We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a hospital or boarding school than a hotel. Soulless and impersonal.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Da Guine | Antigo Edifício Hidrotecnica, Prior Velho 2685-334, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prior Velho
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“More like a hospital or boarding school than a hotel. Soulless and impersonal.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I understood that this was very close to airport, however it was very difficult to find despite having directions. Following stressfull attempts to locate it, I returned my hired car to the airport a day early and got the shuttle from there. It appeared to be in an industrial complex. Had a reasonable shuttle to airport. No restaurant close by and the food in the hotel restaurant was the worst I have eaten. Apart from a lovely waitress in the restaurant ( more like school canteen) the hotel staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. In fact I would say that it was more like a prison even than a school! A wasted night in Lisbon! Nothing would induce me to ever return, sleeping in airport would have been preferable. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

Good afternoon.

We would like to thank you for your preference in Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport, it was really a pleasure to welcome you.
We will take in consideration your comments about our service and keep those as a reminder that we have to be capable to satisfy all our guests no matter their needs are.
On the name of all team really, we are really sorry for your disappointment, we promise that in a close future we will be waiting for you in the same place, but with a smile on our faces, so you can understand that all your negative aspects about our service, were isolated.

Best regards,

Jorge Barroqueiro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    193
    101
    27
    25
See reviews for
76
168
47
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel close to the airport.

Alexander at reception, really knows how to wellcome the weary traveller.

Rooms beautifully modernized.
Option of calming blue mood lighting.
Spotlessly clean room and bathroom.
Very comfortable bed.
Quiet rooms.

Huge free breakfast.

Shuttle back to airport at 5.45am.
Great, well dressed (suited at 5.45 am!) young driver.
Wish I knew about this shuttle availablity upon entering Lisbon. Had to take a cab which was shabby and more expensive.

Room Tip: all good. ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
Green Features: Good. Had dual flush toilets and low lighting. Not sure about the rest.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this room because it said it was near the Lisbon Airport. It was not. It was at least three or more kilometers. After being ripped off by a cab driver who tried to triple charge me I got to the hotel about ten pm. They had given away my room which I reserved online and said that my credit card had been declined and they had cancelled my booking. Of course, this was not true. They had oversold the property and gave away my room because I gotmthere late. They offered to rebook me in a "nearby" hotel, which ended up being a twenty euro cab ride near the river in Lisbon, and then of course twenty euros back to the airport. Once I got home I got an email from the booking site asking me why I did not check in. Stay away from this place like the plague is there. I have had good luck with holiday in selects in several cities but not this one. Because I was so far away from the airport I had to get up at four am to make a seven am flight. You would be much better off staying at the TRYP Lisbon airport where I stayed on another visit.

Room Tip: Stay away, stay far away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Dennis,

We would like to thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport, and for the time to write a review about your travel experience.
It is a pleasure for us to welcome all our guests and make them feel at home, but because we have high occupancy rates all year, we need to guarantee all reservation with a credit card authorization to be possible to provide the best service. We would advise to contact your bank in order to clarify this situation, so it want happen again in another reservation.
Oversold is not part of our vocabulary in IHG Hotels Group, we are proud in what we do and the service we provide, as well as being part of the biggest hotel chain in the world, so for that reason it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again one day soon.

Best Regards,

Jorge Barroqueiro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prior Velho hotels

Brussels
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here on my last night in Lisbon before catching a plane. The staff were friendly, helpful and welcome and the room was clean and comfortable. However, there was no soundproofing between my room and the adjacent one, so I was kept awake by my neighbours' conversation. They weren't even shouting — one of them just had a voice that was a bit loud. Another design flaw was the smooth, round bath tap — not ideal if you care about the environment and turn the tap off when soaping up in the shower. I had dinner in the restaurant, which was tasty and inexpensive, but lukewarm. The self service breakfast was copious and nice. All in all the place wasn't bad given the price I paid, but I should have brought ear plugs.

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Hugh73Brussels,

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that the cleanliness of our hotel was to your liking. However, it is unfortunate that issues with the noise disturbances prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Sincerely,

Dianne L
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

i just stayed at this hotel for 2 nights because of how close is it to the airport and i had an early flight and i wanted to be as close as i could to it at the time of leaving.The only 2 good thing i can say about this hotel are ;location if you have an early flight and second nice staff from the front desk to the hotels drivers even though they charge more for any ride than regular cabs and the bad one is that it was not that clean i found hairs all over the bath room from the floor to the shower,but i guess is some thing that is regular at holiday inn express every where.

this review is base in my experience in may 2012

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Franky G,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We are happy to know that our location suited your needs and appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Clean convenient to airport for those early morning flights. Rooms are decent and clean. Basic continental breakfast, staff is helpful. Restaurant has a small bar but prices are high. They offer dinner but we opted for sandwiches out of the vending machine which were not bad. Staff even offered to microwave them for us which was nice. Good TV channel choices. There was a shuttle to the airport but we didn't use but it seemed to come frequently. I would recommend this hotel if you are flying out the next morning.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I had to make an overnight in Lisbon and I've booked a room in a hotel close to the airport. There is a shuttle bus to/from the airport. The rooms and the facilities were new. The service of the 'reception' team was excellent (thank you Alexander)! I think, breakfast could be improved.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport

Address: Rua Da Guine | Antigo Edifício Hidrotecnica, Prior Velho 2685-334, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Prior Velho
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prior Velho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport, a brand new modern hotel, ideally located next to Lisbon International Airport and only minutes away from FIL trade fair venue, the Pavilhão Atlântico and Lisbon City Centre. Whether you re coming on a short business trip or to see the historical sights, you ll find this Budget Hotel perfectly adapted to both occasions.Lisboa Oriente, the closest train and metro station, is located a mere 5 min away (by car), and just next to it is Vasco da Gama Shopping Centre. Less than 5 miles away from the Hotel, you can find main attractions like the Lisbon Casino, the Oceanarium, Gulbenkian Museum and St. George s Castle with its astonishing views over the Seven Hills.The Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport offers twin bedrooms with 2 single beds for a maximum of 2 adults, and double rooms with a double bed and a sofa, where families of 2 adults and 2 children (under 18) can comfortably stay.All guestrooms are equipped with A/C, a spacious work desk, cable LCD TV and pay-tv, direct dial phone, hairdryer, ice bucket, en-suite bathtub, tea and coffeemaker (for complimentary use) and high speed internet access at a charge. Make yourself comfortable and kick off your day with an appetising complimentary continental buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.