We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet time in Knowle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Far End Guesthouse

Far End Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knowle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Far End Guesthouse
Kixley Lane, Knowle, Solihull B93 0JF , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Knowle B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quiet time in Knowle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Had a relaxing few days staying at the Far End Guest house. A calm and quiet haven . Have booked again for next year. Hosts Dawn and her husband were superb and looked after us really well. The quiet location was just what we needed as we were in the area on business.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beautiful Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Well, we were off to the NEC to see Fleetwood Mac and neither of us wanted to drive home so I started looking for somewhere to stay overnight. Now I dont like anything processed - be it food or accommodation, I like a bit of individuality. Im not sure how I found Far End - its not easy to track down but Im so glad I did. We emailed and booked for No 1 daughter and ourselves.
When we arrived at Kixley Lane we couldnt see Far End at first - at the end of what seems to be the road is a narrower road which at first glance doesnt seem to be going anywhere - I accosted 2 dog walkers but they had never heard of Far End. Undaunted we drove on - and there it was! A beautiful old house sitting by the side of the lane. We were greeted by Steve, who welcomed us and helped us in with our bags. We had the largest room with en suite shower room. The room was nice and big, clean, and oh so quiet. Out of one window we saw the neighbours - several ducks, a goose and 2 shire horses. Needless to say they were very quiet and didnt say much... the other window looked out over the garden and just a bit beyond we could see the canal. The room has a lovely fridge with soft drinks, water and real milk in a jug (none of those yukky plastic packets). The bathroom has loads of little toiletries and lovely BIG fluffy towels. Tea and coffee was available and there was even a chocolate shaker for your cappuccino. The bed was lovely and soft and welcoming - but it was way too early for bed so we went to check on No 1 daughter before going out for stroll. No 1 daughter had the double room - and this was just as nice as ours with en suite shower room. She was delighted and kept saying 'Good choice Mum!'.
So out we went for stroll, Steve had given us directions for a canal walk and then onto the local pub for something to eat before our trip to the NEC. We had a really good walk, accosted some Canadians on their barge for a chat, nodded and said Hello to everyone we met along the canal (they are so friendly!) and walked to the pub which served good honest pub food and really reasonable prices before we returned to Far End and got our taxi to the NEC. Steve had given us keys so we could come in when we wanted to and when we got back at midnight the cold coke in the fridge was very welcome. And so to bed - and it was just as comfy and cosy as it looked! And it was oh so quiet - you would never believe you were so close to Birmingham. We slept like logs - and getting up was a bit difficult as my bed kept calling me back for another 5 minutes.....
No 1 daughter also slept well and said how comfy her bed was.
And so down to breakfast - now Steve had already asked what time we wanted this and I got the impression that nothing would have been too much trouble.
We sat in the newly refurbished kitchen at the table which was beautifully laid. Steve has refurbished the kitchen himself and he has done a beautiful job. We started with cereal, juice, fruit, yoghurt and croissants and then Dawn cooked us a very full English breakfast with tea (from a proper pot) and freshly brewed coffee for No 1 daughter. There is NO way you could leave Far End hungry - Dawn cooks whatever you want and the quality of the food was really great. While we ate Dawn told us about the labour of love that Far End has been for her and Steve. It used to be an old pub and they have lovingly restored it to its current state. Both her and Steve are really interesting people and they clearly love to share Far End with guests.
Oh, I nearly forgot (and how could I?), its not just Dawn and Steve who live at Far End - you may also get to meet Bonny and Clyde, the resident cats. Now if your a bit of a clean freak Dawn will happily eject both if you dont like cats near you at breakfast time (If I hadnt seen the cats I wouldnt even have known they were even there...) but I love cats and Clyde lay on his chair having a wee wash while we ate and I was delighted to have his company as I pleaded with Dawn to let him be.
So tummys full, we sadly said Goodbye to Dawn, Far End and Bonny & Clyde.
If you are looking for peace, tranquility, a comfortable room, a lovely breakfast and a warm welcome from unobtrusive hosts in a beautiful piece of the country then I think you'll like Far End. The website does not do it justice at all and we fully intend to return for a short break next year when we will renew our aquiantance with the ducks, geese, horses, Dawn, Steve, Bonny and Clyde and explore the canal further and of course the local hostelries!

