We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B&B that I'll definitely visit again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mas Azemar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mercues
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Mas Azemar
rue du Mas de Vinssou, 46090 Mercues, Cahors, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Mercues B&B and Inns
Toulouse
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A B&B that I'll definitely visit again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This beautiful 18th century home has been lovingly restored and decorated with exquisite taste by Claude and Sabine. He was a Paris photographer before, while she worked in Geneva in banking. They are perfect hosts, and it is worth taking the "table d'hôtes" option at least one night to share an aperitif and dinner with them. The rooms are large and comfortable, and the decorations fit in with the house's architecture.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Having stayed with Claude and Sabine previously, we returned with friends for three nights. (We liked our experience there so much, that we planned our trip to include the b&b as a base for exploring areas around Cahors and Sarlat.) Not only are the facility and the sleeping rooms beautiful, the mid-18th century home is decorated tastefully, everything about the location being inviting. Claude's English is improving (!), and as Sabine's earlier career demanded a command of English, this couple provides a casual home-like experience in the Lot region, Sabine being most helpful too in assisting with recommendations for day-trips and restaurants in the area. A special treat was the dinner that our hosts shared with us, the food being delectable, the presentation entirely welcoming.

We have stayed in many small b&b's, but especially nice here is the individual attention and the sense that our hosts genuinely enjoy welcoming guests into their home.

This is a facility that warrants planning a part of the Lot/Dordogne exploration with Le Mas Azemar as the base from which to explore the towns, local foods, and the Cahors malbec, as well as the incredible scenery and surrounding villages.

Room Tip: There are no "bad rooms," and each is beautifully decorated and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We two couples traveling together were the only guests on the night we stayed here, which gave us a special opportunity to talk with our hosts, Claude and Sabine Patrolin, who shared cocktail hour and then dined with us. Both are fluent in English and well traveled. They are happy and patient to help you learn French, and it was a true delight to talk with them. We learned an immense about the food, wine, and culture of France in that one evening, and the atmosphere was so warm and cordial that by the time we got up from the table we felt we had known them for a long time.

Sabine and Claude share the cooking, and our dinner and breakfast were delicious and so plentiful that one has difficulty choosing, all served on Sabine's extensive collection of china and silver. It is a beautiful 18th century home which they renovated to modern standards while preserving its character. It is furnished throughout with interesting antiques, and is cool, quiet, and serene. Our spacious rooms overlooked the flower filled back garden and the pool.

Its location in Mercues puts you west of Cahors, on the edge of the vineyards of the Cahors wine region. We had a quite wonderful wine tasting at Le Chateau Les Bouysses, so near that we could have walked to it. Sabine is generous in assisting with trip planning, and we particularly enjoyed her recommendation of the ancient hill town of Cordes sur Ciel, just over an hour east.

If you want to begin to see France through the eyes of the French, you should plan a visit with this delightful couple.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

You've read those books about escaping a dreary life to start a B & B and the challenges that come with it. Here's how to do it. The Mas Azemar has an interesting history, charming hosts, excellent family style dinners and breakfasts but is all up to date and decorated in a very charming way. You'll feel very much at home here with all your needs met and questions answered. As a travel professional I give the Mas the highest marks in all categories!!

Room Tip: No two are alike so arrive a little early so you might be able to choose from those available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

In May, 2011, we stayed here for 2 nights with another couple. The place is quite amazing and Sabine and Claude do their best to make their guests feel welcome. The place is a cross between a chateau and a museum!

We had one communal dinner (12 people) and it was wonderful. The ambiance was delightful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed here for two days in September. We received a warm welcome from our host (Sabine) who speaks fluent English. The room was spacious, clean and well decorated. The bathroom was fantastic and the bath was amazing. Sabine was very helpful and gave us some tips for visiting the local area and some useful maps. The hotel has a beautiful garden and its own secluded pool.

We also stayed for a candlelight dinner in the evening. We had some lovely Cahors wine and some good French food.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

The old facade of this mas hides a very cozy and well decorated interior with spacious bedrooms and dining room as well a giant swimming pool in the backyard. The lady of the house is a perfect host and serves a fine breakfast with home made products. Absolutely recommended when you visit Cahors and its wine region.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Mas Azemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Azemar

Address: rue du Mas de Vinssou, 46090 Mercues, Cahors, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Lot > Cahors > Mercues
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mercues

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mas Azemar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Le Mas Azemar to your Saves list