We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, fantastic restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iriarte Jauregia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Iriarte Jauregia Hotel to your Saves list
Iriarte Jauregia Hotel
Eliz Bailara, 8 (Bidania-Goiatz), 20496 Bidania, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bidania
GreenLeadersGold level
Essex
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Highly recommend you spend a couple of nights here if you want fresh air, lovely rooms and a fantastic restaurant.
If you are a hill walker then this will be perfect for you. Rooms are decent size, very modern, it was a palace in the 17th century,so you have a combination of modern living with history.
Friendly staff and dog friendly too.
Standard of cooking in the restaurant is 'fine Dining' . For us who are used to paying London prices, it was very reasonable.
Nothing to dislike, no pool or spa for the people who is into spa.

Room Tip: You have to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    32
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
153
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

A fantastic place to visit - lovely drive into the countryside which resembles Alpine meadows. The hotel is a lovely old place and a good mix of traditional and modern the bedrooms are large with sitting areas and super bed and bathroom with lovely views of the sunset over the hills. The restaurant is first class with modern a Mediterranean menu - whilst we were there the restaurant was quiet but worth the experience and after dinner drinks can be taken in the library. The drive to San Sebastian isn't too bad around 45 mins and Biarritz 60 mins all in all a super place to stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We enjoyed our 3 day stay at this lovely place. It is a beautiful stately house, with comfortable rooms. Outstanding restaurant - Bailara - and great service.
Wonderful mountain scenery - fresh air - great walks - as isolated as u would want it yet in easy reach of the coast and of San Sebastián.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We spent three night here and Oh My!
Iriarte Jauregia is a castle refurbished as a luxury hotel, placed in the Basque Country, beautiful peace and quiet, perfect place to get oneself back with nature.
Rooms are excellent as is the free WIFI.
What you get with this fantastic property, is the heavenly food that comes from the kitchen. The hotel is also a gastronomic delight. The restaurant Bialara is very fine, even the food from the snack bar menu is wonderful.
Some might find the service a little stuffy and awkward at times, but many clients require this formality, and clearly the business is catering to them.
We loved this place and are talking about a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed at the end of July 2014 after 3 weeks of travelling around France in a camper van. The two nights we spent here were a welcomed bit of luxury! The whole place retained it's old charm but felt modern. The rural location is beautiful but it is a 50 euro taxi ride to San Sebastián if you are planning on going out. The breakfast is great the best coffee I had all holiday and on the second day we ate it outside.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

One of my all time favourite hotels. A real find and one I will return to
The hotel is beautiful, the restaurant was excellent with amazing food and great service. The scenery is amazing and a real retreat from everyday stresses

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stayed at Iriate Jaugeria for four nights in June 2014. My expectations had been so high so I was expecting to be brought back down to earth. This place is five star and the whole experience is wonderful. It is a tranquil private sophisticated place to stay. You stand in the shower looking out at rolling hills of cows with cow bells ringing and sit at late evening looking over the very green hills with a wine in your hands and it's pure bliss.
I don't consider myself a foodie but I was given a gazpacho between course that when I looked at it I thought cold green soup but the taste I still marvel at back in Australia today.
It's not a place for a wild holiday but for a great base to see the Basque Country and cross the boarder to Spain it is perfect.
The other guests loved it as much as me as so much care has been taken to make a lovely polished retreat.

Room Tip: Top floor room looking out over the valley is spectacular and perfect for one person
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iriarte Jauregia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iriarte Jauregia Hotel

Address: Eliz Bailara, 8 (Bidania-Goiatz), 20496 Bidania, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > Bidania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bidania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iriarte Jauregia Hotel is an elegant 17th century palace located in Gipuzkoa, in an impressive valley surrounded by woodlands and mountains and only 25 minutes from the centre of Donostia-San Sebastian. Its interior design is a product of carefully selected decor that brings together the past and the present to create an intimate, quiet and relaxing atmosphere. 19 Charming rooms with character. The only aim of the splendid views, the materials, textures, colours and each little touch is to make every stay an experience that is full of pleasant sensations. Luxury surrounded by nature. Thanks to its excellent location in the centre of the Basque Country, you can enjoy tranquillity and nature and also conveniently visit the main tourist attractions. Very good road links. Tolosa (10 km), Azpeitia (13 km) and only 25 minutes from the centre of Donostia-San Sebastian. Iriarte Jauregia has different areas which allow you to make the most of your stay. It has a large garden where you can relax in the shade of an ancient tree, have a drink on the terrace while you watch the sunset, or enjoy a tasty outdoor breakfast, weather permitting. Outdoor parking and free Wi-Fi connection. In its BAILARA Restaurant, led by Chef Enrique Fleischmann you will enjoy a signature cuisine in a warm and friendly atmosphere. Additionally, in the Snack Bar and the Library Room you will find a pleasant, laid back place to enjoy your favourite drink and the informal Quick & Easy menu. You will can enjoy luxury beauty and wellness treatments in the privacy of your room. Wellness, cuisine and relaxation. Four stars of complete comfort. Luxury surrounded by nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Escapio so you can book your Iriarte Jauregia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iriarte Jauregia Hotel Spain/Bidania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iriarte Jauregia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.