We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but Perth has better...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hillarys Boat Harbour

Hillarys Boat Harbour
Southside Drive Via Hepburn Avenue | 22 Kms North of Perth City, Hillarys, Joondalup, Western Australia 6025, Australia
(0)8 9448 7544
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Hillarys Boat Harbour like an insider
$52*
and up
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Hillarys
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Not bad, but Perth has better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Maybe I've been spoilt for choice throughout my travelling years but I didn't think Hillarys Boat Harbour was all that impressive. It's definitely not a bad place to spend a day, but if you're like me and not a huge fan of shopping, there isn't enough there to make me want to return in a hurry. It's quite far from the city and I found it awkward to get to by public transport. I was there on market day which I was a little disappointed with - it was a small setup and lacked charisma. However there was a good assortment of cafes and restaurants, and I ended up having a nice brunch and stroll around the boardwalk with a friend.

If you've got a few days to spend over that side of the country then by all means put Hillarys on your to-do list, but if you're limited for time then you're probably better to prioritise seeing the Perth CBD and Fremantle.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    183
    39
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to spend the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Plenty of different cafes and restaurants so caters well to all tastes from casual (fish and chips, burgers, pizza) to more upmarket restaurants and bars. Beach nice and clean and calm, good for young children. Great Escape - slides - very good idea to visit (in summer) for families with plenty of things to do. All up it's a nice place to take visiting friends/relatives, very relaxing and enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to take visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a lovely place to take visitors and also for local families. There is something for everyone - safe swimming areas, plenty of shops and restaurants all under cover. There is plenty of parking as well. If you don't want to eat or shop it's a nice place for a stroll with great views of the marina. Even though it can get very busy there you can always find a quiet place near the water that feels open and peaceful. Our favourite place to eat is Little Caesars - created by a world champion pizza maker. They are the best!!! You can also visit the WA Aquarium at Hillarys Boat Harbour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Terrific place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to go. Everything under one roof. Shopping, restaurants, pub and lots for the kids to do. Its a tiyrist spot but done well with lots of choices.Great day out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Overrated, there are better places to go in Perth”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hillarys always appears dark and tired. The shops are specialised and have 'premium tourist' quality goods. Arts, glassware crystals etc. you really only want to go there to catch a ferry or somewhere to eat. Fremantle or Cottesloe are far more appealing as coastal options. Biggest pro is the large carpark and the views along the coast road to get there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillarys Boat Harbour also viewed

 

Been to Hillarys Boat Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillarys Boat Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.