We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a piece of peace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Save Saved
You added Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 1 South Coast Road, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Flinders Chase
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a piece of peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We had a dimly lit courtyard room with good clean facilities. Continental brekkie was plentiful and quiet. Dinners were very nice & not overpriced. A good choice of KI wines again at a fair price. The availability of petrol was a bonus for sightseers using KIWR as a base. Comparatively expensive but the same in all of KI. Located in the west of the island away from civilisation it had excellent access to local sites. A very peaceful & relaxed stay.

Room Tip: Courtyards are obviously worth the extra; more space & wallabies at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    110
    61
    24
    14
See reviews for
45
170
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We booked on line and stayed in one the 'budget' eco lodge rooms which was clean and comfortable and good value compared with another hotel we stayed in on the Island although the bathroom was basic and more could be done to the shower area which was just a curtained off area in the corner of the room causing the floor get fairly wet.The room looked out into the bush which was different.
Internet connection is only available in the Main Reception but that was fine and it is free.You do not go to KI to surf the net.
The staff were friendly and helpful making recommendations for a nearby nocturnal safari which we enjoyed .
The hotel is well located being very close to the Flinders Chase National Park and the South Coast attractions such as Vivonne Bay and some local vinyards.
The Nicholas Baudin Restaurant was very good indeed and with a good menu at reasonable prices considering the logistics of getting fresh food delivered to the Island.The service was relaxed friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

It was supposed to be the highlight of our stay in Kangaroo Island : two nights in this remote hotel to discover wildlife in the area (koalas and a colony of seals). What a disappointment ! OK for the wildlife but I won't recommend this hotel to anyone : very nasty attitude from the hotel's manager because we chose not to have dinner at the restaurant; our bedroom was expensive and very ordinary, dark and gloomy; and on top of everything, a stinky smell from the septic reservoir ! Awful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADELAIDE
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We booked here with a voucher and were not sure what to expect. The rooms are comfortable, but a little dark. We spent most of the time when at the lodge sitting on the verandah. In the morning and at dusk the wallabies come right onto your verandah to be fed with pellets given to you on arrival. The staff were friendly and efficient. you are a captive market as far as eating dinner in their restaurant, as there is nowhere else. The food is good (pricey because of the isolation). We would highly recommend the place to overseas visitors and families with young children. Internet access is erratic.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed two days at the eco-lodge. The shower stall does not have any wall or curb to hold the water in. We only took 3 mins showers so the water does not go to the carpet. The internet only works in the reception area and it was very slow to get on with our own computers. I am also surprised that there is no fan in the room. For an eco-friendly lodge, fans would be preferred than AC. Cold breakfast (no cold cut or hard-boiled eggs) costs $20 per person. It is very expensive even on KI.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silves, Portugal
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This is a remote location with a restricted choice of places to stay and this is probably the best in the area. We stayed in an eco lodge room, and i regretted not staying in the courtyard rooms which looked much more comfortable and had wonderful balconies and were much better located.

Still - back to the eco lodge rooms. They are in a very large building with a huge and very hot central hall way which exhibits local art. The rooms themselves are very basic and the bathrooms even more so. They are more like wet rooms and be careful where you place things as showers make a lot of mess here. We also struggled with the locks on the doors which were tricky to lock and unlock. However, they had all we needed so shouldn't really complain too much. The view from the window was out on to the immediate scrub land - would have preferred a courtyard room with the open air balcony looking over the wild life area.

The staff here though were really nice - very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

The restaurant was a real surprise as the food was of a very high standard. We ate there 2 nights and were impressed each time.

The highlight of the place has to be about dusk when wallabies come out of the bush and feed from your hand (eating the food provided by the lodge). We sat at the tables located outside of the restaurant and just loved this part of the day. Later, possums join the wallabies and one even came inside the restaurant and had to be chased off!

Breakfast here is very expensive. I would suggest going to the National Park just down the road for a much better value breakfast instead.

Location-wise I would recommend it, but suggest treating yourselves to the courtyard rooms if you can afford it.

Room Tip: Go for a courtyard room - not the eco-lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UP NORTH
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

The first point to be made is that this hotel is in a relatively remote part of a relatively remote island - it is not a 'seaside resort'. To get to the island you travel two hours south of Adelaide, then take an often rough ferry crossing of about an hour, and then drive over 200 miles to the Flinders Chase National Park. There is very little accommodation in the area, as it is a wilderness! So in that context, we found the hotel providing fairly good accommodation, and with a really excellent restaurant.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, at check in / out and especially in the restaurant, where they were also helpful and knowledgeable about local produce and the surrounding area. The rooms themselves are quite large and comfortable, though the overall design is not great, resembling a converted stables. The courtyard layout means that everyone walks past the rooms, which have wall to ceiling glass doors / windows, meaning a certain lack of privacy, and they all face into the courtyard, so there are no views out across the surrounding countryside. However, this also means that you can sit of an evening and watch the tame wallabies cavort around the area, or even feed them with the provided bag of special food - a lovely experience for adults and children alike.
The restaurant reqiures booking in advance, and has a very good system of 'sittings' to make sure that they can service the tables without the delays that might occur if everyone sat down at once. I might suggest offering the menus late in the afternoon so that the kitchens would know in advance what you wanted to eat, which would make for even smoother service. The food was excellent (for example Salmon Croquette starter, followed by medium rare kangaroo steak), with a wide choice of some excellent KI wines. However, you are asked to choose your wine before ordering the meal, which seems the wrong way round - for example, we ordered a dry white before I knew I was eating the kangaroo steak). Nonetheless, a good culinary experience, together with more than adequate (though a bit pricey) breakfast.
Overall we enjoyed our stay here, and it is in a really great location to explore the national park - but it is on the expensive side taking some of its limitations into account.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Address: Lot 1 South Coast Road, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Flinders Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated adjacent Flinders Chase National Park a unique mix of eco-friendly facilities, local food and wine and located in the middle of the forrest provide an unforgettable wilderness experience. The idyllic location provides the perfect base for discovering the splendor of Kangaroo Island's natural wonders before returning to the tranquillity of the retreat to enjoy comfortable accommodation in the company of friendly native animals and an amazing array of birdlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Hotel Flinders Chase
Hotel Kangaroo Island
Wilderness Retreat Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Flinders Chase

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.