We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Topor Bistro

Topor Bistro
3 Beach Road | Plimmerton, Porirua 5026, New Zealand
+64 4-233 9939
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 restaurants in Porirua
Cuisines: European, Polish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This meal was absolutely fantastic - as was the staff. We hadn't been before, so can't comment on whether or not the new owners have changed anything. But they are lovely people and we really enjoyed chatting with them. It definitely added to the atmosphere. We asked for recommendations and were pleasantly surprised when basically the whole menu was! We all chose something different and were all very pleased with our choice. The bread they have made for them is absolute heaven. It is a little more expensive for a suburban restaurant but is a really lovely option to the Indian and Chinese that abounds in the Porirua area. They are about to start a lunch menu and we were lucky enough to be shown what will be on offer - definitely well worth a visit when they start this. Can't wait!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    22
    9
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The fact that a suburban restaurant is full mid week is an indication of its popularity.
We quickly found out why. A very interesting menu of food which was different. Good service and the nicely spaced courses was great. When we finished our entree the waiter said he would get the chef started on our mains, which indicated we would receive meals that weren't sitting around waIting for us. The mains were what seem describe as "art on a plate" . Presentation was top quality and ample quantity, leaving us fully satisfied. The emergence of wonderful tastes added to the experience. The wine list offered a good variety of all types. The service was friendly, courteous and appreciated.
A wonderful experience which we would highly recommend to others. I have read other reviews and note a high level of satisfaction which I would endorse.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Polish Feast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

What a wonderful surprise! We began our 3 course meal with glorious vodka shots, and finished some 2 hours later with an amazing melange of desserts. In between, from lamb to kielbasa to borscht, everything was beautifully prepared, deliciously unique and expertly served. With some many wonderful restaurants to choose from in Wellington, the trip to Plimmerton and Topor was well worth it, and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Six of us went there for a meal and found the service and food excellent. The polish food had beautiful flavours. Loved the duck pate as entree. Very well done main meal. The polish cheesecake did not have the texture or makeup of an English cheesecake but was really light and exquisite. The waiter was most accommodating when we told him that we were in a hurry to see a play and would like the food to be served quickly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Restaurant par excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This restaurant has to be experienced and then you will realise just what dining out really is all about. From the moment you enter till the moment you leave you just won't be disappointed. The atmosphere, the service and undoubtedly the the quality and quantity are absolutely perfect.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topor Bistro also viewed

Porirua, Greater Wellington
Porirua, Greater Wellington
 
Porirua, Greater Wellington
Porirua, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Topor Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topor Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.