We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work to be done” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Achill Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Achill Guest House to your Saves list
Achill Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   35 Hampton Road, Knowle, Solihull B93 0NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Knowle B&B and Inns
uk
1 review
“Work to be done”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Lovely lady who runs the place and breakfast was nice but a bit over priced as the pub 2 sec down the road does all you can eat for £3.99.
Lots of places to eat near by including a carvery within walking distance. All rooms are open in the house until occupied which in my view should be closed and the guest house owner should take you to your room and unlock it. We also did not receive a welcome when we arrived and we had to let ourselves in to an unlocked house.
As for the main house, needs a lot of improving to make a good guest house. Rooms are very basic and are in need of updating (i.e. in our room we had a a bed base that had a pine head board screwed to it via L shape brackets)
The house need a good clear out and sort out (i.e. there is a chair in the main hallway that has holes in it, random things on the landing that should be put away until guest ask for them)
As for the garden that can be viewed from the bedrooms it is a sight for sour eyes.

But all that aside the lady who runs the place is lovely the food was lovely just think it need some improvements to make it worth the price you pay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Booked as attended a study day. Looks tired from the outside but owner explained awaiting planning permission so in the middle of refurbishment. Room clean and hugh bathroom!!!!! Owner- Mary what a lovely lady. Extremely helpful with fantastic information pack. A great place to stay as close to knowle with at least 15 place to eat within walking distance. Mary a wealth of information.Mary explained that if we needed anything to call and to help ourselves to extra tea/coffee/milk left outside on landing. Great price, breakfast not included in price but only a £5 and superb nice and hot and a big pot of tea.

If you are going to Nec then only 1 junction away at junction 6.Give it a go!!!!!! much better than a hotel chain with excellent owner. Great place to stay with the wonderful Mary. Phone to book as not always shows availabilty on websites.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Warm welcome. Comfortable, clean, really nice bedroom, great night's sleep. Breakfast fantastic. Really close to village centre with lots of restaurants for evening meal. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

On arriving I thought 'this place does't look too promising' and when we entered it looked very tired, however that didn't do it justice. The owner was very helpful and friendly the room was light and airy and the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept on. Breakfast was very good and if you wanted to bring your own food in the evening you were welcome to eat it in the dining room. Some attention to detail with the cleaning would be my only slightly negative comment.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Achill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achill Guest House

Address: 35 Hampton Road, Knowle, Solihull B93 0NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Knowle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Knowle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Achill Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Guest House; all our rooms are en-suite. We have singles, doubles, family triple and a 2 room suite; not all rooms are available online - please call for availability. The accommodation is situated 100 metres from Knowle village High St, where there are over twelve restaurants within walking distance which will allow you to experience a different cuisine every evening. Whether on holiday or business we are ideally placed, just 1 mile from the M42 junction 5 and easy access to surrounding areas such as the NEC, Birmingham Airport, Solihull, Blythe Valley and Birmingham Business park It is the aim of Achill Guest House to provide a high standard of accommodation to business contractors and families at an affordable rate. Also for guests who require easy access to the surrounding areas or who plan to see the sights, Warwick and Stratford are also close by. Knowle: Knowle dates back to the time of King Edward I of England, over 700 years ago, when it had the status of Royal Manor. The Parish Church, which is still used today, was consecrated in 1403. There are many ancient buildings nearby, notably 16th-century Grimshaw Hall and the current library which dates back to Elizabethan times. The Guild House dates back to the 15th century and forms the core of a conservation area of which the restored Chester House is an outstanding feature. We offer spacious letting rooms and a residential lounge / Dining area. Please note we often upgrade the room size with no extra cost; please ask for details. All rooms have Tea/Coffee making facilities, colour television and telephone. We also have wireless internet, hair dryers, fans, and ironing facilities available. For guests who stay for longer periods of time we also have a microwave, fridge freezer, plates and cutlery to use , ideal for clients who are working in the area for long periods of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Achill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achill Guest House Knowle, West Midlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Achill Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.