We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm friendly place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Nina

Chez Nina
Rue Sonnex 17, Le Grand Saconnex, Geneva 1218, Switzerland
+41 (0)227884278
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Switzerland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Warm friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have been to Chez Nina several times, always left satisfied... We have tried the fresh pastas and the pizzas of course, but last night I tried the grilled dorade for the first time. It was superb. The fillets were carefully prepared without any bones at all! The drizzle of olive oil on top was delicious and the vegetables were fresh and perfectly cooked. All for 29 CHF.
Warning: it is a very child friendly place. So don't expect a quiet, romantic place. Very family oriented and friendly...
And book in advance! It is usually packed...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    25
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“great pizzas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Really modern Italian restaurant, appears to be have been recently refurbished. Certainly recommend the pizzas, very good quality.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Location, location, location - isn't that what they say? Unless you live in the new housing estate at the Gardiol terminus of the 3 bus in the Geneva suburb of Le Grand Saconnex, this restaurant hardly qualifies. But if you can check it out - it is less than a 100m walk from the bus stop or park outside - then you will find it well worthwhile. We got a free aperitif because my partner knew the patronne from when she worked at another nearby Italian restaurant - you can see why she is a good restauranteur: she recognised someone from 4 years ago. We were lucky to sneak in early on a Friday night - otherwise for the evening you should book. The other earlies were all English speaking - one family with pushchair and toddler who got the usual Italian welcome that children enjoy. The place was filling up when we left around 9.

This is as about as near to Tuscany as you can get in Geneva - the food is fabulous and it would be a pity just to use as a pizza take-away. The pasta mains - we had the Pappardelle Fiorentina @25chf - are served in a casserole to keep the very generous helping warm. The other dish we had was the Tagliata Fiorentina - steak with mushrooms which was cooked a point and very tender - one of the most expensive dishes on the menu @39f. To track back for a moment, the starter of Ravioli Maison served with shrimps and a fabulous sauce would definitely be worth considering as a main course - double the 18f we were charged as a starter. If you are not in a hurry, then try their made on order pasta which is featured in its own spot on the menu. We saw other people getting pizza which looked great.

With a 50cl bottle of Nebbiolo @20f, the meal with no desserts or coffee came to 108f without service. We walked home in a very good mood. 'We will return' we promised Nina and we meant it.When you go and if you have been saving up for the outing, try something from their list of super Tuscan wines - starting at about 100f for some really interesting bottles. Closed all day Sunday and Saturday lunchtime.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I'm a regular - never disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Friendly service, plat du jour à CHF 19 and high level of presentation and quality. It's a great restaurant tucked away in an ugly residential area. Lots of people have found their way there, and there's a reason why.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good italian restaurant (one of the best of the right bank of GVA)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

"Chez Nina" is a good restaurant, with fresh products, very good pizzas and pasta (homemade!). Their wine list is also a good one, with a lot coming from Tuscany area. The terrace is perfect during the summertime, even if surrounded by buildings (housing). Inside is modern and simple, so don't come here for the decoration, but the food!!!
The service is efficient and very friendly, smiling, even when the terrace as well as inside are full of guests. This is what makes a difference between this restaurant and many others!
You can even call to order your pizza for a take-away... as parking your car is quite problematic in the area. (TIP: if you can, grab the bus #3, the terminus, Gardiol, is less than 3 min walking distance, then no tickets on your car, or driving desperately around the block to find a spot!)
One of the best pizza/pasta restaurant of the right bank of Geneva.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Nina also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Chez Nina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Nina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.