We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AAA Mana Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added AAA Mana Motel to your Saves list
AAA Mana Motel
41 Mana Esplanade | Mana, Porirua 5026, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porirua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Excellent Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed one night at this motel on the way to catching the interislander. The suited us perfectly, easy to find, lovely rooms facing onto a garden. Quiet and nice beds. Our hosts could not have been more accommodating. In fact I lost a valuable item there in the driveway and they went to a lot of trouble to track down the rightful owner and restore property to me. They also phoned another property for us further up the island to book when we returned to pick up the bracelt and were passing through only.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
8
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Ross & Megan were the most caring hosts, looking after our every need. With 14 teenagers and a busy swimming schedule we were so impressed with the service. Rooms cleaned each day. Each room was really spacious. There was room for team meetings and cooking for the group. With the motorway into Wellington it was no time at all until until we were at the pool. It is very rare to find hosts who go out of their way to help provide cooking equipment, washing facilities and access to storage at the very unsociable hours linked to Swimming competitions. Each year we come to NZ for this competition and this year was awesome. I fully recommend AAA Mana Motel to any group travelling. You will not be disappointed. Michele Watson Wide Bay Swimming Australia

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I would like to commend Ross & Meaghan on a well run establishment. Each time my sister & I return to New Zealand, we stay at the Mana Motel. The unit we stay in is very clean & is well equipped.The beds are the best I have ever slept in, so comfortable, with bonus electric blankets. Just around the corner is beautiful Plimmerton Beach, & the trip into Wellington City is only twenty minutes by road. We stayed two weeks this time, & each night the Motel was packed to the rafters. So we are not the only ones who think the Mana Motel is a great place to stay at. Thanks Ross & Meaghan for always making us feel so very welcome. Kind Regards, Michele Phelan & Brenda Kristjannson

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

I was very impressed with your friendly, helpful service. The units were very clean and tidy and serviced every day - fantastic! Although we didn't spend much time in at the motel to take full advantage of what was available it was more than acceptable. We would definately use this motel again.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

It was like staying in your own apt. Ross and Meaghan makes you feel like a neighbor not a customers. always available, always friendly as were their children and dogs. The apt was kept immaculately clean, parking at front door, patio at the back with a well kept yard. Location on main hwy walking distance close to grocery stores, restaurants etc. I was there for two months, one with my son but always felt safe. Close to a park and hiking around the lake. Lots of space in the rooms to stretch and not get claustrophobic or feel like your in a motel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Prior to immigrating to the UK my partner and our 2 dogs required somewhere to stay for just over 1 month. We had the great pleasure of staying at the Mana Motel. Hosts Ross and Megan where fantastic and made us feel so welcome and it was more like staying with friends. The unit was warm and clean and it was a home away from home. The cleaning staff are a great bunch of girls and work so hard to keep the units to a high standard.
While the motel is beside SH1 on one side and the main north railway line on the other we were quite amazed at how quiet the motel is. Of course you can hear the trains go by but for the 15 seconds every hour really was no issue and after awhile you just forgot about them - they certainly never woke us up - put it that way. this may also have been due to the bed just being so comfortable which is often rare in a Motel/Hotel.
The surrounding places to eat where clean and friendly and the meals were enjoyable.
Fantastic that our dogs could stay with us as this was the hardest thing to find in Wellington and its a credit to Ross and Megan that they realise that people who travel with their pets more often have dogs that are freindly and well looked after.
Great last place to stay before departing New Zealand thanks to Megan and Ross and staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Had a top stay at this motel and found the owners Ross & Megan to be very friendly and good hosts. The rooms were clean and ready on time and the location was handy for my business meetings. Will stay again, thanks Guys and nice to meet you both. Regards Glen

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AAA Mana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAA Mana Motel

Address: 41 Mana Esplanade | Mana, Porirua 5026, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porirua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to AAA Mana Motel - Porirua, New Zealand. Relax and enjoy some quiet time in our pleasant sunny surrounds. Our well kept grounds and private upstairs balconies provide the perfect environment for you to relax and unwind. Even better, on a warm summer's evening, put you feet up and chill out around our on-site barbeque and picnic tables. The choice is yours. We are conveniently located just north of Porirua, on the main road to Wellington (SH1). We offer a great combination of nice and sunny units; easy access to town; and a heated swimming pool to relax in. Most importantly we pride ourselves on providing a warm and friendly place to stay. Our clean and sunny, 1,2 and 3 bedroom self-catering units provide a relaxing place to stay, whether for the long-term or short-term. Wireless high-speed internet access is available along with Sky TV. We deliver a great experience of good honest kiwi hospitality with well-kept facilities. Our motel accommodation is conveniently located just 5 mins north of Porirua on SH1. Being so close to Wellington City, you can quickly and easily enjoy the Capital experience, either by car or train; and just 15 mins drive to Cook Strait Ferry. We also offer off street parking outside each unit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your AAA Mana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AAA Mana Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.