We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for superior excellence this is it!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmont Motor Lodge

Belmont Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Belmont Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Belmont Motor Lodge
1 Mungavin Avenue, Porirua 6006, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland
1 review
“If you are looking for superior excellence this is it!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

I continue to stay and recommend the Belmont Motor Lodge to everyone because of the incredibly up market decor of all units. Sue,Brian and their team do everything within their power to make my stay comfortabe and enjoyable. My advise is that if you can't get a booking for the dates you require, CHANGE YOUR DATES so that you can enjoy being away from home.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    4
    0
    13
See reviews for
11
20
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

My girlfriends and I did many inspections of motels because a few days away for us was a luxury and to come across the modern comfort of the Belmont was such a relief we grabbed the two bedroom unit. This was really up to date, polished and furnished with beautiful pieces of furniture. My husband and I have just booked 9 days into the same room. Wouldn't ever stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We found this Motel,roomy, luxurious and spotlessly clean, the owners were so friendly and made us feel so welcome. We will definitely stay there again when we are in Wellington and recommend it to other people who are looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We informed Belmont of our intended dates months ago. This was for 2 adults and one 18 month year old child. We also told them that we would have our own portacot for the baby.

Upon arrival, we were told we were going to be charged an additional $20 per night ($110 for the room and $20 for our baby). We explained the rate given to use was not this - but were flatly denied any leeway. In fact, the woman even had the nerve to tell us to
1) go elsewhere if we didn't like it, and
2) we had to make a decision at that moment if we were to stay - as we HAD to stay for the intended initial period.

Point to note, this was Christmas Eve, and there were no other options for us.

After further heated discussion - she finally agreed to drop the additional $20 a night to an additional $10 a night.

However - upon leaving - we were (as if this wasn't expected) charged the full additional $20.
Our room rate became $120 and they charged us an extra $10 per day.

In the end - we felt used and would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Especially because of the spiteful and dishonest owners.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianpatrick, Manager at Belmont Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2010
This booking was made for two people only and no mention was ever made of an accompanying child.
When the guest arrived and we realised there was a third person we explained there would be an extra charge. He became extremely irate to the point where we offered to arrange alternative accommodation for him which he refused. Eventually we came to a compromise which he accepted and he was given his key and shown to his room. On check out his wife reviewed the invoice which she accepted happily and then it was duely processed. We have a very good reputation and we are sorry that this guest was not happy. Some guests do not understand that a small child can create as much if not more work than an adult, therefore are charged as an extra person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

This motel is conveniently situated, just off the highway. The owners are friendly and very helpful. The studio room was good; it was clean, and had a large comfortable bed, reasonable bathroom, and kitchenette (microwave and fridge; one-bedroom units have more extensive cooking facilities). There was nothing particularly memorable about the motel, but it was an excellent choice for a night's stay and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

Travelled to Porirua, a suburb approx 25min ride from Wellington Airport for a friend's wedding. Only stayed 2 nights so was keen to find quality, clean accomodation which could provide a good nights rest.

Located centrally in Porirua adjacent to off-ramp to main Highway we found Belmont Motor Lodge. We were greeted by friendly owners/managers and we booked a 1 bedroom apartment.

The 1 bedroom apartment includes in the bedroom a comfortable King size Bed, a seperate living room with double sofa bed & TV, a kitchnette with microwave, dinner table for 4, & spa bath in the bathroom. Only downside was our apartment backed onto a busy traffic roundabout, but each evening we were so tired we hardly noticed any traffic noise.

I travel extensively for work & found this motel to be 'above average' motels in Porirua. 4 star property. It is modern, clean, less than 5min drive to the main North City Plaza shopping Ctr & approx 3min walk to Porirua Train Station.

I recommend to singles, families & business travellers looking to stopover in Porirua for a few nights.

  • Liked — Cleanliness & Comfortable Bed!
  • Disliked — Although minimal, traffic noise from busy roundabout
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmont Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Motor Lodge

Address: 1 Mungavin Avenue, Porirua 6006, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Porirua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Belmont Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmont Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.