We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week at Hillarys” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hillarys Harbour Resort Apartments

Save Saved
You added Hillarys Harbour Resort Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hillarys Harbour Resort Apartments
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   68 Southside Drive | Hillarys Boat Harbour, Hillarys, Joondalup, Western Australia 6025, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hillarys
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A week at Hillarys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Very nice location with lots of restaurants and bars and a few shops. I stayed here for a week whilst on business working at the Police College. Room was large (single bedroom) with very big lounge kitchen area. Clean and new linen every other day, be aware there are no shops to buy groceries so make sure you stop off at a supermarket before you arrive.

Room Tip: try to get one overlooking the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    35
    19
    8
    1
See reviews for
34
23
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the layout of the apartment was at first appearance, I didn’t mind the out dated furnishings either a bit of original charm and the secure parking was a Plus.
However Upon cooking a special meal for dinner at 9pm I began to get a multitude of unwanted visitors show up from under the fridge and the second bedroom (which was locked)
The Cockroaches were ranging from adults to babies crawling all over the benches, the cooking area, the fridge and even the ceiling!
There was no bug spray to kill them either
Not Happy about this I tried to call Reception but they had already gone home for the night.

So I barricaded ourselves in the bedroom stuffing the door with a sheet to stop them coming in.

Upon calling Reception In the morning, We were informed By the Owner that this has never happened before and he dose hope we will come back again?!?
No compensation was given for the Terrible night We were made to endure!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We have stayed at Hillarys several times , each time for 3 weeks.
The location is great, with accomodation adjacent to a boat harbour, shops, restaraunts, fast food, the beach and close to Whitfords shopping Mall.
The accomodation is fine, fairly basic furnishings with a lounge area and full kitchen. For a cost of between $199-$299 nightly depending on 1 or 2 bedrooms. Great for short stays but a little expensive if you sty for your entire 3 week vacation as we do. It is definitely worth a visit with lots for the kids to do with a small attraction consisting of water slides and vaious rides and climbing pursuits also on site. In January there is also a small travelling fair.
It is about 30 minutes from Perth City.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bit expensive for the room standard
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney/Melbourne
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

Location: superb! With Sorrento Beach, Hilary's Harbour, all the shops and restaurants of Sorrento Quay, the Aquarium and the protected beach of Hilary's harbor on the doorstep this is a great location especially for a family with young children
I particularly loved the shaded children's play area right on the beach.
The 'resort' resembled a down market block of flats more than a resort. One sad little pool surrounded by plastic chairs and concrete and two vending machines which pass for the 'resort kiosk'. An undercover area with a few cheap plastic tables and chairs is the Resort Gazebo!
4 flights of stairs to the top floor apartments means you have to make a choice between a room with a view (of the capark as it turned out) or the convenience of not lugging suitcases upstai - don't expect help with this! Forget upstairs if you have a pram or stroller. The whole complex exudes drabness.
The apartment was big enough for our needs but I found the laundry that opened out onto the living room rather odd. The only toilet was in the ensuite so if you have people in they have to go through the bedroom to use the bathroom.
Since the apartments are individually owned my next comments relate only to 311 where we stayed.
Furniture and fittings were cheap and chairs and table didn't match. Bedding and linen was likewise of a low quality.
Bath towels were thin and small.
Fixtures were old and in in need of replacement. Dishwasher was rusty inside and microwave was antique. Bathroom needed refurbishing as the grouting was mouldy and the bath worn.
Housekeeping was almost non existent. We were there for 6 days and all that happened each day was that the bed was made and towels changed. Pyjamas left in the bed were thrown onto the floor by housekeepers. Used coffee cups in the sink were not washed. Splatters on the bathroom mirror made because the worn out shower curtain failed to do its job, were never wiped down. By the end of the week it was getting hard to see oneself in the mirror. Sand tracked in from the beach on Day 1 was still there when we left so the room was not vacuumed during the 6 days of our stay.
Reception is only open for limited hours.
All of this would have been tolerable but for the fact that this place claims to be
4.5 star and charges room rates accordingly. My estimate is that it's no more than 3 star if that!
We expected more and were very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Needs a bit of an update but great location, a must for oversea visitors wanting to experience a Perth beach with heaps to do for the kids and some lovely shops plus heaps of places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

This was the recommended accommodation for those attending a sporting tournament in Joondalup City which was a good 15 minutes away by car. The priority was that it had to be functional.
I travelled with my young daughter and we were trying to keep the costs down.
The apartment has a very good kitchen so we were able to go to the local supermarket and pick up supplies. Just be aware that the major supermarket close by is not open on Sundays. The IGA is however. There are plenty of good places to eat out at the Marina. The Aquarium is right next door and is worth visiting.
If you are trying to make an early start eg 5-6 am, the nearest food at that time is the local petrol station down the road at Sorrento Beach so get breakfast supplies the night before! The information folder would benefit from having a map of the area. Friendly reception staff.
Wifi is available but is rather pricey.
Very good laundry facilities in the actual apartment itself which is great for sportspeople and families. TV in the bedroom and in the lounge area. Bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

1st visit to west coast, last 2 nights spent here, great location to beach and restaurants, lots to do. bed comfortable, reception staff were very helpful and check in and check out completed quickly. lovely view towards the beach. if we come back to this side of australia will will definately stay again and recommend to our friends

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hillarys Harbour Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillarys Harbour Resort Apartments

Address: 68 Southside Drive | Hillarys Boat Harbour, Hillarys, Joondalup, Western Australia 6025, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Joondalup > Hillarys
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hillarys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hillarys Harbour Resort Apartments 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1,2 and 3 bedroom fully self contained apartments.The 2 and 3 bedroom apartments have two ensuites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hillarys Harbour Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillarys Harbour Resort Apartments Hotel Hillarys
Hillarys Harbour Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillarys Harbour Resort Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.