We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow wow wow...!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp

Save Saved
You added Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kapellestraat 146, Oostkamp 8020, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oostkamp
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow wow wow...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We booked this hotel for a single night as part of a short weekend in Bruges. The reviews and photos looked good, but it still did not prepare me for just how nice this hotel would be!

First let me start with the location. We went by car so we needed somewhere we could park but within easy access to Bruges itself. This hotel was perfect for that. It was easy to find and there was ample parking.

The hotel itself is very well maintained. The entrance and reception area provide a flavour of what is to come. I am not sure how to describe the style (have a look at the photos), maybe modern art deco...? Anyway, this style is carried on through the hotel and into the bedrooms. There is a really luxurious feel about the place.

The reception staff were welcoming and helpful. Everything went very smoothly. We found our room easily. The room itself was fantastic! It is easily the biggest room we have ever stayed in, but also the most comfortable and luxurious (sorry to use that word again but couldn't find a better one...). The bed was enormous, with a really comfortable mattress. The decoration and furnishings all showed the same impeccable taste as the rest of the hotel. The wall-mounted flat panel tv showed english channels including BBC and ITV. The bathroom had a rain shower and bath, and a slate floor, again all finished to the highest standards. We had planned to drop our stuff and head into Bruges for the evening, but we were so enchanted by the hotel, we decided to have dinner there and make the most of our stay (including the comfortable bed..) ;-)

The hotel restaurant was lovely, and the dinner delicious. Prices are probably a little higher than could be found elsewhere, but having said that, it was so nice and the attention to detail so great that it was worth paying a little extra.

When we headed back up to the room, we wanted to turn the heating up a little as it was very cold that night, however the heating wouldn't work. We called reception and they sent someone up straightaway with a convection heater, which did the job nicely. (They would have moved us except there were no free rooms available).

The rain shower in the morning was lovely (with room enough for two). We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as my other half doesn't really do breakfast anyway, so at 16 euros that would have been a bit expensive. That is probably my only gripe, that the breakfast costs so much. Had it been say 10 euros per person we probably would have gone for it. As it was, we headed into Bruges and found a cafe on the Markt square that was buzzing and had a good mix of options (waffles with banana and chocolate for me, and a croque monsieur (toasted sandwich) for him. Yummmm!

To sum up, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. We got a really good deal price-wise, especially compared to hotels in Bruges itself, and got a lot for our money, so to speak. It's only a shame that we weren't staying longer, but we'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    133
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
55
175
4
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brussels
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Very good hotel at 7 km from the center of Bruges. Large rooms with walk-in shower, airco, terrace, flatscreen tv, desk, mini-bar at very reasonable prices (2 EUR for beer or coca), wired internet in room, wireless internet in restaurant and lobby, fitness, jacuzzi, ...
The hotel is situated near the highway from brussels to ostend, which can be noisy in summer with open window, but which give no problem in winter period.
Excellent breakfast buffet with fresh orange juice, fruits, eggs, bacon, pastries, coffee,... at 16 eur.
A tip: if you want to go to bruges, go by car and park your car at the railway station of bruges. The parking fee is very limited (2,5 eur for a whole day) and entitles you of a free bus ticket for all passengers to the city center. (1,5 km from railway station)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

This hotel is sandwiched between a motorway and a busy road but we still found it very pleasant.

It's located around 7km from Brugges and offers plenty of free parking (something not easy found in Brugges). Check-in was straightforward and we found our room very spacey, and nicely decorated with a modern feel.

Service throughout the hotel was very good, with the bar staff in particular being friendly and helpful. We thought the restaurant was a bit pricey but found a few local restaurants nearly which offered much better value.

Only only compliant was that the mattress wasn't in the best condition, it seems to rise in the middle which meant sleep wasn't perfect.

Otherwise for an overnight stay, this is a very good option.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed at the Van Der Valk while visiting Brugge..Ican honestly say that this hotel was maybe the best hotel we have stayed in europe.The bedroom was very large and very plush,the bed was so comfortable that we overslept and missed breakfast.The bathroom had a very nice shower plus a large bath.The other plus note was that we had a balcony so i did't have to go downstairs for a smoke.This hotel is only 10mins from the center of brugge so why pay overpriced hotels in brugge.
.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Exellent hotel,6 km outside Brugge,near highway...so,you can hear noise.Great restaurant, delicious food and good service.Cosy atmosphere,cosy and clean rooms... wellness space,free internet,price is fair, you need time to get to center of Brugge (the bus stop is around 1 km from hotel) taxi costs 19,50 euro from hotel to Brugge..Oostkamp town,very small town with locals,no tourist.We enjoyed our stay at hotel,and we will recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

I think that this hotel is the best choice if you travel by car from Brugge to Brussels or back.
Big good rooms, good breakfast with fresh orange juice strawberry and lots of fresh fruits. Sauna, jacuzzi and fitness room to relax before the trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Having driven all day from the east of Germany this looked like the ideal stop over before the Channel tunnel to the UK, just over an hour away and literally just off the main highway.

First impressions were good, clean bright hotel with friendly reception..........room very pleasant with large en suite

Having booked dinner I was looking forward to a steak or something similar.........however the waitress brusquely told us the menu was only in Dutch.....which to the non dutch speaker does not yield many clues as to the content.

I requested one in English.......not possible!......in French?......not possible.........in German perhaps?.............not possible.

We both ended up with an adequate venison steak with minimal vegetables, which frankly left us still hungry.

To find a hotel in a time warp in terms of ability to communicate with the outside world was bizarre..........so I could not recommend to anyone as I don't know anyone Dutch......to them it may be heaven......to me......?.not so!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp

Address: Kapellestraat 146, Oostkamp 8020, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Oostkamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oostkamp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.