't what you want people to be talking about! Having said that we had a lovely girl serve us (Sam I think) and I think the Manager should have more staff like her.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    145
    53
    43
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fraser Coast
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good coffee, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I have been visiting Balaena for many years now - originally for dinners before I moved to the bay, but now more for breakfast and lunch. Rarely has the food been anything but very good although service is variable depending on how busy things are. However, the cafe has some of the best coffee in the bay and a particularly good breakfast (as tested again on this latest visit!). The atmosphere is relaxed - it is nice to just look over the deck and watch the fish & seagulls :). If you are staying down that end of the bay, you should not miss it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

The view over the harbour is lovely and the service is good. My partner and I ordered a steak each. We asked for medium and it was cooked rare. We paid $30 for a reef and beef which we thought was cheap. Can see why it was $10 cheaper than most restaurants for the same thing.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vic, australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“was sick all night”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

happened to walk by without a booking.

our 1st night in the bay, waited in the bar for about 20 minutes for a table.

staff very busy, to catch there attention took a while each time.

big menu and whilst eyeing other tables there were plenty of steak dishes going out looking very nice. wish we had ordered steak instead!

daughter had wedges with bacon and cheese and we needed mayo as they were so dry.
hubby had whiting and chips and was nothing special.

I had the thai calamari salad,
was the same salad as what my hubby has as garnish on his fish and chips to much cabbage in it so was hard to chew and got very boring.very little thai sauce just a splach around the plate.
calamari seemed okay but was sitting heavy.

had a walk back to apartment of about 2k and the whole way the stomach pains started.

within and hour i spend the rest of the night being sick.

Not great won't be back this holiday.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nth of Brizzy
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great food ... odd service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The manager of The Breakfree Resort recommended this restaurant and with the fantastic sounding menu in the room we were excited to go so we called to book a table for 8 on our first night (two families). We were told that bookings weren't necessary so we asked if they were usually busy at 6.30pm and were told "Yes you probably need to get here earlier than that" so we headed down at 5.45pm. The first question we were asked was "Do you have a booking" when we said no because we were told they didn't take them we were told they couldn't seat us. So we went to the Boat Club (which was great).

We tried twice more to make a booking, once they couldn't take the booking because they were full and we were successful on our third attempt although they were very particular about making it a 6pm booking which we assumed was to get us in and out. This didn't bother us as we had four children with us however as we still hadn't eaten by 7.15pm they didn't appear to be in a hurry.

When our food arrived at 7.20pm one meal did not. The meals that did arrive were lovely ie. hickory smoked steak, reef ranger, chicken udon noodles, caesar salad, whiting fillets & two kids lasagnas but when the final meal, baramundi with a rocket & spinach salad, did arrive about 8 minutes later not only was the fish dry but the salad was the stock standard one served with every meal, not the rocket & spinach as per the menu. We ordered four desserts, all were lovely. The coffee was good. We left the restaurant around 9pm.

The staff were friendly and attentive when around but service was a bit hit and miss and food service was slow, particularly as we had an early booking due to having children with us.

This is a great restaurant with fantastic food. I'd recommend it outside of holiday periods when the lack of crowds should ensure better service.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Balaena also viewed

Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 

Been to Cafe Balaena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Balaena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.