We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay in nz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmont Motor Lodge

Belmont Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Belmont Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Belmont Motor Lodge
1 Mungavin Avenue, Porirua 6006, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Wichita Falls, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best place to stay in nz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I went to porirua to work for 3 months. I stayed at the belmont the entire time. This is a great place to stay!! Always spotlessly clean, and very nice rooms. it is in a great location and easy to get in and out of. The owners Sue and Brian are amazing, such nice people. I felt like family while I was there. I will absolutely stay there again. I recommend this motel to anyone going to NZ.

Room Tip: Pick a suite, lots of room, and jacuzzi tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    4
    0
    13
See reviews for
11
20
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have stayed at this motel a couple of times and have thoroughly enjoyed my stay. My room was clean and well equipped. It was nice and cosy and made me feel right at home. The staff and owners were very friendly and welcoming. I would defiantly keep going back! Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed at the Belmont on the eve of my wedding as our venue was close by. From the moment I arrived the hosts were friendly, welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. I had the largest suite at the Motor Lodge - a two bedroom with large dining and lounge, and it was perfect. Lots of room for me and my bridesmaids (who were sharing the room) to get ready, as well as room for the countless people who just "pop in" to say hello.

The room had a large spa bath which was delicious for relaxing in - and the hosts let us in early to drop off our wedding cake so we didn't have to drive around with it until check in time.

I would recommend this property to anyone - friendly hosts, modern and clean, and very well appointed.

Thanks for such a lovely experience on my big day :o)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south island, nz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have stayed at this motel on a couple of occasions as well as recommended it to our friends. What a mistake. The owners are full of empty promises, They even charged us NZ$70.00 for an extra person rate! They don't want you to use the heaters or the sofa beds that are actually in the room to be used!! Be it at your own risk if you dare to use what you have paid for. The owners have no shame in pointing this out to you in public!! The rooms are not serviced with toilet rolls, coffees, milks etc. There were cockroaches in the bedrooms, when we pointed this out to the owner, again it was a problem to have mentioned anything about it!. We were completed taken back by the attitudes and aggressive nature of these people. I have never experienced anything like this before. As there is not much of a choice of places to stay in Porirua, we definately would recommend to stay at the other motel around the corner. There you have a much better deal for your money, the hosts are amazing, nothing is too much trouble. Maybe this is the attitude of the Belmont that as a customer we do not have a choice. How wrong could you be, I would have thought as a business owner, you would fight for the custom!!

Room Tip: Stay at the other motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianpatrick, Owner at Belmont Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
This group threatened to go to trip advisor and post a bad review unless we reduced the tariff after they had stayed three nights. The room was booked by email and they were quoted a price which they accepted ( we still have that email). On arrival they signed the registration card which showed clearly the daily rate but when it was time to depart they decided to argue the tariff.
There was never an issue with the room up to this point (after all they have stayed with us in the past and if we were so bad why would you want to come back) This is all about a group of people trying to intimidate us by using this forum and because we did not bow to their threats they have gone on to lie with slanderous comments. Shame on you!
Our rooms are serviced everyday and we make a point of going into the rooms late afternoon to turn heaters on so they are comfortable when guests arrive back into their rooms. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness this is why this group kept coming back. We suggest you as a decerning traveller read between the lines and for confirmation check out the great comments on Booking. Com by people who have stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights recently. The stay was comfortable. Hosts were friendly. We checked in at 930pm and they waited for us and had our electric blanket and room heater switched on - a nice touch I have to say.

The room was clean and reasonably modern. LCD TV with a few SKY channels provided. Kitchen was well equipped. Heating options were good (electric blanket, wall heater and an oil heater).

Check in and check out was a breeze. All in all, not bad for a motor lodge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We were here for one night while on a business trip. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very nice and upmarket but a bit dark, and we couldn't get Television One on the tele. I worked in the evening and missed the turnoff on my return to the motel so got a bit lost. A recommendation would be to have a big sign near to the roadway for those of us who get lost easily. However, as already mentioned, a very nice motel with great hosts, and we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Room no. 5 is quite dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at the Belmont for two nights in mid-February. I was a bit worried as it was so close to the motorway but it turned out to be very quiet. The room was quite comfortable -- large and modern. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. I would also recommend the Indian restaurant up a small hill beside the hotel. It was excellent!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belmont Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Motor Lodge

Address: 1 Mungavin Avenue, Porirua 6006, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Porirua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Belmont Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmont Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.