We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star room, 5 star food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Svanen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Svanen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Svanen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hedemarken 22, Grindsted 7200, Denmark (Formerly Hotel Lyngheden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Grindsted
Uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“3 star room, 5 star food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a 3 star hotel, so the room was functional, clean, average, hence 3 star. There's no fridge in the room, but there's a beer and drinks vending machine outside if you want a cool one. We asked for wine glasses, no problem. Asked for coffee in the room, got a pot of coffee at reception.
After seeing the average room, I was worried about dinner. But it really was very good. Venison, with season veggies, a lovely SA Pinotage and desert. The kids loved their dinner as well.
Breakfast was simple, (no bacon) but nice sausages, REAL scrambled eggs, (which I've never had in a less than 5 star hotel) salami, ham, cereals the usual good quality continental.
Highly recommended as an alternative to the Legoland hotel, 10min drive from Legoland
Also had trampolines, huge sand pit area with climbing frames etc.
Esbjerg is only 40mins away as well for shopping etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    0
    6
    0
See reviews for
8
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business. Couldn't wait to leave. Basic basic rooms, uncomfortable small beds , average food . Uncomfortable seating . Ugly collection of external rooms like a Motel so can be a wet and windy walk from the dining room to the rooms. Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grindsted hotels

Dollar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late and was pleasantly surprised with the standard of the room , nice and clean with a decent sized shower room.
Staff were very friendly, evening buffet was plentiful and realistically priced, although wine was a tad pricey.
Great location for visits to Legoland and an ideal stopover for the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We staid with our two children at Lyngheden in July 2012. The hotel is located close to Legoland, however, you will need a car to go there or anywhere else (even though there is also a bus goining to Legoland). The hotel fullfilled our expectations; clean room, friendly stuff and a nice breakfast. The only small minus was the price of the dinner buffee which, in our opinion, was quite high (over 100 eur for two adults and two children, including 2 glasses of wine). The food was, however, of very high quality. Overall, we can recommend the hotel, good value for the money!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Being 10 km from Legoland this hotel was a base for our family trip. It is clean, rooms are OK, and breakfast buffet is wonderful. Staff might smile a little more, but as it rained there all the time I do not blame them that much :) Rooms are in a separate buildings, so if it not raining, you may have a beer outside, which was nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

Everything was satisfactory except the temperature was a bit high in the room. Perfect place to stay if you are going to Legoland. Our six-year-old enjoyed the playgrounds outside the door.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsgrunn, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed at Lyngheden hotel for three nights to visit Legoland with our three children, ages 3, 7 and 9. It was great. We had a family room with a double bed and a couch that pulled out to a double. The room was clean but lacked a minibar. We arrived late and the key was in the door and the beds were made. The bathroom was basic but clean. good breakfast with a nice selection of food. Nice outdoor environment, with playground and trampoline for the children. 15 min drive to Legoland. Overall a great hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Svanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Svanen

Address: Hedemarken 22, Grindsted 7200, Denmark (Formerly Hotel Lyngheden)
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund Municipality > Grindsted
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Grindsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Svanen 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Svanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Svanen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.