We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport close” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Route Francois-Peyrot 34, Le Grand Saconnex, Geneva 1218, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Bi-Coastal
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Airport close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We booked this hotel just as an overnight in Geneva to return the rental car. What a pleasant surprise! The room was large, comfortable and very clean. We ate in the bar restaurant which was pricey, but it was a hotel bar and in Geneva. Breakfast in the Cafe was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristof_Kadar, Guest Relations Assistant at Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Live4Maine,

Thank you for sharing this excellent experience about the Starling Hotel Geneva.

We are indeed proud to have been a delightful surprise instead of what was planned as a simple overnight stay. It is a pleasure to read that your room and the restaurants equally exceeded your expectations, and that you could satisfy your taste with the 70+ products presented fresh every day on the breakfast buffet!

I personally hope that we will soon get the chance to welcome you for a longer stay! Please do inform me at guestrelations@shgeneva.ch as soon as you have chosen your stay dates.

Looking forward to your return, I extend to you my warmest regards,

Kristof Kadar
Guest Relations Assistant
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    205
    52
    11
    11
See reviews for
33
47
16
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a good close to the airport hotel. The free transport card for Geneva is extremely helpful. Clean rooms with WiFi and coffee maker. Bus stop is close by and 25mins away from city centre. The reason I am not giving this 5 stars is the staff are not that friendly. They do their job very matter of factly and almost get offended if you ask them something. Also glass doors on washroom and no lock. Found that a bit weird, maybe it's a European thing. I mean, I am close to my wife, but not close enough to see her do her business. Otherwise good place, nice outdoor seating area, breakfast on the higher side

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristof_Kadar, Guest Relations Assistant at Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Sam R,

Thank you for having taken the time to share this review on TripAdvisor. Your comments are of the greatest value to us in our everyday efforts to improve the quality of our services.

I am delighted to learn that your stay was a success overall, and that you appreciated the location and your room.

As of service quality, the Starling Hotel Geneva takes pride in providing its trademark Efficiently Different Service, therefore we are eager to know, what exactly happened in your case. Any further information that you would be kind enough to send to guestrelations@shgeneva.ch would greatly help in our thorough follow-up.

I sincerely look forward to your message, and of course, to welcoming you again very soon at the Starling Hotel Geneva.

Please accept my warm regards,

Kristof Kadar
Guest Relations Assistant
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a very large conference hotel opposite Geneva Cointrin Airport and it could feel overwhelmingly impersonal and pricey - but it doesn't. This is partly due to the friendliness and efficiency of the staff, and also a result of the quirky design and ambience. Swiss Red dominates, and there is even a very large and benevolent looking Swiss Cow at the entrance to the breakfast cafe. The rooms have pleasing touches including White Company bathroom products, robes, slippers and water. Wifi is complimentary throughout and was super speedy. We stayed only one night but could easily have used the hotel as a base for touring or city adventures. Breakfast was terrifically high quality - immensely good bread and dairy produce, and a chef on constant patrol to monitor presentation and availability. Larger global chains can feel anonymous and tired at airport locations. This is a distinctive and appealing alternative.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristof_Kadar, Guest Relations Assistant at Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear EdwaltonCavalier,

We cannot thank you enough for submitting this exceptional review about the Staring Geneva Hotel & Conference Center!

Indeed, the members of our team strive to walk the extra mile every day to show the world the side of the Starling you just described: not merely the largest Swiss business hotel, but rather a unique, dynamic place run by a dedicated team of hoteliers, where details are given major attention, and where for every wish, there is a staff member ready to assist.

It is a true pleasure that you mentioned your satisfaction with rooms and free Wi-Fi, as major investments have recently been made in these areas for the comfort of our dear guests. All rooms in the left wing are being refurbished, and the Wi-Fi infrastructure is being upgraded this summer.

We already look forward to getting the chance to welcome you again very soon, and to keeping exceeding your expectations.

Please accept my very warmest regards,

Kristof Kadar
Guest Relations Assistant
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Close to airport with free shuttle

Rooms are very quiet.

Accommodations pretty much standard (I was in a room with 2 twin beds which was unusual but fine for me)


A+ for excellent breakfast buffet. Several bars, both indoors and outdoors were very nice

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristof_Kadar, Guest Relations Assistant at Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear DDRDA99,

Thank you for having taken the time to publish these kind words about your stay at the Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center.

