We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get lost!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Route Francois-Peyrot 34, Le Grand Saconnex, Geneva 1218, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't get lost!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Hotel is big, has all kind of amenities and of course a Gym and a pool, but they are in the other part of the Hotel and you have to walk through the hotel hall to get there. We had to ask twice to finally find our way (and we were not the only ones). But once you arrive, then it's real good and the pool is long and wide.
Room: Small rooms, and as it is close to the airport, there is the noise from the starting and landing planes.(not after midnight)
Food: We had dinner and it was fine, only the waiting time was a bit nerve-consuming.
Breakfast: only one comment: BEST breakfast and variety in years.

Room Tip: There is a wing where the noise of the starting and landing planes cannot be (or much less)heard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    206
    52
    11
    11
See reviews for
33
47
16
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This business hotel is very close to the airport (no airport noise, thankfully). There is an airport shuttle (it could run a little more frequently). There is also a shuttle that goes to the industrial area in the morning. The buffet style breakfast has a good selection and good coffee.The pool is a nice benefit. Nice place to stay when in Geneva for work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked a room which cost £220.00 a night and had written confirmation of this.
When we arrived on 19 January 2013 and checked in at 5 minutes before midnight, we were told by a very rude duty manager that the hotel was fully booked due to Geneva airport claiming all the rooms for passengers on delayed flights. We were told that he would 'do us a favour' and have a room cleaned for us if we waited 30 to 40 minutes. We waited 1 and a half hours to get our room and finally got into the room at twenty minutes to two in the morning! We left the room 5 hours later to catch our flight.
In addition, we were given a single quilt on a double bed and we have photographs to prove it!
The duty manager was not helpful at all and was quite keen to let us know what a big favour he was doing us EVEN THOUGH IT WAS THE HOTEL'S MISTAKE IN THE FIRST PLACE!

Room Tip: Would not recommend this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I booked a superior room but the room is really quite small so I am not sure what is a standard room. Location is great if your activities are in the airport area. If not you can take bus number 5 to city centre. Staff at the hotel are not very service orientated and asking the same question to different people you may get different answers too. Like shuttle service is every 15 mins but reception said 30 mins. Gym opens at 6 am but concierge said 6.30 am.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here as a client was paying and it was close to the airport for our business flight the next morning. Rooms were comfortable, good beds, very quiet so got a good night's sleep.
If you want service with a smile, however, this is not the place to come. Swiss customer service can be a bit adrift sometimes and that's true of the Starling hotel.
The hotel restaurant charged 44 chf for six pieces of ravioli pasta as a main course. We complained and an extra plate of calamari was brought for no extra charge - the waiter admitted there were often complaints. It just felt like a total rip-off and was disappointing.
The worst thing was the early morning shuttle. We needed a 0510 bus and there was a bus there but we were refused entry, being told it was for airline staff only - yet it was a Starling branded bus. We then had to wait almost 15 minutes outside for another bus. The staff at the hotel desk really could not have cared less. Having stayed at very cheap hotels at Geneva airport when I'm paying the bill, I know they offer a better service and so I would not come back to the Starling again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A perfect venue, close to the airport. Relaxing in the pool, jacuzzi, sauna until just before take-off. Hotel let us stay until way past the regular check-out time.

Very good overnight just before a long journey. Staff was friendly and helpful, beds and bathrooms, linen, towels pristine. great finishes

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It is a pity with such a big new hotel but staff at the counter do not know how to smile and be friendly with guess (especially one asia staff at the counter was really unfriendly ( I am asia). If you come for travel in Geneva please stay in the ccity, do not come here, it is not convenince.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania L, General Manager at Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest,
We are sorry to read that you did not feel welcomed during your stay. Please be assured that your experience did not reflect our standard of service.
We continuously train and follow all the team members to assure the best possible attention to our guests ‘expectations. Obviously it did not work in this case and we do apologise for the perception you had of our hotel.
Nevertheless, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again under other circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center

Address: Route Francois-Peyrot 34, Le Grand Saconnex, Geneva 1218, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Le Grand Saconnex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Le Grand Saconnex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located to 3 minutes away from Geneva Airport and 10 minutes away from the city center and Lake Geneva, the Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center offers all the services of a four-star Superior hotel. Close to Palexpo exhibition center, Switzerland’s largest hotel welcomes its guests in a modern and warm frame. Comfortable limousines provide free quality transportation service from and to Geneva Airport every 15 minutes, from 5.10 am till 11.45 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starling Geneva Hotel Geneva
Starling Geneva Hotel And Conference Center
Crowne Plaza Geneva
Geneva Crowne Plaza
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center Canton Of Geneva, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.