We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome grilled lamb on Sundays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tony's Restaurant & Bar

Tony's Restaurant & Bar
Carretera Chapala-Ajijic #147, Tlayacapan 45915, Mexico
(376) 766 4614 or 766 4069
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Tlayacapan
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ajijic, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome grilled lamb on Sundays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a great place to eat on Sunday. Love the lamb and the beef ribs. Baked potatoes are good. Nice wines provided.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapala, Mexico
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
“Old Time Favorite but varies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Food is good for the most part especially the Coconut Shrimp. Ribs are good if you like them well done...Margaritas are different tasting and be careful can knock you for a loop. Service one visit is good, next, not so,next okay so not consistent.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellente”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The food was out of this world. The margarita's were excellent too. The staff was friendly and attentive.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Oregon
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Expected more - just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

After hearing recommendations from friends and reading other TA reviews I was anticipating a really great meal from Tony's. Just didn't happen. The portions are ample, prices are good, but the taste just didn't deliver what had been promised.
The ribs, of course, are what everyone says is the must-have dish, so that's what I ordered at dinner last night. As advertised, there was a huge slab of ribs, falling off the bone. But sauce, at least to my taste, was just OK. Not bad, but nothing memorable either. Vegetable side dish also serviceable, but nothing outstanding. The fries were nice and crispy, and a step above most we've sampled in Ajijic. Spouse's tacos were OK, but not up to what we'd enjoyed at a couple other places this past week. Chicken was better than beef..
We brought home leftovers -- we'll see how the pork does as a sandwich today.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Love those ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Tony is best known for his ribs! I personally like his tacos too... can't baet Tonys for value, consistent quality and good service.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Tlayacapan, Morelos
 

Been to Tony's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.