We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp

Save Saved
You added Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kapellestraat 146, Oostkamp 8020, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Oostkamp
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is next to the motorway at Oostkamp, which is about a 15-20 minute taxi ride from central Bruges, but don't let that put you off. This was a fantastic find and excellent value for money.

The hotel is very modern and every room has a small balcony. Rooms are huge with bathrooms equally spacious. Ours had a big bath tub and separate shower with large wash hand basin. The bed was probably one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Even though we were in a room closest to the motorway, the sound proofing of the room meant that traffic noise was minimal.

Despite its distance from Bruges, the hotel will arrange a taxi for a fixed €19.50 price which we felt was good value as our return taxi (which was on the meter) came to just under €24.00.

Overall I was very impressed with this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    126
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
49
162
4
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Fantastic hotel, large clean room and wonderful bathroom. The bed was huge and so comfortable. I did worry that it might be noisy in the room given the close proximity to the motorway but the noise is barely audible, if at all.

The hotel staff were polite, welcoming and spoke excellent English.

The hotel is a good 15 minutes outside Brugge but as we had our car this was no problem.

I wouldn't hesitate to recomend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay near Brugge but only if you have your own transport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is quite a walk even from the centre of Oostkamp (10-15 mins), and then it's another 15-20 minutes bus ride to Bruges, so it's not the place to stay if you want to be central. We regularly stay in "business district" hotels, which tend to have cheap deals on weekends, but this is by far the furthest we've ended up from shops & restaurants. Also, note that there are very few buses on Sundays.

That said, the hotel itself is nice, with huge rooms (a definite advantage to being out of town) and plenty of room to spread out. It was a little dusty, and I found that the chairs in the room were more stylish (think space-age silver) than useful - mine tipped over if I didn't sit on it very carefully!

We didn't try the breakfast -- but we did find a very good value breakfast at Dag & Dauw cafe in Oostkamp centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is the my third stay with this Hotel Group and the second time at Oostkamp. It is about 5 miles outside Bruges and conveniently located on the E16 a straightforward drive from Calais with free parking. This time we made it a base for touring around Belgium and Holland.

The rooms are large and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful and the restaurant excellent. There is a fitness suite and pool but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently with my wife and two kids, very convenient off the motorway and only a few minutes drive from Brugge, with free parking at the hotel. Parking in Brugge is also quite reasonable when visiting however other hotels in the centre where expensive for overnight parking

We went for one of the packages which including chocolate tasting and a tour of the local chocolate museum. Dinner was included in the package which was excellent and offered a wide range of choices, Breakfast buffet was also great - Family room was very spacious offering a separate room for the kids along with play station. Only negative was the rooms had a bit of ware and tear but overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amersham
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days with friends.
An excellent well run hotel.
Room was superb as was food.
Good standard of service provided by friendly staff.
Car is needed for access to Bruges but other than that I recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor- a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a lovely choice, the rooms are vey good, with comfortable beds, really good size and superb bathroom.
Be aware of the distance from Brugge, it is not that feasible to cycle as the scenery is not great and it is a bit far (6km).
There is a bus but takes 10mins at least to walk to the bus stop, plus a 25mins journey.
The service at the bar and the restaurant is not up to 4 star rating.

Room Tip: The deluxe room was excellent, make sure you choose a room away from the ground floor which can be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp

Address: Kapellestraat 146, Oostkamp 8020, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Oostkamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Oostkamp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.