We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No internet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Gold Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Gold Beach to your Saves list
Residence Gold Beach
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rue Devonshire Regiment, 14960 Asnelles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Kyllburg, Germany
2 reviews
“No internet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Walls were thin...beds were very uncomfortable (pull out sofa). Kind of a dump but the hotel was cheap. My family of four stayed over Memorial Day weekend for under 300 euros (3 nights). Again...No INTERNET! They cannot fix it...so don't ask!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spangdahlem, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We loved our recent stay at this hotel. The family room was clean and comfortable - even the sleeper sofa with a pillow top. We were able to cook in the room which helped with costs. The hotel is a block away from Gold Beach which is one of the D-Day Beaches and an easy drive to the other beaches, D-Day sights, Caen and Bayeau. The Wifi was really slow but we were on vacation! This is a standard European hotel without a lot of extras but the price, cleanliness, location and wonderful staff more than made up for it. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at one of the apartments together with my boyfriend and it was a great stay. The apartment has a good size and was very cheap. It is really close to gold beach and we also had ocean view from the room. The best thing about this place though is the staff. We arrived quite late and the reception had closed. It was however possible to call a number and after doing this we were greeted by a very friendly person. During the whole stay the owners were very service minded and it made us feel really welcome. I would recommend this to everyone visiting the area!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've been there in May and had some really good times. The rooms are big and very comfortable, the staff is friendly and professional, they prepare some excellent breakfast (including home made cakes, eggs, bacon etc..) and the small town of Asnelles is right in front of the beach and an easy place where you can start if you want to reach all the most beautiful places along the shore. Not to forget the free wi-fi and the small kitchen included in the room where you can prepare your own launch. A TV is also available in the room. Highly suggested!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accokeek, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wow!! We stayed at gold beach based on the other travelers good reviews and were severely disappointed! I can only imagine the hotel has doctored them to make them look better. To start the wifi is horrible!, or should I say it just doesn't work. When we complained they reset it, which didn't help, then said "well, it works for me! I guess I must just be a bad host." Yup! You were a bad host. The beds are pull out couches! Yes, you read that right, PULL OUT COUCHES!! And not comfortable ones.

I was going to say at least the place was clean, then we opened the fridge, which smelled like the last occupants had squeezed themselves in and died in there. Seriously! Enough to knock you out each time we opened the door. And obviously it hadn't been cleaned well because my husband found someone else's socks under the bed. I mean, really, all they had to do was fold up the bed to clean under there, LOL!!

Then to top it all off, the bathroom door locked us in. I was showering and hubby came in to use the toilet. Not sure why he closed the door, but he slid it shut and it locked. Took about 15 minutes of jiggling and pushing for us to finally get it open.
The best part about this hotel is its proximity to the awesome restaurant across the street. But since you can drive or walk there I would strongly recommend staying elsewhere.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a very nice 2 day stay at gold beach. Superior double room excellent just like a little house. Better than a hotel room. Good value for money. Good breakfast choices. Staff friendly. A special thanks to Marco, I mentioned wifi not working, he got on the phone straight away, later that evening I had wifi. He was always pleasant and it was nice to be greeted with a smile. If we are in this area again will definitely stay here. Location great for visiting beaches. Area beside hotel a bit of a letdown but looks like it may be for sale. Would recommend. Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We chose this hotel for its location, and did not expect too much, but were pleasantly surprised, the staff were very friendly (Italian) and helpful, the accommodation was all you would need. Rooms were spacious, beds were good, the sitting area and kitchenette were nicely furnished. The only thing I would say is that an English speaking channel on TV would have been welcomed.We were unfortunate that there were having wifi problems while we were there but the manager did try his best to sort things out, he even gave us access to their own wifi to get us online. Breakfast was also quite nice, but you have to let them know in advance if you will take it as this is a small hotel without a large kitchen. Would gladly go back there. There is also plently of parking at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Gold Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Gold Beach

Address: Rue Devonshire Regiment, 14960 Asnelles, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Asnelles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Asnelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Gold Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Gold Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Gold Beach Asnelles, Basse-Normandie, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Gold Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.