We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AAA Mana Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added AAA Mana Motel to your Saves list
AAA Mana Motel
41 Mana Esplanade | Mana, Porirua 5026, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porirua
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Although we arrived early and wanted to leave our bags there until later the management without hesitation showed us to our room where we had time to make a cup of tea from the excellent selection of provided drinks before heading off into town. Mana Motel is ideally situated and almost adjacent to Mana railway Station of catching a ride into town on Wellingtons new Matangi Trains. If you want excellent hosts and the sheer convenience then you can't go past this accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room to avoid the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of AAA Mana Motel. Your positive, honest comments are very much appreciated and we thank you. As owners we take a lot of pride in presenting a place where we would like to stay, we work hard at providing our valued guests with "Good Honest Kiwi Hospitality." We look forward to hosting you and your family on your return visit, you were a delight to host.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
8
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My family & I stayed for 6 days at this Motel, and it was absolutely awesome in all area's. Our hosts Ross & Megan were wonderful, definitely family orientated, went the extra mile to make our stay that more enjoyable, comfortable, very relaxing & stress-free. My 4 year old twin grand-daughters thoroughly loved the environment, sandpit, trampoline and in-ground heated pool all within safe surroundings. The trains were a great attraction for us & were no bother during our sleeping schedule whatsoever, the same applies to the main road heavy traffic out front of the Motel also. Our rooms were immaculate, well serviced everyday and exceptionally comfortable. I would highly recommend this Motel to any of my family and friends in an instant, when and if required. All our needs were met and more during our entire stay!! Many many thanks Ross & Megan, gratefully appreciated!! Cheers!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your honest well written review. A delightful family to host who became part of our family. Hope to see you or your family and friends again in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werribee, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I organised the stay at this motel for my family and unfortunately mismatched my dates. Ross, was so very understanding and changed the check in dates without charge.
My family reported impeccable service from Ross and Megan they were a joy to deal with and absolutely lovely people.
The motel itself was clean, very comfortable with great amenities. The heated pool was great for the kids too. Great location and very close to shops, restaurants and takeaways.
Overall my family rated this motel as 10/10. Thanks AAA Mana Motel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Your delightful family deserved nothing but the best of true kiwi hospitality. You all became part of our family and we are missing you all already and can't wait for your return. We wish you all the very best for Christmas and the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have stayed at this motel on a number of occasions. We have found the rooms to be immaculate, well serviced every day and extremely comfortable. This motel is situated in a good, convenient location, close to shops, restaurants etc.

Ross and Megan were fantastic to deal with, therefore, I would not hesitate to recommend this motel to anyone staying there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to review AAA Mana Motel. We love receiving honest down to earth comments from guests and are delighted that you commented highly about the cleanliness and fabulous location of AAA Mana Motel. Good honest kiwi hospitality which we are also very proud of. Look forward to catching up with you both on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Don't stay here if you want to sleep !!!! The trains (freight and passenger) run all night and feel like they are coming through the room, VERY VERY VERY noisy !!! The rooms were generally tidy but when you looked slightly (and only slightly) closer - they were very dirty- bathrooms and kitchen areas!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
AAA Mana Motel is proud to be located on the outskirts of the vibrant Capital City - Wellington.
To get no noise, this large family of seven would be better off staying in a country location not in a vibrant City. We note, however, this guest rated our "Location" and "Room Quality" quite highly. Which we thank you for but are slightly confused about.

This room is extremely popular for large families, who are budget driven as it is a large three bedroom apartment, and is roomy and immaculately presented. The prior guest review, who also stayed in this room, confirms our thoughts "Excellent great stay for great value". Very hard to please everyone all of the time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed four nights. The rooms were bright and fresh and very clean with comfortable beds and pillows. The room was well serviced every day and the hosts were very friendly and helpful with information on local sites to visit.The room was very comfortable and great value would certainly stay there again a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We thank you once again for your fabulous comments. As you know we pride ourselves on our well presented, clean and sunny rooms. Guests, like yourselves, love the convenient location of AAA Mana Motel, being so close to the vibrancy of Wellington City where they can enjoy shopping and upmarket restaurants whilst leaving the car behind and hoping on the train. We look forward to seeing you all again next month on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallai, Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

A little tired. No electric blanket and noisy being between the railway and the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMegan, Owner at AAA Mana Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Jenny, we thank you for taking the time to comment on AAA Mana Motel. We clearly list ourselves as a three star property and do not confess to be anything more, which is clearly reflected in the very competitive room rate you paid. Also, Jenny, our compendium in each room clearly states that electric blankets are available and you only have to ask. AAA Mana Motel is in a fabulous location situated 15 minutes out of Wellington which is the Capital City of New Zealand, not in a small country town. Like any large City our roading infrastructure is vital and your decision to stay with us reflects your need to be near easily accessible arterial routes. Delighted to see our friendly service impressed you and we thank you for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AAA Mana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAA Mana Motel

Address: 41 Mana Esplanade | Mana, Porirua 5026, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porirua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to AAA Mana Motel - Porirua, New Zealand. Relax and enjoy some quiet time in our pleasant sunny surrounds. Our well kept grounds and private upstairs balconies provide the perfect environment for you to relax and unwind. Even better, on a warm summer's evening, put you feet up and chill out around our on-site barbeque and picnic tables. The choice is yours. We are conveniently located just north of Porirua, on the main road to Wellington (SH1). We offer a great combination of nice and sunny units; easy access to town; and a heated swimming pool to relax in. Most importantly we pride ourselves on providing a warm and friendly place to stay. Our clean and sunny, 1,2 and 3 bedroom self-catering units provide a relaxing place to stay, whether for the long-term or short-term. Wireless high-speed internet access is available along with Sky TV. We deliver a great experience of good honest kiwi hospitality with well-kept facilities. Our motel accommodation is conveniently located just 5 mins north of Porirua on SH1. Being so close to Wellington City, you can quickly and easily enjoy the Capital experience, either by car or train; and just 15 mins drive to Cook Strait Ferry. We also offer off street parking outside each unit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your AAA Mana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AAA Mana Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.