We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice transit hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Route Francois-Peyrot 34, Le Grand Saconnex, Geneva 1218, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice transit hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Nice modern just for transit hotel. Close to airport and Palexpo. Far, far from Geneve center. With a very nice spa, this hotel can be a good choice to stop over between two flys. But, because is a BUT, the services offered like exchange rate are not fair. So ask first about their prices for everthing!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    153
    45
    10
    9
See reviews for
26
35
11
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Since Starling has taken over the management of this hotel ( this used to be the Crowne Plaza), things are improving.
Check innis always professional and fast, you also get a free transportation voucher to use within the Geneva area.

Breakfast is obviously buffet style, with a good array of hoth cold and hot dishes, pastries etc.
Especially the Eggs Florentine are to be recommended, as are the Croissants and fine selection of Yoghurts.

The rooms on the oldest side have been renovated, are quite small but include all amenities needed. Especially the bathrooms are beautiful. Hallways can be a bit dark.
A good thing is that ice machines are located on every floor. this is also the case in the newer part of the hotel.

Wifi is now included in the rate and available in the rooms. A Plus as this was not the case when the hotel was still under Crowne Plaza management.

The Fitness facilities and Pool are simply fantastic. professional equipment, large and modern.

Negative points to this hotel:
# the prices for mini bar items and room service are like usual criminal.
# the hotel is far from the Centre, but free transportation cards are supplied.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania L, Guest Relations Manager at Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Starling Hotel Geneva. Thank you for having taken the time to share your delightful experience on Tripadvisor.
We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you during your next visit in Geneva.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was in Geneva on sunday night ... at first glance all great although very impersonal. Nice pool ... very regular hammam and ladies changing rooms ... The mattress was horrible !!!! the Internet connection lousy unless you take the paying version, the restaurant L'olivo looked beautiful, but I thought the food was disappointing except for the olive oil, the balsamic vinegar, the bread, the mise en bouche and wine. The pasta were not well cooked and horrible expensive for what it is. Service was regular.

Room Tip: The best thing without a doubt is the breakfast. Take the buffet that is worth your money the rest i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We travel regularly to Geneva for vacations since we have family living there, in the past we stayed in other hotels near the lake but our last visit was not pleasant to find very expensive hotel rates and a kind of arrogant attitude in a hotel where we stayed for many years. so my sister recomended the Starling that resulted in a very nice surprise, being a modern hotel, looks like it has been renovated recently and the size of the rooms are quite nice as well as the bathroom and closet. the hotel is very clean and all the staff is Swiss efficient. you have options like optional free WIFI and other things like passes to use the Geneva transportation service that is also very efficient to go downtown. The rates were fair in considetation of Geneva being a very expensive city but certainly from now on we will consider this hotel as our home away from home when visitin our family in Geneva.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania L, Guest Relations Manager at Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice and warm comment! We are glad that you spent a great time at the Starling Hotel Geneva.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the hotel,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed with weekend package (available from website -- be sure to ask hotel staff for some package offerings like welcome drink which are not included in welcome envelope, also 15% on discount on food drinks was not applied automatically at checkout) . Very nice new modern renovated rooms on top 7th floor -- junior suite rooms can hear some airplane noise (use ear plugs if you are sensitive). Standard rooms have half door showers so flood the bathroom floor if you shower like a normal person.

Weekend is quite, few people. Not much around so need to go to town. Walk approx 5 minutes to bus stop (through back alley, up slight hill). At night, if alone, probably better to take bus/train to airport and then free hotel shuttle (arrival level, outside door #4 for hotel shuttles), however be aware that the hotel shuttle doesn't seem to follow the every 15 minutes schedule especially at night time (may need to call the hotel if don't see shuttle after 15 min and plan on waiting 25 min or longer). Week days have a lot more people and more food options at breakfast and fresher fruits (including custom omelettes, not available on weekends)

Overall hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Food quality was in general good but expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANADA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were very pleased with the hotel. Our room on the 4th floor was really lovely with a window seat below a large window. The room was spotless, quiet, and comfortable.
The WiFi worked great and we had no issues with it. It was free. The girl who checked us in was friendly and helpful. The lobby area has a beautiful staircase. We took a bus after a short walk and went down to the lakeside. The hotel gave us a map and provided helpful directons. Very close to the airport and the pickup offered was great. We would most defintiely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania L, Guest Relations Manager at Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Starling Hotel Geneva. Thank you for having taken the time to share your delightful experience on Tripadvisor.
We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you during your next visit in Geneva.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here because of an event I organized. Good service, nice rooms, windows that can be opened. The only downside was that the bedsheets were too small, which is a bit odd, apart from that the room had everything I needed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center

Also Known As:
Starling Geneva Hotel And Conference Center
Starling Geneva Hotel Geneva
Starling Geneva Hotel
Crowne Plaza Geneva
Geneva Crowne Plaza
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center Canton Of Geneva, Switzerland
Address: Route Francois-Peyrot 34, Le Grand Saconnex, Geneva 1218, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Geneva > Le Grand Saconnex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Le Grand Saconnex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located to 3 minutes away from Geneva Airport and 10 minutes away from the city center and Lake Geneva, the Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center offers all the services of a four-star Superior hotel. Close to Palexpo exhibition center, Switzerland’s largest hotel welcomes its guests in a modern and warm frame. Comfortable limousines provide free quality transportation service from and to Geneva Airport every 15 minutes, from 5.10 am till 11.45 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.