We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life Saver” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Route Francois-Peyrot 34, Le Grand Saconnex, Geneva 1218, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Life Saver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Booked into this hotel by the airline when the aeroplane developed a fault and could not fly, at 11pm on a Saturday night! Hotel reception staff were good at dealing with a plane load of tired passengers at 1am in he morning. Room and en suite facilities were very spacious. Breakfast area was large and accommodation with a huge choice of food. My one complaint is that, within two minutes of choosing scrambled eggs that had only just been delivered from the kitchen, the eggs were cold. The other hot food was also not brilliantly warm either. Suitable comments were left on the comment form available on the table so hopefully this part of the service can be improved.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristof_Kadar, Guest Relations Assistant at Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Richard S,

Thank you for having taken the time to share this review on TripAdvisor. Your comments are of the greatest value to us in our everyday efforts to improve the quality of our services.

I am delighted to learn that your stay was a success overall and that you appreciated the breakfast, your room, and Starling’s trademark Efficiently Different Service upon check-in late at night.

Concerning the temperature of the dishes, please allow me to apologize, and assure you that indeed, I have received your comment card remarks as well, and will duly follow up with the management of the food and beverage department.

I sincerely look forward to welcoming you again very soon at the Starling Hotel Geneva.

Please accept my warm regards,

Kristof Kadar
Guest Relations Assistant
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    199
    52
    11
    11
See reviews for
32
46
14
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Close to the airport the hotel is convenient, comfortable, clean and has everything you need as a business traveller. Free wifi, room service for 24 hours, a breakfast buffet which opens very early and a shuttle running every 15 minutes between the airport and hotel. (Although it is walking distance if needed). The rooms have ironing boards, a gym, a wellness centre and a bar/restaurant as well. Good location and good service.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristof_Kadar, Guest Relations Assistant at Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear SoloTraveller83,

We sincerely thank you for publishing this excellent review on the Starling Hotel Geneva.

It is with pleasure that we read that all the aspects of your stay lived up to your expectations, including the hotel's location, your room, and most of all, Starling’s trademark efficiently different service.

I truly hope to get the chance to welcome you again very soon, and let you discover more of the numerous services the Starling offers!

Looking forward to that occasion, I extend to you my warmest regards,

Kristof Kadar
Guest Relations Assistant
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Close to the airport (walkable)
The rooms were very clean and spacious and the free wifi worked very well even with several devices using it at the same time (laptop, iphone etc).
Huge bar/restaurant with a lot of food to chose from but all other restaurants are at least 10 minutes away. Close to the airport which means that it's easy to walk to the airport restaurants or even Migros (supermarket) if you prefer to have something cheaper and more choice.
There are hotels closer to the airport (Holiday Inn, NH etc) but they aren't that nice so this hotel was a nice surprise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the empty field (behind the pool/spa area) which has a nice view with some gra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristof_Kadar, Guest Relations Assistant at Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear tinkerbell_pt,

We would like to thank you for publishing this great review about the Starling Hotel Geneva on TripAdvisor!

It is a true pleasure to read that your recent stay was a success overall, and that you were satisfied with the hotel’s location, as well as the restaurants and the free Wi-Fi connection, which is currently undergoing significant upgrades.

We are indeed proud that the Starling Hotel Geneva is your first choice among all the establishments available in the surroundings!

I truly hope to get the chance to welcome you again very soon, and to present you the numerous other services our hotel offers, such as the fitness and wellness centers!

Awaiting the occasion, please accept my warmest regards,

Kristof Kadar
Guest Relations Assistant
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The rooms were very clean, beds very comfortable, breakfast was great, service very good, wifi worked very good even with a full hotel, free transportation card for the bus to go into town, great restaurants near hotel, and the surroundings were excellent for long walks to do exercise. Very worth while, will go back for next years show and conference. One big advantage, close to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristof_Kadar, Guest Relations Assistant at Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear FDG44,

We cannot thank you enough for publishing this excellent review on the Starling Hotel Geneva, and for having rated us with five stars. This is the greatest motivation to our teams to walk the extra mile every day in service.

It is with pleasure that we read that all the aspects of your stay lived up to your expectations including location, transport, rooms, Wi-Fi, restaurants, and most of all, Starling’s trademark efficiently different service.

I truly hope to get the chance to welcome you again very soon.

