We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iriarte Jaugeria Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iriarte Jauregia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iriarte Jauregia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iriarte Jauregia Hotel
Eliz Bailara, 8 (Bidania-Bidegoian), 20496 Bidegoian, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bidegoian
GreenLeadersGold level
Tokyo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Iriarte Jaugeria Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A huge country house converted into a unique small hotel with authentic old architecture and contemporary interiors, in an efficient and functional but very pleasant and elegant way. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable, personal and helpful, the surroundings are rustic with forests, pastures and farmhouses. Wifi very efficient, with a wonderful restaurant with tasting menu. Comfortable beyond dreams. We came here to enjoy the restaurants of Bilbao and San Sebastian, but also to get away from the urban bustle. The drive to the Riarte is adventurous. Definitely will return here for another stay.

Room Tip: the first floor rooms are more a blend of antique and contemporary
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    31
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
139
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay if you want quiet. The room we had was nice and spacious with good bathroom and very clean.
We eat in the Resturant three nights and the food and service was outstanding.
The grounds are very nice, it would be nice to have some sun loungers though.
Breakfast is good.
Can recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne Engaine, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel. The accommodation is first rate, the staff are extremely polite ,helpful and charming. The setting is idyllic and peaceful.
We recently stayed here. We had a standard room that was clean, the bed huge and the ambiance and design was luxurious. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I recently had an operation on my shoulder and found the pillows were not supportive enough. I mentioned this to Ibran (the owner) and was immediately supplied with a tempra pillow from the superior room. What ever you need you just had to ask and it was provided with a smile, Ibran will get upset if you do not mention to him if something is not quite right.The food is first rate but you do not feel obliged to stay there and eat. The staff have a host of local recommendations ( the restaurant at Santa Marina is well worth a visit) and will happily make reservations for you.
The Hotel has been finished and designed to a very high standard and is located just outside a small quiet village. If peace and quiet ( and evening drinks overlooking a valley) is what you are after then this is a must place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

One of the best hotels and restaurants I have experienced. For the English speaking traveler in Northern Spain, the hotel staff was bi-lingual. The rooms were stylish and modern and the beds were great. The renovation is quite comfortable, from the bar to the reading room it was great. The front desk was very helpful in suggesting local hikes. The restaurant was so good that we experienced the entire menu over 3 nights. Each meal was delicious, and well presented. Waiters were terrific. The wine list was limited but the selection of Spanish wines was great. We all agreed that this was the very best hotel of our 10 day trip. We spent a day in nearby villages and Iriarte was convenient in terms of visiting other destinations.
Breakfast was wonderful, with endless cappuccino, great ham and fresh orange juice. Stepping outside the hotel to the fragrances of flowers and pine was delicious. I have no complaints and would happily return for a meal or another visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This boutique hotel was such a surprise. It is not what you'd expect to see amongst the goats in the countryside of Northern Spain. This is a stunning old palace that has been completely restored and fabulously decorated. It is surrounded by the most beautiful countryside and is a peaceful and tranquil place to stay. The rooms are spacious and luxurious. The restaurant is superb and really some of the most incredible food I've had at a boutique hotel of this size. They have an excellent selection of local wines. The breakfast is outstanding. If you're adventurous and don't mind the drive into San Sebastian (about 40 minutes) you can save money on what you'd normally spend for the same quality in the city. I'd advise you not to try and find this place in the dark, definitely plan to arrive during the day and don't rely on the GPS. Finding it the first time can be tricky but the locals in the town of Bidegoian can point you in the right direction. I will definitely be back. This was one of the highlights of my trip to Spain.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
426 helpful votes 426 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

In the middle of nowhere on winding roads through quaint little towns and you stumble of this place. It is a revelation. The absolute poster child for an upscale, swish boutique hotel.
I couldn't say enough good things about it. It is a destination hotel as there is not much of anything around there (except maybe for San Sebastian 45 minutes away or so).
Very romantic.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Boutique hotels do not get any better than this. Faultless, stylish, friendly, polished, stunning, edgy, I could go on. It's very rare that you find hotels that get absolutely everything right, from the immaculate renovation and brilliant contemporary / classic mix of design and interior, to the effortless warmth and service of the staff to the best meal that I have had for many years - don't underestimate the food here, it is world class top end.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iriarte Jauregia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iriarte Jauregia Hotel

Address: Eliz Bailara, 8 (Bidania-Bidegoian), 20496 Bidegoian, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > Bidegoian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bidegoian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iriarte Jauregia is a XVII century palace completely restored in 2009.It is an elegant Four Star Hotel with cared decoration that combines antique furniture and works of fine art with elements such as wood, stone, glass or iron. Located in Bidania,a beautiful valley 500 m above sea level surrounded by farmhouses, forests and mountains is in the center of Gipuzkoa and only 25 minutes from downtown San Sebastian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Iriarte Jauregia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iriarte Jauregia Hotel Spain/Bidegoian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iriarte Jauregia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.