We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, good atmosphere and nice staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Inn Blaxhall

Save Saved
You added Ship Inn Blaxhall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ship Inn Blaxhall
School Road, Blaxhall IP12 2DY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Blaxhall B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great pub, good atmosphere and nice staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Thought I would update my review of The Ship Inn.

Well it goes from strength to strength, with beer festivals, folk festivals and erm Morris Dancers :)

Always a nice pint of beer and a good selection on their four hand pumps, but I see they now have a fifth one which can be added as and when needed.

Food is still very nice and they now do proper mushy peas to have with your fish and chips! And I am talking nice green mushy peas, not those gloopy wallpaper paste ones you sometimes get served up in other places, or crushed fresh peas. These are the proper job! :)

A really nice pub that I always enjoy visiting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianBatstone, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hiya,

Thank you for giving everyone the 'heads up', and I am delighted that you see signs of continuous improvement. We are trying to make everything better at the Ship without moving away from the core values of being a traditional pub with good old fashioned hospitality where everyone is made to feel welcome.

Glad you noticed the extra 'emergency' hand pull, it gives us the opportunity to have an additional guest ale without placing a firkin on the bar. There are now so many great real ales within the County as well as some beauties from Norfolk, it's hard to keep up!

After being a biker for many years and having some misguided ideas about Morris Dancers, I now have a healthy respect for folk like Point Devis and their swords and Golden Star plus Pretty Grim with their staves. Lots of skill and concentration required or it's out with the first aid kit!

Yes, we have given in to the myriad requests for mushy peas to accompany our lovely fresh fish & chips...glad you like them.

As always, thank you for your kind comments, keep feeding back...we need to know when we are doing well, and more importantly when we have things to improve. It's only through our clients reporting back that we can be sure that we are meeting customer expectations.

Kind regards,

Adrian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
17
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Once upon a time a retired teacher, her hard working daughter and their 3 adorable dogs decided to 'escape to Suffolk'; The sun was shinning and the sky was blue when they arrived at The Ship in Blaxhall......... They were about to begin a voyage of discovery - food, festivity and friendship.......

We spent 3 wonderful days here enjoying the exceptional hospitality of Siggy, Adrian and their happy team - sharing their love for food, wine and ales, and of course dogs!
This is the quintestential English pub, where locals sing and play, and where the restaurant is always full - thanks to Siggy's mouth watering cuisine and Adrian's charm, and there is always a place for the dogs. Our 3 (2 golden retrievers and an aging labrador) have never had it so good! The surrounding countryside offers great walks and picturesque views, in the middle of nowhere, but the centre of all!
If you want a place to escape to with man's best friend or simply your best friend, this is your answer.
......... The retired teacher and her daughter departed feeling relaxed, rejuvinated and ready for anything.
PS We will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianBatstone, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi Abigail,

It was an absolute pleasure to have you, your mum and the 'hounds' to stay, we thoroughly enjoyed your company and were fascinated with your tales of Belgium and the specialist dog training that you do. Everyone fell in love with your dogs, and it was so nice that they just fitted in with everything that was going on.

Naturally we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments, we are all hopeful that you return soon and I have set aside a copy of 'Ask the fellows who cut the hay' for your mum to read when she comes back.

Siggi now has pictures of the new puppy, she is adorable and we will get her mid October, fingers crossed.

Best wishes from all at the Ship.

Kind regards,

Adrian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The customer service was excellent. Extremely friendly and helpful staff and a great sense of humour. during my stay I felt very welcome and comfortable. The accommodation is well worth the price and the breakfast was gorgeous! I would highly recommend this pub for food and accommodation - for people who are travelling on their own, family or in social groups. The pub is set in a lovely and quiet and beautiful location. I would seriously stay there again without any hesitiation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianBatstone, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello again,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your stay at the Ship Inn, we really appreciate your kind comments and have already shared them with the team.

We are all delighted that you had such a good time, and Ciril was thrilled with your comments about her breakfasts of which she is justly proud. We source the bacon locally, the sausages are hand made and the free range eggs come from within the village whenever possible. Indeed the majority of our food is home made using locally sourced ingredients as much as we can.

We have now started redecorating the outside of the chalets and will begin the interior decoration in the late Autumn. A new central heating boiler has been ordered for the pub proper, so you will see further improvements next time you come.

With kind regards,

Adrian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Recently went to the Shipp Inn, Blaxhall for supper and hadn't been for at least 3years when the food was very good and the place spotless. Alas, not so now. The menu was very disappointing and not very good; we had high expectations after reading the reviews. One of our party had the scampi which I would have thought couldn't be messed up, but it did not look at all appealing and the vegetarian option was worse, the steak pie was not too bad but the sausages were undercooked. The actual dining area could do with a good clean, the drinking glasses on the shelf didn't not look at all clean, looked like they'd been dipped in water and left without drying.
Needless to say we will not be going again and wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianBatstone, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your visit to our pub, naturally we are sad that you had such a disappointing visit and will discuss your comments with the staff in detail.

