We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel - close to airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Route Francois-Peyrot 34, Le Grand Saconnex, Geneva 1218, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Moscow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Business hotel - close to airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Starling Geneva is typical business hotel close to airport and with conference fascilities.

Pros:
- mini van shuttle between hotel and airport free of charge;
- clean and spacious rooms, quite;
- close to the airport (if you don't plan for shopping and/or sight seeing);
- moderately priced - compared to other Geneva hotels of the same level;
- sufficient breakfast with decent variety of meals.

Cons:
- unfriendly staff - I had to ask to come back to my room to take forgotten mobile phone recharger for 5!!! times;
- on business day it is impossible to get out of the hotel - I was late to my meeting due to complete mess with taxi arrangements and portier being unable to provide any explanations or clarification;
- far from all the sights of interest and shopping areas.

Recommended: to business travelers seeking for fast commuting with airport, with no/limited need to connect to city center around morning time.

Not recommended: to tourists interested in sight seeing, shopping etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    203
    52
    11
    11
See reviews for
33
47
16
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011 via mobile

Once again like so often during the last 15 years stayed at this hotel for its convenience. The hotel is nice and clean, the rooms are ok. The rooms in the new wing are getting better daylight and probably are slightly bigger. But you cannot open the window. Personally I prefer the rooms in the old wing, and after the recent refurbishing they are good value.
Very convenient, next to the airport and the exhibition hall, but no remarkable aircraft noise - quiet at night.
There is a free shuttle service to the airport that leaves every quarter of an hour or so.
The breakfast is not included in the rate, and is abusively expensive , somewhere in the range of 40 CHF. If you want to go to the center of Geneva, there is bus number 5 , which can be reached with a 3-4 minute walk. Free day tickets are available from the concierge.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

A business hotel that it's really nothing special. Unfriendly people at the reception and average food at breakfast and as room service.
I would only choose it because it's near the airport and it doesn't cost so much compared to the other hotels in Geneva.
But nothing special and a anonym place in general.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillington, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This hotel is excellent for early morning flights because it is next to the airport. Swiss Air had lost my luggage the day I arrived, even though I was charged over $300 to bring it onto the aircraft. I was very upset. I was never going to return to Switzerland again. The front desk staff and the management at the Starling were very kind. I had only my golf clubs and the clothes on my back. I was given a bathrobe, slippers and extra toiletries.

Later, I was taken by limo to the airport to look for my luggage, which had arrived on a later flight. I was able to locate my bag fairly quickly. The hotel staff did everything possible to make my stay at the Starling Geneva a pleasant one. I would recommend this hotel to single travellers because it is very convenient to the airport and city centre. The room was clean, spacious and stylish. A shuttle service to the airport is available.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkans
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

This Hotel was formally a Crown Plazza

The hotel is very conveniently located minutes free shuttle from arrival gate 3 at Geneva Airport.

The common areas are spacious, comfortable and reminicent of 70's retro cool. Cool not Kitsch!

During my two night stay the room was perfectly cleaned and prepared. Hotel supplied nice toiletries, slippers and bath robes. (XL bath robe was medium sized)

Room service was prompt and tasty, the food however slightly cold.

Orange juice at breakfast instead of fresh was re-constituted and highly acidic, leaving me with heartburn most of the morning.

The would benefit from a proper coffee machine and someone who knows how to operate it rather than the vending machine style cappuccino.

Over all a pleasant stay

Would recommend and stay again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was okay. The room was somewhat small. No gift shop or place to buy necessities.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is a good hotel for business travelers. It is right next to PalExpo, Geneva airport, which makes it easy to attend conferences. Not a place I would pick if I were on vacation. I had a suprior room. It is an ok size and quite clean. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. Shuttle service to the airport is prompt and easy. The hotel is a little ways from town center, but #5 bus is within very short walking distance, and is an efficient way to get to shopping district and old town. The restaurant in the hotel is quite expensive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center

Address: Route Francois-Peyrot 34, Le Grand Saconnex, Geneva 1218, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Le Grand Saconnex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Le Grand Saconnex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located to 3 minutes away from Geneva Airport and 10 minutes away from the city center and Lake Geneva, the Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center offers all the services of a four-star Superior hotel. Close to Palexpo exhibition center, Switzerland’s largest hotel welcomes its guests in a modern and warm frame. Comfortable limousines provide free quality transportation service from and to Geneva Airport every 15 minutes, from 5.10 am till 11.45 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starling Geneva Hotel Geneva
Starling Geneva Hotel And Conference Center
Crowne Plaza Geneva
Geneva Crowne Plaza
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center Canton Of Geneva, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.