We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovable place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat to your Saves list
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 1 South Coast Road, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovable place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Lovable resort in a wonderful place, few minutes from the Flinder Chase Park and the Koala Walk. The staff, friendly and helpful, gave us a lot of useful information and the resident wallabies stole our hearts. The restaurant is good, just a bit costly (but one should consider how distant the nearest village is). Great breakfast at the Flinder Chase Park’s café.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    132
    78
    29
    16
See reviews for
56
210
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I sayed at the Kangaroo island wilderness retreat for one night. We stayed in one of the courtyard suites which was great! The rooms had a very homely feel and were very comfortable, an even included foxtel! The bathrooms were a bit tired, but still were great none the less! I loved that there was wildlife hopping all around, which gave a great feel to what Kangaroo island is all about! It was in a good location, but everywhere in Kangaroo island you have to be prepared to drive to. The kitchen/restaurant was great! They prepared lovely meals at a reasonable price, all WIFI was included to all guests for free, which was a bonus since you do not get reception with Vodaphone on the island.
I would definatly reccommend this place to anyone going to Kangaroo Island.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Loved KI Wilderness Retreat. We stayed in one of the courtyard suites and our friends were given the room next to us. The manager and assistant manager were more than helpful. We had a problem with our air conditioner and it was addressed immediately and fixed. We asked for the interconnecting door to be unlocked and it was done immediately. Many of the guests were asking for the tv's to be tuned so they could watch the football game. The manager organised it without a problem. The restaurant was great and the food and service was exceptional for Dinner. We also had breakfast and the choices were good. A wide range of cereals, breads, fruit and teas. Also croissants. We were close to Flinders Chase.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We took the offered upgrade when we checked in,and we were quite happy with our suite. Right off the common grounds, we had a good view of the wallabies who came to feed out front. We also then had a pleasant deck to sit on and enjoy our breakfast. The unit had an electric kettle and a small refrigerator which came in handy. The room was clean and quiet. The hotel location made it easy to see many park sites without having to drive the length of the island every day. We ate dinner at the restaurant both nights we were there; the menu had enough variety to keep us happy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This place gets an extra star for the amazing wildlife at your doorstep! The wallabies and possums are incredibly tame and you can even pet them (they will come up to your porch if you get a courtyard suite). The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The restaurant is good, which is a relief as there is nowhere else to go for dinner near here. It is really well placed close to Flinders Chase national park and Seal bay. The rooms are pretty standard but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed here in early April with my daughter for one night. We stayed to be close to Flinders park, and so we didn't have to drive from one end of the island to the other at night. (We did do the nocturnal tour at Hanson Bay at night, and drove their ourselves in the rental car. I was freaking out driving the 5 minutes back, hoping not to hit an animal, as the rental car "insurance" does not cover you if you drive at night. Hanson Bay is not close enough to walk, and no one mentioned any alternative transportation.)

The four stars is because we liked the room and the overall experience. We are more "rustics / Outdoor-sy" people, so these are the expectations that we had for the room. Definitely not Marriott four stars, but we liked it.

We upgraded from the basic room to the room with the porch and air conditioning. I guess that I didn't realize when I booked that the basic room doesn't have air conditioning, which was the main driver for our upgrade. When we tried to check-in in the early afternoon, our room was not ready. It sounded like they were short-staffed that day for cleaning help???

May daughter loved the wallabies and feeding the wallabies at night. I was told by the front desk that there were no options for dinner cloase by other than their restaurant, so we made a reservation for just after the nocturnal tour. I had kangaroo, which was pretty tasty. The restaurant staff was nice enough to let us take the food back to our room, as my daughter was tired.

I'm not sure what was up with the telephone in the room. My husband tried to call our room that nightm but could not get through. I'm guessing because the front desk was closed, that he could not get transferred to our room line.

The internet was down for the whole evening into the next morning. It was down in both the room, and in the front office area for guest use.

If you like nature/outdoors, I would recommend this for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed here for just one night as part of our trip to KI so we could so the Day Trip to Flinders Chase National Park which I would highly recommend. We had a Courtyard Room which was great, perfect for seeing the Wallabies which come in at sunset and a very short walk to the restaurant. Staff at Check In are very friendly and helpful and the food at the restaurant was absolutely fantastic - beautifully cooked and presented and very professionally served. Had a great time at KIWR and would definitely recommend and return.

(as a fyi there is no fitness centre or pool but TA won't let me submit my review without reviewing. If you are looking for some exercise there is a nice nature walk from the resort)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Address: Lot 1 South Coast Road, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated adjacent Flinders Chase National Park a unique mix of eco-friendly facilities, local food and wine and located in the middle of the forrest provide an unforgettable wilderness experience. The idyllic location provides the perfect base for discovering the splendor of Kangaroo Island's natural wonders before returning to the tranquillity of the retreat to enjoy comfortable accommodation in the company of friendly native animals and an amazing array of birdlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Hotel Flinders Chase
Hotel Kangaroo Island
Wilderness Retreat Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Flinders Chase

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.