We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best destination in my entire life!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Botik Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mentawai Islands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Botik Resort
Save
You added Botik Resort to your Saves list
north part of the island in front of the islands of Mainuk and Nyang Nyang, West Sumatra, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best destination in my entire life!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Travelled there with my wife. We were both immediately in love with this resort and the great views, incredible surf, amazing food, atmosphere and the service offered during our stay. We flipped our minds snorkeling with turtles and all types of fish. Caught a huge barracuda, too!!!

Anyone looking for great surf, good quality accommodation and a holiday to remember should check this place out. 10/10

Keep it up guys because we are already planning to come back!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Botik makes a great surf trip with great food, accomadation, friendly workers and will never run out of Bintang after a day full of barrels!!, the botik island is situated around several different waves making for an epic surf session in all conditions we were lucky enough to score a couple sessions at kandui with no one out with perfect 6ft barrels under the sunset. The Botik crew held a awesome night for a mate that was turning 21 which topped a great surf trip with many laughs....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

muito bem tratado no coracao das mentawaiis melhor localizacao hospitalidade de primeira.
mi hermano mario muito buena persona.The place is set up beautifully in the heart of mentawaiis good boats , great staff working the food is amazing and also the best price after 8 times in into would not book a different resort thanks to mario see you next year again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

botik resort in mentawai island is in the best location of playgrounds.there are as many waves as u can surf every day.the hospitality in botik surfcamp and the people who work there make your surf trip like a dream that become true.

Room Tip: no es necesario porque estan increibles todas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed there for 10 days. Island is great, the resort... too much! Mario and Melissa helped us so much with our stay. My girlfriend did not surf and she was as happy or more than the rest. We had 2 boats for 8 of us, and the choice of waves was amazing. Food, way too nice, fresh fish everyday, and price is really good compared to other places I have seen around here. If you going to mentawais with your girl, It s a must!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

GUEST REVIEW JULY 2012: The Botik Resort is a lower-cost alternative to Kandui and other land-based resorts. It is centrally located on a pristine island with close-access to Playgrounds and other prime Mentawai breaks. It is managed/owned by a Spaniard and South African assistant. The resort advertises two local boats (to prevent overcrowding the breaks/accomodate different wave preferences), with one usually available to guests at any given time (guests are highly encouraged to consolidate trips).

Bungalows are comfortable with A/C, electric power points and mosquito nets. Showers do not have hot water. No laundry options are offered/available as I hand cleaned my laundry in a dirty foot bucket at the base of our hut.

Wave conditions varied during our 11 day stay (2-4 foot Hawaiian). Smaller swell size meant crowds at most of the breaks. A typical day consisted of 2-3 sessions playing hide and seek with the other legions of land and yacht-based groups crowding each other out. During one session, 23 Brazilians joined an already full line-up at Hideaways.

If food is important, alternative options should be considered. Meals are large-portioned but unimaginative and inconsistent (fish scrambled eggs, burgers, fried fish, meatballs, with cabbage salads). Although, on the last night, dog-toothed tuna sashimi was served. No options are offered for snacks in-between meal times. Brewed coffee is not available at the resort (Indonesian branded instant coffee is available as management does not drink fresh coffee). Canned beer is available for $3.50. No ice is available despite being requested daily. Drinking water is only available from the lounge area and distributed in well-used plastic mineral water bottles that are shared throughout the day. No sports drinks are available/sold.

During one questionable incident, management failed to immediately retrieve a guest's lost surfboard with their boat prompting locals/a competing camp to charge $200 USD for its safe return.

"Speedboat" transportation from Padang to the camp is a grueling 5 hour journey via local wooden boats.

If you decide to book here, you may want to consider booking less than the 11-day advertised package and add days if desired; once payment is made, management will not allow you to leave even one day early without forfeiting full payment, but will extend stays at a lower rates, depending on the guest (certain friends were allowed to depart after only 3 days with no penalty, but when we requested to depart one day early, we were denied.). Pay 20% up front if you choose to stay here.

All in all this was a good trip, but compared with other experiences, and other options/comments from guests staying elsewhere, the management's style, and food left much to be desired.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Botik Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botik Resort

Address: north part of the island in front of the islands of Mainuk and Nyang Nyang, West Sumatra, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Mentawai Islands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mentawai Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Botik resort is situated in the heart of the playgrounds area, a mere 5 to 20 minute boat ride to all of the surrounding breaks. A maximum guest capacity of 10 people between 2 speedboats means we can get to the breaks as quick as possible and with less crowds. Large rooms and a lot of space are a main priority for us. In the middle and right on our breath taking beach we have the restaurant perfectly situated to enjoy the best sunsets you could imagine. All meals, snacks, and non-alcoholic drinks are included in the price and our representative in Padang is there to take our guests from the airport to the speedboat for transfer directly to our resort. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botik Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.