We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Wellington via train” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aotea Lodge

Aotea Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porirua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aotea Lodge
Save
You added Aotea Lodge to your Saves list
65 Whitford Brown Avenue | Papakowhai, Porirua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Porirua B&B and Inns
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Near Wellington via train”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Unable to get a room in Wellington our NZ friend made this reservation. The NZ bus let us off right at the hotel. New Zealanders are so kind! Nice family room, two couples, worked fine. Only problem was it was party time all night. People were hanging outside our windows and beside being very loud they were smoking. The office closed at 7pm so we just had to put up with the noise.

Room Tip: Maybe get a room upstairs. If you are walking to town or the train, the driveway at the hotel is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the motel for 3 nights. The prices in wellington are not cheap and this motel offered more facilities compared to motels at similar price. It is just 20 minutes to Wellington town center, and 5 min drive from Porirua shops. The rooms are basic, but there is also a swimming pool and a hot tab which we enjoyed. The service was very good, and people were friendly. The internet available at low cost and is excellent for NZ motels.

Room Tip: A family room, has an extra room for a kid, and few of the rooms also have cooking facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed only 1 night but the superior studio is spacious and well appointed for longer stays. Although a studio, our room had a couch & armchairs plus a small coffee table which helped define the "living" space. Small kitchen was off to the side, and roomy bathroom had large spa bath. Room and furnishings were clean, modern and comfortable. These units are at the back of the property so it was nice & quiet, and our door opened onto a grassed area giving a nice outlook. Very easy to find being just off the highway.

Room Tip: Go for a superior studio if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were unable to find accommodation in the city but this place is so handy to the motorway it was a brilliant find.Stayed just one night but would stay longer in future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, NZ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in Feb 2011 we are two adults & 2 children under 5 - accomodation is quite dated & very simply - pool nice though. We were booked to stay on our return,,, arrived only they couldn't find our booking even though I had an email confirmation - after much discussion we were offered a broken unit that was closed off due to needing repairs. due to time of day & a long drive that day we took it. The male host made no apologies. Would not stay again... in hindsight you pay peanuts you get monkeys!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

While in the I-Site in Picton, in the South Island, we tried to book accommodation in Wellington but it seems that there were no places available. That's how we ended up booking a room in the Aotea Lodge, in Papakowhai, close to Porirua and about 20 Km north from Wellington. So when we got off the ferry that took us from Picton to Wellington, we just drove to the north following motorway #1 until we found the exit to Papakowhai, just 1,5 Km after the exit to Porirua. And then, immediately after the exit, in the first 200 m in the Whitford Brown Ave., we found the Aotea Lodge. So it was much easier than expected to find it. That was a good start.
Then we entered the reception, where the first thing you will see is a charming small swimming pool. The staff was obviously behind the desk -not swimming- and they were really friendly and gentle. In fact it was here where I learnt that I-Sites in New Zealand charge you a 10% of those bookings they make on your behalf (but no complaints at all from my side, as I find I-Sites in New Zealand to be very, very, very helpful and friendly). So the Aotea Lodge staff suggested me to contact them directly next time I come.
And I will definitely stay in this lodge when I visit again this part of the Norh Island, because I found it to be very clean, modern, comfortable, well equipped (our room didn't have a cooker though, just a microwave) and convenient if you want to continue your journey following motorway #1. I would even say that it can also be a good place from where to visit Wellington by public transport, because if you drive from this lodge to Porirua, you can easily leave your car there, take the train and reach the capital in just 20 minutes.
It is true that this means that this lodge is not central at all if you consider a visit to Wellington. The area around the lodge doesn't have either restaurants -it's mainly a residential area- but the lodge does have a restaurant. We also used the laundry room and the overall impression is that this is a highly recommendable place to stay and sleep.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aotea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotea Lodge

Address: 65 Whitford Brown Avenue | Papakowhai, Porirua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Porirua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation, restaurant for in-house guest and public, conference facilities, private functions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aotea Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.