We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Having Flinders Chase all to yourself!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flinders Chase
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation
Save
You added Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation to your Saves list
Cape du Couedic Road | Kangaroo Island, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Having Flinders Chase all to yourself!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed for two cold nights in June. I want to mention the time of year because some others talked about how hot is was or how windy it was. I highly recommend staying here. Some highlights:
1.) Away from it all - no phones, no distractions, which means...
2.) My kids and I played marathon games of monopoly together (which we don't do much of at home) and had a blast because...
3.) In June it gets dark by 5:15 - so hole up and have family time, but...
4.) We still took a stroll down to Admiral's Arch with the flashlight/torch they provided and enjoyed the company of no one but a few stray kangaroos and a bunch of seals since...
5.) No one else can get into the park at that time - and there weren't other people around to scare the wildlife away. I could have shaken hands with one of the kangaroos if it was allowed

Some tips for the actual accommodation:
1.) If you come in winter, bring slippers, the bathroom is out back and cold
2.) Enjoy the games and toys
3.) Read the blurb on the history of the place - and the lighthouse keeper stories provided
4.) Bring in enough food to cook - just enough/not too little/not too much. We hauled supplies in from Kingscote and rationed it right.

This was an unique experience that I highly recommend and only wish we'd had more time.

And, oh by the way, in the morning when daylight came, we still had over an hour before anyone showed up. I have great pictures at Remarkable Rocks as a result.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    28
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I thought staying in a lightkeepers cottage would be very exciting and a great experience and it was when we spend two nights in Troubridge Cottage recently. The surroundings are amazing-spectacular but it is very isolated and windy and noisy...It seems the chimneys have been blocked off at the bottom but that gush of wind down them and whistling was very loud. Unfortunately our children were very scared and we did not get much sleep. The cottage has everything you could want -warm, comfortable and clean. Would I stay here again??? not in Winter. I certainly have a greater respect for lightkeepers and If you are scared of ghosts, dont read the visitors books!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our stay in Parndana Lodge was magnificent, in that due to it's seclusion we were able to enjoy the natural surrounds as if they were in our own private backyard. The experience has left lasting fond memories for our family guests from the UK. Great to be away from mobile phones and TV !

Room Tip: Pack to be self sufficient
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

these are wonderful old cottages very close to the main attractions of flinders chase nat. park.
the location could not be better. you will see all sorts of wildlife and have that edge of the world experience. the cottages themselves are nicely furnished--THERE IS NO FOOD IN THE AREA-YOU MUST BRING IN ALL SUPPLIES-THO THE KITCHEN HAS A GAS STOVE, MICROWAVE, FRIDGE,ETC.
I would stay here again!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is absolutely the best place to stay to be close to Admirals Arch (walking distance) and Remarkable Rocks (5 min drive). This means you can be at these places as early or as late as you like and avoid the buses and the crowds. The accommodation is clean, and well appointed and set up. We stayed for 2 nights in Troubridge, a 3 bedroom cottage, and everything is provided except food. There is a full kitchen. Bathroom basic but clean. Getting to the cottages is about a 20 minute drive from the Visitors Centre, so once you’ve stopped in to see the excellent displays, have a coffee/sandwich and pay for a visitors pass, allow yourself time to get to your accommodation before dark. As well as Remarkable Rocks and Admirals Arch, there are plenty of beautiful, windswept walks worth doing around the lighthouse area itself.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our second time staying at Karatta Lodge and we loved it just as much this time. My husband's father was a lighthouse keeper there in the early 50's and lived in that same house. Last time we went was 12 years ago, but we stayed again this time specifically to take our 9 year old daughter. We had a wonderful time and our daughter was very interested in the history and seeing wildlife in the wild. It is also great to be able to walk around the lighthouse and go down to Admiral's Arch later in the afternoon and earlier in the morning and avoid the bus loads of tourists. We were in our own little paradise for a couple of days, then continued the rest of our wonderful 2 weeks on the island staying at different locations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Allison M,

Your family connection with Karatta Lodge must have made your stay at Cape du Couedic particularly special! It’s great to hear that the history, wildlife and spectacular coastal scenery combined to create such a memorable holiday experience. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The cottages are large and comfortable although a little dated. All basic facilites were available however. The cottages are a reasonable walk from Admiral's arch and the wonderful sea lions (or seals) and a short walk from the light house although no tours are given. It is a long way from anywhere and it is essential you bring your supplies in. We snuck under the radar and booked for one night alhough the minimum 2 nights is now enforced. If with a family group two nights would be good but as a touring couple one night was enough. Wonderfully peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear blomart666,

Yes, the Cape du Couedic lighthouse keeper’s cottages offer a peaceful haven in a magnificent location! We’re pleased that you found the time to explore some of the walking trails in this spectacular coastal landscape during your short stay, and that your cottage included all your requirements. The cottages continue to be maintained and renovated in keeping with their heritage status - most recently the bathrooms have been upgraded for the added comfort of guests. Thank you very much for your positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation

Address: Cape du Couedic Road | Kangaroo Island, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Flinders Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience spectacular coastal scenery and wildlife whilst staying in one of three beautifully restored heritage listed three bedroom Lighthouse Keepers Cottages at stunning Cape du Couedic on the south-western corner of Kangaroo Island within Flinders Chase National Park. Cape du Couedic is located just a 20 minute drive from the Flinders Chase National park Visitor Centre and Chase Cafe. From your accommodation, take a short stroll to view New Zealand Fur Seals frolicking in the ocean and playing on rocks at Admirals Arch, and a 5 minute drive to Remarkable Rocks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation Kangaroo Island/Flinders Chase

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.