Looking forward to that occasion, I extend to you my warmest regards,

Kristof Kadar
Guest Relations Assistant
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bi-Coastal
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We booked this hotel just as an overnight in Geneva to return the rental car. What a pleasant surprise! The room was large, comfortable and very clean. We ate in the bar restaurant which was pricey, but it was a hotel bar and in Geneva. Breakfast in the Cafe was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristof_Kadar, Guest Relations Assistant at Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Live4Maine,

Thank you for sharing this excellent experience about the Starling Hotel Geneva.

We are indeed proud to have been a delightful surprise instead of what was planned as a simple overnight stay. It is a pleasure to read that your room and the restaurants equally exceeded your expectations, and that you could satisfy your taste with the 70+ products presented fresh every day on the breakfast buffet!

I personally hope that we will soon get the chance to welcome you for a longer stay! Please do inform me at guestrelations@shgeneva.ch as soon as you have chosen your stay dates.

Looking forward to your return, I extend to you my warmest regards,

Kristof Kadar
Guest Relations Assistant
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a good close to the airport hotel. The free transport card for Geneva is extremely helpful. Clean rooms with WiFi and coffee maker. Bus stop is close by and 25mins away from city centre. The reason I am not giving this 5 stars is the staff are not that friendly. They do their job very matter of factly and almost get offended if you ask them something. Also glass doors on washroom and no lock. Found that a bit weird, maybe it's a European thing. I mean, I am close to my wife, but not close enough to see her do her business. Otherwise good place, nice outdoor seating area, breakfast on the higher side

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristof_Kadar, Guest Relations Assistant at Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sam R,

Thank you for having taken the time to share this review on TripAdvisor. Your comments are of the greatest value to us in our everyday efforts to improve the quality of our services.

I am delighted to learn that your stay was a success overall, and that you appreciated the location and your room.

As of service quality, the Starling Hotel Geneva takes pride in providing its trademark Efficiently Different Service, therefore we are eager to know, what exactly happened in your case. Any further information that you would be kind enough to send to guestrelations@shgeneva.ch would greatly help in our thorough follow-up.

I sincerely look forward to your message, and of course, to welcoming you again very soon at the Starling Hotel Geneva.

Please accept my warm regards,

Kristof Kadar
Guest Relations Assistant
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a very large conference hotel opposite Geneva Cointrin Airport and it could feel overwhelmingly impersonal and pricey - but it doesn't. This is partly due to the friendliness and efficiency of the staff, and also a result of the quirky design and ambience. Swiss Red dominates, and there is even a very large and benevolent looking Swiss Cow at the entrance to the breakfast cafe. The rooms have pleasing touches including White Company bathroom products, robes, slippers and water. Wifi is complimentary throughout and was super speedy. We stayed only one night but could easily have used the hotel as a base for touring or city adventures. Breakfast was terrifically high quality - immensely good bread and dairy produce, and a chef on constant patrol to monitor presentation and availability. Larger global chains can feel anonymous and tired at airport locations. This is a distinctive and appealing alternative.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristof_Kadar, Guest Relations Assistant at Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear EdwaltonCavalier,

We cannot thank you enough for submitting this exceptional review about the Staring Geneva Hotel & Conference Center!

Indeed, the members of our team strive to walk the extra mile every day to show the world the side of the Starling you just described: not merely the largest Swiss business hotel, but rather a unique, dynamic place run by a dedicated team of hoteliers, where details are given major attention, and where for every wish, there is a staff member ready to assist.

It is a true pleasure that you mentioned your satisfaction with rooms and free Wi-Fi, as major investments have recently been made in these areas for the comfort of our dear guests. All rooms in the left wing are being refurbished, and the Wi-Fi infrastructure is being upgraded this summer.

We already look forward to getting the chance to welcome you again very soon, and to keeping exceeding your expectations.

Please accept my very warmest regards,

Kristof Kadar
Guest Relations Assistant
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center

Address: Route Francois-Peyrot 34, Le Grand Saconnex, Geneva 1218, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Le Grand Saconnex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Le Grand Saconnex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located to 3 minutes away from Geneva Airport and 10 minutes away from the city center and Lake Geneva, the Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center offers all the services of a four-star Superior hotel. Close to Palexpo exhibition center, Switzerland’s largest hotel welcomes its guests in a modern and warm frame. Comfortable limousines provide free quality transportation service from and to Geneva Airport every 15 minutes, from 5.10 am till 11.45 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Venere, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starling Geneva Hotel Geneva
Starling Geneva Hotel And Conference Center
Crowne Plaza Geneva
Geneva Crowne Plaza
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center Canton Of Geneva, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.