We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXTRA CHARGES FOR PAYING EFTPOS” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Toscanini's

Toscanini's
Shop 53 / 39 Southside Drive, Hillarys, Joondalup, Western Australia, Australia
(08) 9246 4406
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 42 Restaurants in Hillarys
Cuisines: Italian, Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“EXTRA CHARGES FOR PAYING EFTPOS”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Very average food , nothing to write to mum about. They charge 3% extra of the total bill for using EFTPOS, not a credit card but a cheque/savings account. This is a simple grab for extra money which has no justification. Would never go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    11
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Usa, Japan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“EXTRA CHARGES”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I see other people were charged for using their credit card well i was charged for just using my savings card as i did not have cash. The girl serving did not know what the charge was for?
as far as food was it was good but how can you really do a bad poched egg. Service to the table was good and nice clean enviornment.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

First time at this restaurant but wont be the last. Meals were huge and I can honestly say the stuffed chicken breast was the best chicken I have had anywhere. My teenagers were pretty happy with their large and tasty meals also. Staff were friendly, quick and polite.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I agree with the other two contributors. I have had several bad experiences here. Firstly they are charging 3% for using your debit or credit card. I asked for a fresh squeezed juice as advertised and it was a 3-4 day old juice as told by the waitress and manager but "brought in squeezed". It was horrid. Cost $7.50 disgusting. Food just average. Coffee awful. I took my overseas to another place deliberately as I knew they would be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balingup, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Let down big time!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Congratulations, another cafe has done it again, pretended to cook for large sums of money. Went to Toscaninis with some friends, they were great company, otherwise the night would have been terrible, we all order the seafood platter for 2, well the only thing recognizable was the chips, the salad was soggy and limp, seemed to have been dressed hours earlier, fish, which was whiting, was cooked beyond recognition, the homemade tartare was watery and tasted odd, prawns and calarmari where so small it was hard to taste their individual tastes and I'm sure the one oyster we were given each had been cut in half to make it go further, but that was hard to tell because it was so overcooked that it just sprang between your teeth.
You are better of staying at home, a frozen meal would have more taste.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toscanini's also viewed

Hillarys, Joondalup
 
Hillarys, Joondalup
 

Been to Toscanini's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toscanini's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.