We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of History with modern comforts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flinders Chase
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation
Save
You added Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation to your Saves list
Cape du Couedic Road | Kangaroo Island, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“A taste of History with modern comforts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Our family stayed 3 nights in late June, my 3 teenagers thought this place was amazing, no TV, No phone, no internet, but NEVER boring, in fact, they declared their time here "a bit of an adventure"

Access to the cottages is very easy and no problem for a normal car. Its tar all the way. Do a big shop at the Foodland in Kingscote before you head out here. Its a long way back if you forget anything. There is no BBQ so plan for meals you can cook on the stove or in the microwave. There is filtered water in the kitchen so not necessary to bring bottled water.

The weather was quite cold and wet at times while we were visiting but the cottage was always warm. My husband loved the wood stove in the kitchen and the kids kept warm playing cards by the gas fire in the lounge.

The cottage is very authentic with its rustic kitchen and old wood stove, but beautifully decorated and has all the modern touches you could possibly need and none of those you don't...Yeah! No TV!

We were the only people staying in the cottages while we were there so at night it was very quiet, except the first night when a big storm blew in and my son woke with a start thinking Jets were landing on the roof.

This is the perfect location for exploring the National Parks in the west of KI, 3 nights was exactly right for us. We did the Platypus ponds walk, loved the Cape Barron Geese and their goslings. The Ranger came out to tell us on our return from the walk that a koala had just run up a tree out the front. Very exciting! Did the Kelly Hills Caves tour and kids went back the next day for the Adventure Caving. Loved Seal Cove and the seal pups you could almost reach out and touch. We braved the slippery muddy road out to the Cape Borda lighthouse ( check with the Tourist Info Centre in Penneshaw or the Rangers at Flinders Chase to see what the condition of the road is if its been raining) well worth the drive just to meet the Lighthouse Keeper/Ranger. The tour was lots of fun, particularly the firing of the cannon! Check tour times to be sure not to miss it!

Loved the little wallabies that hung around outside the cottages in the early morning and evening, also loved being able to walk down to the seal colony after the other visitors had left for the day and enjoy the seals and passing whales all to ourselves, and the stars at night, so bright and soooo many!

Whilst not at all suited to those who need the entertainment and bright lights of the big city this is the perfect holiday accommodation for anyone who likes a little peace and quiet in an idyllic truly Australian setting.

Room Tip: If you book 5 nights accommodation at the Lighthouse keepers cottages on KI you get a Parks Pass inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear 3littlepigsgotroppo,

We’re so pleased that you found the Cape du Couedic cottages to be such an idyllic base for your Kangaroo Island adventure! Many guests have found the quiet seclusion and special character of these lighthouse keepers lodges to be the perfect place to relax after active days enjoying all that Flinders Chase National Park has to offer. It sounds like you certainly made the most of your stay by experiencing the history, walking and wildlife encounters and kept your teenagers well and truly entertained. Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Cape du Couedic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Immediately after arriving in Kangaroo Island (KI), we stocked up on supplies, grabbed lunch and head towards Flinders Chase National Park where a stop was made at the visitor centre to pick up our welcome package. We then head towards our lighthouse cottage (very good tarred roads till the last 10m of gravel road). One of us went to the backdoor for the key and when she opened the front door for the rest of the company, she had a wide smile on her face and the first thing she said was 'This is awesome'. This was to be our first experience staying in a lightkeeper's cottage and we loved every minute of it. Very spacious, very clean, very good beds, and a very warm gas fireplace (for winter). We could not ask for me. On the first night, there was a storm and there was some rattling of wooden doors/windows/chimney etc going on but we felt very safe and warm inside and had very good sleep despite the rattling. With no phone connection (but an emergency GPS phone in another cottage), no tv and no technology to distract us, we had some wonderful quality time together. And in the mornings, we often had wallabies hopping just outside our cottage. And of course we often met roos on the roads or just beside the roads when driving around within the National Park, which means that we have to go slow.
Within the National Park, we visited the very awesome Admiral's Arch, the Remarkables rocks and of course passed by our Cape Du Couedic Lighthouse. We also did a walk to the Platypus waterhole, starting from the visitor centre.
After 3 nights, we said a very sad farewell to our cottage and to the National Park. We could not bear to leave.
This accomodation is highly recommended for those wanting something different from the typical, for those wanting some solitude from traffic and technology. Very affordable for those in groups of 4 to 6.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear SWTok,

We’re so pleased that you found your holiday experience at Cape du Couedic to be so different! Our guests often report that staying in this remote location away from the distractions of modern life provides a wonderful opportunity for them to reconnect with each other as well as with the natural environment. As you have found, these solid stone lighthouse keeper’s lodges allow guests to ride out any wild weather in comfort. Thank you very much for your compliments on the presentation of the cottages and for taking the time to submit such a positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We spent two nights with the whole cottage to ourselves. The bed was extremely comfortable and we rested very well. The kitchen was fantastic, an old farmhouse style kitchen. We made good use of the wooden stove and baked damper in this lovely oven. The location itself couldn't be better, just nestled behind the lighthouse and a few hundred meters from the admirals arch. Its worth it just to be able to go down there at sunset and have the place to yourselves. When all the crowds disparse you really get a feel of what it must have been like to be a lighthouse keeper in those days.
Well worth a visit and we throughly enjoyed our stay here. Well done DENR

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Ben M

Thank you very much for your positive review! The lighthouse keeper’s lodges at Cape du Couedic are certainly well situated alongside the lighthouse with walking trails in the immediate vicinity and Admiral’s Arch with its colony of New Zealand Fur Seals just a few minutes walk away.

