We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Celebration” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Heron's Nest | 2110 Warwick Road, Knowle, Solihull B93 0EE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Knowle B&B and Inns
West Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Family Celebration”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We visited the Herons Nest on 28th June 2013. to celebrate my mother's 92nd birthday. Staff were talking amongst themselves when we arrived they did not bother with us, we had to interrupt them to ask to be shown to our reserved table. Table was not very clean. Waitress had no product knowledge, when we asked for a dry sherry we were told that she didn't know if they had dry sherry, all she could tell us that the only sherry they had was in a blue bottle!! We had to ask her to check what the label said, it was a sweet sherry! Several dishes on the menu were not available. Staff were unable to give us information about the food they were serving. They seemed very uninterested, and poorly presented, dirty aprons and scruffy clothes. We arrived at 12.30pm and eventually had our food at 1.40pm. My drink was served in a dirty glass, lip marks on rim of glass. There seems to be a complete lack of leadership and clearly the staff do not want to be there. What has happended to this once lovely pub? Can't believe how it has gone so down hill, no wonder there were not many people in the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    13
    13
    4
See reviews for
15
20
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked an overnight weekend stay for a family birthday celebration nearby. The Inn is next to the canal with a large car park and outdoor eating area however, due to inclement weather we didnt get to enjoy this. An obviously popular local eating haunt the Inn itself was busy and we checked in at the bar area where we were given the room key and directed to our room.

The room itself was quaint and reflected the character of the olde worlde inn itself, however, I felt it was a little tired and dated and the bed a little uncomfortable. That said, it was clean with a modern hot shower head and was perfectly adequate for one night given the price of B&B at £50.00.

Breakfast was continental, the staff helpful and pleasant and is taken in the bar area. A choice of cereals, fruit juice and toast with the offer of a heated croissant if wanted. Again perfectly adequate however, if I was to visit the area again I would probably choose to stay in the Centre of Solihull as this is a short car journey away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've been to a Village Inn chain restaurant before so Knew what to expect.
Its a nice old style place,the food is very tasty and well presented,though portions are a little on the small side for me..Staff very attentive and pleasant.Will go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were a party of 3 adults & 2 children & we had an early evening meal on 21st May. The staff were very slow and intent on looking away from customers as they chatted. The food was very disapointing, steaks were tough & my lamb shank cooked in a red wine sauce wasn't, it was served in the stock it was cooked in. Deserts did not come up to scratch either, they were beautifully described on the menu but were small portions, over-priced, & not home-cooked.
We have visited many times over the years but I think it will be a while before we return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for an overnight stay with my brother and his fiance. We were in the area for a family birthday at another hotel. After looking at other places in the surrounding area I decided to book a twin and single room for us all, rather than with one of the other branded 'inn'providers in the area, it was reasonably priced, in a rural location which backed on to the canal with a massive garden and it had a bar. What more does one need.

Rooms were clean and tidy, comfortable bed, no major noise issues from other rooms. They also have a 24hr night access door which was very handy due to s being back late. Breakfast is continental only, but plenty of choice: tea, coffee, juice, cereals, pastrys, fruit, muffins, toast.... Etc. Check out is at 12pm which is good and gives you plenty of time to eat breakfast, shower and pack.

Main meal in the evening was pleasant, fairly average, service was good and we had a chuckle with the waiter.

All in all a nice overnight stay with food and a few drinks. I would definitely be happy staying again and for longer.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten at the Herons Nest several times over the years and most occasions have been during the Summer when you can sit outside by the canal. The location is really the best thing about this venue.
We went for a family meal and everyone agreed it really was ok. Nothing special, not good but ok. Everyone also agreed it was expensive.
So if you want an average meal and want to pay over the odds this is ideal. Otherwise get in your car and go to a cheaper 'average' restaurant, or a similar priced 'good' restaurant. There are several of each in the area!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Been here before a few times in the past. Was in the area and decided to go here. When got in, it was quite busy and when asked for a table we were told had none in the dining area but there were high tables in the bar area could sit at instead. We saw some people leave the dining area so quickly asked if a table was free to which they checked to see whether the next person on the booking sheet was there but wasn't so they cleaned the table for us.

We had to wait quite a while for our food upon ordering it. We had the braised pork belly for starter which had a slice of apple fritter and also slice of black pudding. the pork was nice and the black pudding was the nicest have had in a while. We both also chose the carvey to which we had turkey and we ordered a side of cauliflower cheese. When the main came out they brought us chicken instead and upon stating we order turkey the waiter walked back to the kitchen and the waitress who had been servicing us argued with us that we ordered chicken and not turkey which we found quite rude. When the cauliflower cheese came out with our carvey we were amazed by the lack of cauliflower cheese we were given in the bowl which was about 3/4 small bits which cost £2.50 so felt quite ripped off by that. The meal was nice though and better than some other places have been to. The portion size for the carvery is good and also by seeing other peoples food there portion size was good to for other food off the menu.

The service was good but could have been better in terms of attitude of one or two of the staff. The manager was friendly and helpful. It was busy so was quite loud and kids there too

I would recommend going here if your in the area

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle

Address: The Heron's Nest | 2110 Warwick Road, Knowle, Solihull B93 0EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Knowle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Knowle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the charming village of Knowle, this historic lodge provides convenient yet characterful budget accommodation near Solihull, Dorridge, Birmingham and the NEC.Dating back to 1816, The Heron's Nest is furnished with 10 comfy rooms and a cosy pub serving up seasonally inspired food and drink together with bags of rustic charm. Its canal and countryside setting brings further appeal, especially during the summer when the outdoor dining area springs to life.Knowle is a lovely place to unwind, with a pretty village square, an early 15th century church and lots of idyllic, timber-framed cottages. You could also take a stroll down the Grand Union Canal - but be sure to pack some sandwiches, as there are 147 miles of towpath.The wider area offers attractions to suit every taste. Shopaholics will love Solihull's Touchwood Centre, history buffs will enjoy the moated, medieval charms of Baddesley Clinton and families will relish a trip to Warwick and Kenilworth Castles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herons Nest Hotel Knowle
Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle West Midlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge Solihull, Knowle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.