We were more than happy to read that your business stay was successful, and that the location, transport, rooms and restaurants all lived up to your highest expectations.

I truly hope that during your next stay, you will get the chance to keep experiencing more from the numerous services the Starling offers, such as the fitness and wellness centers!

For the time being, please accept my warmest regards,

Kristof Kadar
Guest Relations Assistant
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I have stayed here on multiple occasions for business and always had a great experience. The staff at reception are friendly and happy to help however they can. The rooms are large and the beds are very comfortable. The buffet breakfast has everything you could need and better quality than other hotels I have stayed in. If you are in a hurry they also do a great room service breakfast of bread, cheese, spreads, pastries and drinks. As other reviewers have said, it's very quiet considering it is right next to the airport. The shuttle service to and from the airport is always reliable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristof_Kadar, Guest Relations Assistant at Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Phyth15,

We cannot thank you enough for publishing this excellent review on the Starling Hotel Geneva, and for having rated us with five stars. This is the greatest motivation to our teams to walk the extra mile every day in service.

It is with pleasure that we read that simply all the aspects of your stay lived up to your expectations including location, transport, rooms, restaurants and most of all, Starling’s trademark efficiently different service.

Upon your return, I would be delighted to help you discover the numerous other services and facilities the Starling offers, and that it can actually be the leisure in a business trip.

Looking forward to that occasion, I present you my warmest regards,

Kristof Kadar
Guest Relations Assistant
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable rooms, pleasant staff and excellent food at breakfast and in the Italian restaurant. Bar is large with a cigar humidor and smoking area that is sealed off and well ventilated.

The bedroom has an AC control in it with the brightest green LED you will find anywhere. I stretched a sock over it on my second night which did the job!

My only issue is the excruciating amount of time to check in and checkout.

This hotel is also used extensively by air crews who also take priority at pickup from the airport by the hotel shuttle bus.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristof_Kadar, Guest Relations Assistant at Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Bounce1972,

Thank you for publishing this review about your recent stay at the Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center. Your remarks are of the greatest importance and value to us in our everyday efforts to improve the quality of our services.

It is with pleasure that we read that overall you were satisfied with your stay, including rooms and restaurants.

However, I do apologize for the waiting times at the reception! This is unusual, and it would be my pleasure to look into the matter if you were so kind as to inform me about the dates of your stay at guestrelations@shgeneva.ch.

Finally, I am truly happy that you found the transport options to the city comfortable. Concerning the airport, in fact, shuttle buses are at our dear guests’ service every 15 minutes, and the shuttles carrying airline company members are further added to this fleet, to ensure perfect transfers for everyone.

I truly hope to get the chance to welcome you upon your return to the Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, and to cater for any wishes you may have, as well as the ones listed above.

Please accept my warmest regards,

Kristof Kadar
Guest Relations Assistant
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel is great if you're working the area - it's quick to get in and out. The rooms are a good size, comfy bed and nice bathrooms. The breakfast is large and has pretty much everything. The Italian restaurant is fantastic - great food and service! Despite being near the airport, it's very quiet - no issues with the planes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristof_Kadar, Guest Relations Assistant at Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear traveler2757,

Thank you very much for the time you took to publish this excellent review on TripAdvisor, as well as for granting the hotel the highest possible rating!

We were delighted to read that all major aspects of your business stay – including transport services, rooms, food and beverages - lived up to your highest expectations. The team of the Starling strives every day to improve the quality of its services, and learn and exceed the expectations of each dear guest.

I sincerely look forward to welcoming you very soon in Geneva again, and it would my pleasure to welcome you personally. For any wishes, I am at your service at guestrelations@shgeneva.ch.

Awaiting that occasion, please accept my warmest regards,

Kristof Kadar
Guest Relations Assistant
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center

Address: Route Francois-Peyrot 34, Le Grand Saconnex, Geneva 1218, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Le Grand Saconnex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Le Grand Saconnex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located to 3 minutes away from Geneva Airport and 10 minutes away from the city center and Lake Geneva, the Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center offers all the services of a four-star Superior hotel. Close to Palexpo exhibition center, Switzerland’s largest hotel welcomes its guests in a modern and warm frame. Comfortable limousines provide free quality transportation service from and to Geneva Airport every 15 minutes, from 5.10 am till 11.45 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starling Geneva Hotel Geneva
Starling Geneva Hotel And Conference Center
Crowne Plaza Geneva
Geneva Crowne Plaza
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center Canton Of Geneva, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.