Given that we always visit each table at least twice during meals to check that everything is satisfactory, and I usually do this personally; I am surprised that you did not tell us of your concerns. We would have gladly replaced your dishes or given a refund. As far as I am aware everything was satisfactory at your table until now when there is little opportunity to 'put things right' for you. You would also have been asked if everything was satisfactory when you came to pay your bill!

Regarding your comments about the menu, 95% of our dishes are home made using fresh local ingredients. Our facilities are limited and we try to make best use of what we have to produce good quality 'home cooked' food at reasonable prices. We do not buy in pre-prepared meals from third party suppliers. Accordingly the menu is not as big as many of the larger pub chains or hotels, but offers a good choice of dishes and it is changed every quarter. In addition there is usually at least 1 daily special. Finally, if a customer genuinely cannot find anything they like on the menu, if we are able to the chef will prepare something special to order - time and ingredients permitting.

Located in a hard water area, we do sometimes have a problem with 'spotting on glassware', this does not mean that the glasses are dirty - far from it, they are steralised in our glasswasher. We are trying different rinse aids to cure the problem and will find a long term solution soon. Industry best practice and hygiene advice suggest that glasses should no longer be dried with a cloth but left to drain on mats with free air circulation. We certainly do not dip them in water and leave to drain!

We accept that the pub is an old building and in need of re-decoration plus some of the furniture needs updating, accordingly it would be easy to mistake the need for cleaning with an aged environment. Having said that, the pub is cleaned every day and Siggi or I personally check the dining area before the start of each shift. The interior paintwork aged badly and looks tatty in places, and we plan to renew this in the spring giving the whole a much cleaner and fresher appeal.

I am sorry that we appear to have let you down on this occasion and would welcome the opportunity to 'put things right' for you, we very rarely have unhappy customers and take pride in the ever growing number of positive reviews that have been received since last Autumn.

Yours faithfully,

Adrian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a wonderful afternoon , the atmosphere was great , food drink and service fantastic. The music was superb. A great afternoon spent making new friends and catching up with old friends . The location is perfect .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianBatstone, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for writing such a positive review of your visit to our lovely country pub. Sundays have become the traditional kick back and relax days here. With a home made Sunday lunch followed by one of Sharon's special home made puds, there is often the opportunity to listen to some great live music in a nice friendly environment.

Siggi and I are delighted that you had such a pleasant time and have passed on your kind comments to the rest of the team.

Kind regards,

Adrian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Many thanks to Siggi, Adrian and staff for making our stay so enjoyable. I think my only complaint is......our stay was not long enough!!!
Accommodation is clean, spacious, comfortable and peaceful. Breakfast was excellent and all cooked fresh on arrival at the dining room. The pub is very friendly and the locals made us feel welcome. There is a good selection of well keep real ales which pleased my husband. Food was great, it was a plentiful portion served nice and hot. Have to say after a starter and main course had no room for dessert so didn't sample these but from the board there was a good choice. During our stay There was a different special offered every night. One night it was german meatloaf which was devine.
My husband and I enjoy walking and only a short distance from the pub you have Blaxhall Heath and Tunstall Forest ideal for a walk before breakfast or after your evening meal.
Will definately return very soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianBatstone, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hiya,

What a useful and informative review! Thank you for the kind comments which we have already shared with the team. Naturally we are all delighted that you enjoyed your break in our beautiful village so much.
Siggi and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Ship Inn again soon.

Best wishes & kind regards,

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I spent more than 3 weeks at the Ship Inn whilst working in the area. A very welcoming pub with good local real ales and home prepared food with accommodation available with en suite facilities. The line caught cod in batter is particularly good,as is Siggi's recently introduced German Meatloaf and Jägerschnitzel. Free wifi available in the bar area (But not in the rooms, so an incentive to spend some time in the bar Lol). The pub is popular with local folk musicians who have regular sessions in the bar. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianBatstone, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello Alastair,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review about the Ship Inn at Blaxhall. We really appreciate customer feedback and use it to both benchmark our performance and as a training aid for staff development.
Having stayed with us for such a long time you are better placed than most to make an objective assessment of how we measured up, Siggi and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and want to thank you for your kind comments.
We hope that you will come to Suffolk again soon and make a return visit to see us.

Best Wishes & kind regards,

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ship Inn Blaxhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn Blaxhall

Address: School Road, Blaxhall IP12 2DY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Blaxhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blaxhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn is a traditional country pub with detached accommodation in the beautiful village of Blaxhall, just 2 miles from Snape and 6 miles from the Suffolk heritage coast at Aldeburgh. We offer a real taste of the country with fine homemade food and Real Ales served in our two interconnecting dining areas. Alongside the inn, we offer high quality chalet accommodation complete with a real English breakfast.In easy reach of Aldeburgh, Snape and Woodbridge Traditional interior with exposed beams Detached bed & breakfast accommodation Home-cooked food and authentic Real Ales. Regular live music and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ship Inn Blaxhall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Inn Blaxhall Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Inn Blaxhall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.