Room Tip: The King size room has a bigger bathroom but the double room has loads of charm so take your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had an emergency with our tenant being “flooded” out of her accommodation. Dawn and Steve, the hosts, were very helpful and kind to this lady and provided a comfortable room for several nights. She enjoyed their company and breakfasts. We really appreciated their calmness in our hour of need. We would definitely recommend them to anybody looking for a comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast accommodation in Knowle. Knowle is very convenient for the nearby NEC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have stayed with Dawn & Steve a few times now it's always my first choice when working in the area. The ideal location for Knowle, Solihull and the NEC. Always a great welcome, nothing is too much trouble, with every facility I need. The rooms are really comfortable and super quiet for a great nights sleep after a hard days work. Although Far End is in a rural oasis, Knowle is just a short walk away to all the shops, bars and restaurants. Dawn has recommend some great places to eat.
I've recommended Far End to others, including my brother who also now stays here for work and pleasure. In the morning after another great nights sleep and a hot power shower, Steve always makes a brilliant breakfast. I'll definitely be going back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kixley, Owner at Far End Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi i, thanks for the wonderful review.We enjoyed seeing you and your family and hope to see yo again in the near future when the porhc should be completed and the dust settled.
Regards, Dawn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Enjoyed one night at Far End whilst working in the area. The room was comfortable and relaxing. A good selection of drinks in the room. The bathroom was small but certainly adequate (excellent shower). Would certainly stay again as it was good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We are 3 ladies walking the Grand Union Canal. It is very difficult to find accommodation along the canal so we were delighted to discover this gem of a B&B. The welcome was very friendly, the rooms comfortable clean and and after a hardy breakfast we were on our way before 9 a.m. to finish the walk to Birmingham Gas Street Basin. Thank you Dawn for all your help.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kixley, Owner at Far End Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hello, It was nice to see you and hear all your news about the Olympics. We hope you didn't get too wet going back. You should have rung us and we would have picke dyou up and givneyou a life to the nearest railway station as we live so near to them.

Enjoy your future walking holidays.
Regards,
Dawn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Aussie
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

4 of us from Australia stayed here for 4 nights on the recommendation of a friend. You could not find a better place to stay, very quiet, excellent clean rooms & a lovely breakfast. Great for early morning walks along the Birmingham to London canal, which is only 250 yards behind the house.
Dawn & Steve were excellent hosts & you are in a great location to visit the surrounding Stratford-upon-Avon, Oxford, the Cotswalds & of couse the town of Knowle.

Room Tip: The best room is the one next to the carpark, with its own en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Far End Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far End Guesthouse

Address: Kixley Lane, Knowle, Solihull B93 0JF , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Knowle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Knowle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sephen and Dawn invite you to visit our 18th century country cottage that was once a pub, located 50 yards approx from the Grand Union Canal but five minutes walk from the centre of the historic village of Knowle. It is ten minutes drive approx from the NEC and Birmingham Airport. There is ample safe car parking.The house has two ensuite guest bedrooms and one guest bedroom with shared bathroom. All rooms have access to wifi(free) and tv and coffee making equipment. Ensuite rooms have a DVD recorder.There is a lounge with ingleknoock fire place where guests can sit in front of a roaring fire in the winter.Trip advisor guests have commented on the quality and variety of the breakfast ie fruit, cereals, yoghurt, toast, fruit juice,coffee and then a full Engish cooked breakfast to follow. Alternative breakfasts can be provided or room only can be arranged without breakfast.Birmingham, Stratford and Warwick are a short drive away but guests wanting a longer day trip can go to the Black Country Museum or the Costswolds.There are many National Trust properties around this area or alternatively, sports enthusiasts can go to Edgbaston cricket ground.Plant lovers can visit the Birmingham Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Far End Guesthouse Knowle, West Midlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Far End Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Far End Guesthouse to your Saves list