We’re pleased that your two night stay allowed you to fully appreciate the tangible sense of history in this remote location and to make the most of the comforts in your accommodation. I can just about smell the damper cooking in the wood stove!

Kind Regards,


Carol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We decided to stay in one of the Keeper's Cottages when we were doing the KI Walking Club walk from Ravine des Casoars to West Bay. Having last stayed in the cottages over 20 years ago we were really impressed by the wonderful facilities and the great attention to "period" detail with the furnishings and also the excellent restoration work on the buildings. There were 2 double bedrooms and a twin room in our cottage and the beds were very comfortable.
The kitchen was very well equipped and the large family dining table was perfect ( in fact essential, as we had guests drop in from the house next door for a drink on the first night). The wood stove in the kitchen provide wonderful warmth although we didn't use it for cooking as the cottage has a very good full sized gas stove and microwave. The cosy parlour was also really comfortable for reading after dinner.
The area around the Cape is wonderful for walking with the lighthouse, Weir Cove's ruins and off course the Arch and it's Fur Seal population.
We will all definitely make time to come soon and stay overnight again rather than our usual rushed day trips where we show off all our wonderful Island's treasures to visitors .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Geoff R

Thank you for your compliments on the restoration work which has been carried out on the lighthouse keeper’s lodges at Cape du Couedic! As you have found, guests are now able to stay at these heritage-listed cottages with the comfort of modern conveniences while still enjoying the ambience of a bygone era.

We’re glad that members of the KI Walking Club found their accommodation at Cape du Couedic so welcoming and took the opportunity to enjoy the walks in the immediate vicinity of the cottages as well as their longer trek along the west coast. I’m sure you would agree that the spectacular coastal scenery, the geological formation of Admiral’s Arch, the New Zealand Fur Seal colony and the cultural history of Weir’s Cove, where supplies were once hauled up the cliff face, are attractions not to be missed!

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to Cape du Couedic again soon!

Regards,


Carol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

These comments are made without any liability whatsoever: We took the family to the rugged but beautiful west coast of Kangaroo Island and wanted a place that was close to the key sight-seeing places but secluded, comfortable and modern, could fit a family of 4 at a reasonable price. We found all of this staying at the 'rustic' Troubridge Lodge at Cape du Couedic. The cottages (there are a few to choose from) give you a real-life experience but with gas heating, electricity and large fridge (you can use the wood stove if you wish). We had the odd kangaroo hop by on the door step and the light house itself is 5 mins walk away. The Visitors Centre offers a great lunch 10 mins drive up a beautiful coastal road. Remember to bring your own food in.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Guest MargieandHomier,

We’re pleased to hear that you found Troubridge Lodge an ideal choice for your family holiday on Kangaroo Island. The modern conveniences are certainly a welcome addition for guests who experience the life of the lighthouse keepers by staying at Cape du Couedic and as you have noticed, the close proximity of the Cape du Couedic Lighthouse, the presence of wildlife and the magnificent coastal scenery all add to the experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We rented one of the lighthouse cottages at Cape du Couedic and some friends rented the cottage next door. They were really well equipped for families with plenty of space for everyone, comfy beds, lots of games etc - the only thing missing was a BBQ. The setting of the cottages is wonderrful - an easy walk to see the NZ Fur Seals at Admiralty Arch and plenty of magnificent views all around. All in all, a perfect couple of nights.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Guest 1705Steph,

Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the lighthouse keeper’s cottages at Cape du Couedic. As you have found, as Parndana, Karatta and Troubridge Lodges are located close to each other they offer an ideal accommodation arrangement for families travelling together. We’re so pleased that your group enjoyed the nearby attractions of the New Zealand Fur Seal Colony and Cape du Couedic’s stunning coastal scenery as well as the indoor comforts offered by Troubridge Lodge. We will certainly consider including barbeques to the guest facilities as you have suggested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

overwhelming quiet except for the wind whistling round the chimneys. No ghosts noted in spite of references in the visitors book! Appreciate running water, fully functioning bathroom and a large fridge - with electricity! Plenty of history about but we had to push ourselves to get out there to "do" the history, it was so relaxing. Can recommend a two night stay but bring your own supplies :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Guest Lindsay05,

We’re pleased to hear that you found your stay at Cape du Couedic so peaceful and relaxing. As you have found, the remote location and history of these lighthouse keeper’s lodges combine to offer a unique holiday experience with the comfort of modern conveniences. Thank you very much for your positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation

Address: Cape du Couedic Road | Kangaroo Island, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Flinders Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience spectacular coastal scenery and wildlife whilst staying in one of three beautifully restored heritage listed three bedroom Lighthouse Keepers Cottages at stunning Cape du Couedic on the south-western corner of Kangaroo Island within Flinders Chase National Park. Cape du Couedic is located just a 20 minute drive from the Flinders Chase National park Visitor Centre and Chase Cafe. From your accommodation, take a short stroll to view New Zealand Fur Seals frolicking in the ocean and playing on rocks at Admirals Arch, and a 5 minute drive to Remarkable Rocks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation Kangaroo Island/Flinders Chase

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.