We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the detour- if you're in decent physical condition, wear sturdy shoes and allow plenty of time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Peyrepertuse

Chateau de Peyrepertuse
Duilhac-sous-Peyrepertuse, France
0482532407
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Architectural Buildings
Attraction Details
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Well worth the detour- if you're in decent physical condition, wear sturdy shoes and allow plenty of time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Don't believe the chateau's promise of a 15-minute walk- Allow up to an hour each direction (You may feel like you are "going uphill both ways"!), on a rocky path which can be slippery when wet.(We were caught in a late afternoon lightning storm ). Even though I was muttering under my breath with every twist and turn on this strenuous hike , the destination was worth the climb--absolutely one of the highlights of our trip . you will feel like you are back in the Middle ages , and also at the end of the world . Allow enough time to explore the various chambers once you reach the top . (note- you will have to return the same way you came up). Audio guides are available, but they aren't rented during the last hour or so that the chateau is open. (Note- once you reach the top, you may want (as i did) a "trophy 'poster , available for sale at the shop at the Chateau de Queribus site.Also, you may want to make this your single outing for the day (not the last stop in ruined-chateau-hopping as we did!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    37
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wageningen
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Did not ruin our day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

When they wanted to defend something in the Middle ages, they went out of their way. If you drive here from the south, you only have a limited view of the castle. You have to make a serius effort to walk around the mountain to the other side and only then you see the size of this castle. Even inside the castle you are physically challenged, but it is worth it. There are probably better preserved or restored castles but this is one of the most impressive ones we've visited ever. Worth a trip even if you are here for the beaches around Perpignan.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Historical Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

You won't quite believe it can be where it is. Castle ruins on top of a rocky mountain peak. Wonderful views from the top. It's a rocky path all the way to the top, but not as strenuous as I expected. Avoid poor foot ware, training shoes are fine. Audio guide is poor, so best to read a bit before visiting. So much better than the tourist hell of Carcassonne.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top class top of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A truly great experience. A brilliant view of some truly amazing scenery while walking through amazing history. Great walk but be prepared as its not flat and smooth!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A must see visit - you need to be fit!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This old Cathar ruin is one of four. We had a GPS in our car which made it easy for us to find
The location. You must have a reasonable level of fitness to go to the ruin. After you pay
The entrance fee there is a quite a rugged climb to get to the site. They say it takes 15 minutes
But we didn't time it but I'm sure it took us a bit longer. You definitely need proper shoes.
Once you have made it up to the ruin it's awe inspiring. To think how it must have been back
In time to actually live up there. I think this would be in my top 3 places to pick to see in
France you won't be disappointed. We were lucky to have a sunny for our visit. The weather
Can change so quickly up there. They're are ongoing renovations to preserve the heritage.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de Peyrepertuse also viewed

Pyrenees-Orientales, Languedoc-Roussillon
 
Perpignan, Pyrenees-Orientales
 

Been to Chateau de Peyrepertuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Peyrepertuse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chateau de Peyrepertuse to your Saves list