We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in the middle of nowhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Dona Urraca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Dona Urraca to your Saves list
Posada Dona Urraca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Requejo no. 274, 49220 Fermoselle, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fermoselle
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A little gem in the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Not really sure why we picked this hotel but as it turned out it was a real "find". We were given a very warm welcome and despite our lack of Spanish & there lack of English managed to communicate efficiently. The room was comfortable with room to swing the proverbial cat.
The restaurant is, however, exceptional. They may not serve haute cuisine but what may be lacking in finesse is made up for in sheer good cooking and taste. We had Iberian ham and cured pork loin to start and then we both had steak, one sirloin & one fillet both really good but the fillet was melt in the mouth. The price was remarkable and it shows that good food at fair prices is possible in Spain. The Paradores need to take a look at what they do as this little hotel and restaurant puts them to shame. A real gem and a lucky find. We'll worth the money too.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    24
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estepona, Spain
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Although this restaurant is listed as Hotel, which indeed is annex and also correct, the restaurant we visited is an impressive and well-organised establishment. Run by the family Mother with two daughters, while the father is dedicated and specialised in ham-curing. The hospitality is charming, the two daughters know their trade, and the mother is an excellent cook. While most tables were occupied they still had time for special attention to young and old guests. Very impressive to watch this efficiently managed place.
The food quality and cuisine is excellent. An after dinner liquor on the house shows the appreciation for your patronage. Highly recommended. Although we were welcomed without a reservation, it is advised to make one in advance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is managed by the whole family;father,mother,daughter and grand daughter, 6 years oold wonderful child.The outside building used to be a " Cuartel de la Guardia Civil" that has been completely remodeled inside. The rooms are big and modern the bathroom clean and comfortable the food is excellent.Overall a wonderful experience

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Lovely, friendly welcome in a beautiful modern building which still manages to fit in well with its surroundings. The hotel is run by a family with Mum and Dad, the daughter, who is the boss and her five year old daughter who is the star of the show. The family were friendly and helpful and the room, while on the dark side as suggested elsewhere was very comfortable, other than the bizarre movement controlled lighting in the room entrance which stayed on for never more than four seconds and could have been a bone of contention if everything else hadn't been so good. The food was excellent, just too much of it most of the time, certainly for people of our age but we did notice that many of the customers were thoroughly enjoying themselves. The restaurant was very busy on both nights of our stay with people coming from quite far away to eat there; testament, surely, to its quality. We have been in Fermoselle several times, the last time about eight years ago and found things had changed very much in that time. The town has lost its vibrancy, the old people we met over the years have gone, but we could still be tempted back by the thought of staying at the Dona Uracca and sipping our G & Ts while watching the sun set over Portugal!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights just before valentines; the hotel is a wonderful renovated old building, the one thing I would say is don’t pay extra for a suite, as they are not really suites.

When we got to the hotel the owner greeted us and she is very pleasant and helpful, she advised us that the restaurant was fully booked on the Sunday but she would try and fit us in.

We dined just the once and the food was amazing, truly amazing. I had lamb that was cooked to perfection and just dropped off the bone.

The rooms were warm and had free Internet.

We went on a boat cruise as well that the hotel could organize if you don’t pre book it, well worth the money.

I would definitely recommend this hotel; if I were ever over there again I would stay in the same place, without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

The rooms of the second stage do not have wall windows and are very noisy during all night due to roof problems. My room (206) does not have fridge or table to write. In the first night the room was very hot and the air condition didn’t work. The dinner price was completely out of this world… my wife asked for a soup only and its price was more than 23 euros!

Room Tip: Do not use it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Beautiful hotel with natural features. Friendly and efficient staff. Extremely good food, in fact the steak was the best my husband had every tasted. Rooms large, clean with modern shower and top of the range lighting. Village very interesting with many narrow streets and very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Dona Urraca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Dona Urraca

Address: Calle Requejo no. 274, 49220 Fermoselle, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Zamora > Fermoselle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fermoselle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada Dona Urraca 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Posada Dona Urraca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Dona Urraca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.